We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa Verde Hostel & Guesthouse
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Bocas Town
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Palma Royale(Bocas Town)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gran Hotel Bahia(Bocas Town)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Olas(Bocas Town)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Bocas del Toro(Bocas Town)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Cristina(Bocas Town)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotelito Del Mar(Bocas Town)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Laguna(Bocas Town)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Posada Isla Chica(Bocas Town)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (186)
Filter reviews
186 results
Traveller rating
57
55
28
28
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
57
55
28
28
18
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 186 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Not having checked the reviews in advance I am quite surprised by the negative reviews.
I moved to this hostel coming from hostel Mundo also in town and had a far better experience here than in the other place.

Pros: on the water and availibilty of tubes
Good food (daily deals are best option)
Airconditioned rooms
Close to the parties but not a "party hostel" (music dies down around 11)
Most of the nights have 1$ beers

Negative: walls are thin so noise travels (its a hostel)
Staff sometimes focuses too much on locals and their own friends
There are people selling tours and drugs (tours were only offered by the same guy while we were there who was actually a nice guy; drugs is offered every 50 meters you walk in Bocas)

Overall I had a great time at this hostel, met great people and would recommend it to anyone

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
Thank Frebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

La Casa Verde is a really beautiful place, with an incredible oversea view.

The rooms are ok and the kitchen for the users is not equipped enough in my opinion, but I managed to cook in it for the three weeks I spent there.
Also, there's a small restaurant in the hostel where the food is really good. (Viva tacos days!)

I totally enjoyed the deck, the hammocks and the easy access to the sea; I went for a swim almost everyday.

The staff is really friendly and there's often a festive ambiance.

If you feel like having a Panama beer on the deck, watching starfishes while hearing music and happy people, the Casa Verde is the perfect place to be.

I had a great time there and it's not to expensive for what you get from it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

From the minute I arrived (literally) the staff were constantly trying to sell me cocaine. The hostel smelled like urine and we were still contemplating staying because were far from fussy. We were pressured into staying and refused the chance to decide if we wanted to stay and told to make a decision to leave so we left and found aqua lounge which worked out great!

Stayed: October 2013
1  Thank Josey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

As much as this place has its positives, the negatives outweigh it.
On a positive note, the location can't be beat. For the cheap price, you are on waterfront property with jetties to jump into the water and hammocks on the waterfront to chill out during the day.

At night, there are cheap options for food from the hostel bar and cheap margaritas.
The rooms are a little cramped, but its a hostel so I didn't expect to much. The rooms have fridges and A/C, also there are box lockers beside each bed too.

The staff where quite friendly and helpful which was nice. People in reception were an absolute delight to deal with and the women in the bar were attentive, friendly and gave the bar an excellent vibe.

That's where the positives end.

It seems that the owner is from the United States so has a local manager. This isn't working in his favor. The manager basically allows the staff and their friends and family to just stay there and party all day and night. You get harrassed all day to take boat rides and to buy tours from them, despite saying no repeatedly.

I was staying in the dorm that was right behind the reception. Which would be fine EXCEPT the friends and family of the staff use this as social club and talk and sing and yell from early in the morning. Don't expect a sleep in here.

Another huge problem is that there is no guests only private area to hangout. You can't escape the hawkers. The only WiFi area is the public bar which during the day is fine but at night time...oh my god...

...The only comfortable place to swing in hammocks and hang your feet in the water is converted into a "DJ booth". Now this dj is NOT good. Playing a mix of Latin, reggaeton, classic hits, modern clubbing beats etc which fine. The problem is, he plays 30secs of each song then has a selection of 5 horrible sound effects that pierce your eardrums. Sometimes he presses the same button over and over again. It is not relaxing. It's stressful. It's also is in the only lounging area in the hostel. I had a situation where I urgently neede to Skype a family member but they couldn't hear a word I said due to the music.

Casa Verde has potential to be an excellent hostel. It just needs minor tweaking. In its current form, unless you want to party absolutely every night and don't mind being harrassed by staff members family and friends, its fine. If you don't want those things, there are other hostels in town.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
2  Thank Ben L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I stayed here one night and moved. It is really small and cramped and crowded. There is never enough seats for everyone outside in the common area, you can go swimming off the deck but then I realised all shower water etc goes into the water close to where you swim. It's hard to order any food or drinks when getting the staffs attention. The most annoying thing was the guy who thinks he is a dj who really isn't and puts blaring loud crappy music on all day so loud that you can't talk to anyone or even think, and there is no escape because the place is too small. If you stay in the dorm all the furniture and bunks are pretty much vibrating from the really bad music, and when I say bad I mean bad.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews