We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing well located hotel in Bocas”
Review of Hotel Palma Royale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Palma Royale
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Bocas Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Great relaxing hotel in Bocas. Central, but quiet location - right at the end of the main street. Close to nice grocery store, many restaurants and water taxi boats pier.
We stayed in the suite on the 4-th floor that had great ocean view, large balcony with table and comfortable relaxing chairs. The suite has a nice spacious leaving room with flat TV with satellite channels, bedroom with big twin bed, wardrobe and safe.
Rooms are air conditioned and their warm design made us feel like at home. The suite has a full equipped kitchen, large private bathroom, free Wi-Fi access and it cleaned on daily basis by the housekeeping stuff.
You can order from the menu breakfast included in the price (we would prefer the buffet breakfast) and have free drinks during the happy hour.
The hotel also offers laundry services at 5$ per a big bag.
During our stay the elevator was broken, but it didn't bother us.
Manager Melissa was very nice, helpful and did everything in her power to make our stay in Bocas very comfortable. The other staff is a little slow, but nice, helpful and English speaking.
You can make the reservation to the daily tours at the hotel reception or take a taxi boat from the pier only for a couple of dollars to the Bastimentos (where the Red Frog beach is located) or other islands. I recommend the Jampan company. We took a tour to the Zapatilla National Park with the Jampan and we enjoyed it a lot!
We'll definitely come back soon!

Room Tip: The suite on the third or the fourth floor is probably the nicest. The lower floors don't have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vyelena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (437)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 437 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2012

The hotel has a lot of charm. We stayed in the penthouse and our friend rented a Jr. Suite. The penthouse had a good ocean view, nice balcony and a kitchen with coffee beans and a grinder, a nice fridge and stove. The balcony had a hammock and two chairs. We stayed with another couple, and all we lacked was a microwave and a fourth balcony chair. The living room was very big and had a nice TV. The queen beds were firm and the A/C was powerful and quiet. One bath had a shower the other a jacuzzi. Shower head in our room could have been higher up, but plenty of hot water and good pressure.This is a 4 story hotel, so the elevator being broken was a nuisance. Breakfast was pretty good and included in the price. The fresh squeezed OJ was a nice touch. The location is excellent, right at the end of the main street, and the management is helpful. We were able to use the Pensionado discount, which made the stay very affordable.

Room Tip: Try sharing the 2 br penthouse with another couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PanamaDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

So Bocas Town has its Caribbean charm with colorful, dilapidated buildings, funky restaurants and very warm people. But you go to Bocas to get out on day trips to pristine, turquoise waters and deserted beaches. That said, unless you want to feel totally isolated in one of the far flung, stand alone hotels on one of the more distant islands, you probably want to stay in Bocas Town and take day trips from there.

Palma Royale is definitely the place to do that. It's comfortable and clean, and the staff and owner is wonderful. Without the owner, Bob's daughter, Melissa, we would not have been able to even visit Bocas del Toro. When we were originally planning our trip last spring, one of the two airlines servicing Bocas (Aeroperlas) abruptly and mysteriously went out of business. One day their website simply said they were closed. The other remaining airline, Air Panama, simply would not respond to my multiple emails or answer the phone. I tried for more than a week to call them from the States, and their phone simply rang unanswered.

I emailed the hotel explaining that we would like to make a reservation for late July, but unless they could help us get through to the airline we wouldn't be able to come.

Melissa promptly responded offering to call every day until she had our flight reservations settled. And that she did! She arranged the flight to and from Panama City for us and another couple, with helpful email updates to me until it was done.

The other staff, particularly, Carmen, who speaks perfect English, are all cheerful and happy to accommodate. We had a second floor front balcony overlooking the bay, while our friends had the same room on the third floor. The balconies are a wonderful place to watch life go by in Bocas. Next door is a great little gourmet grocer with a wide range of international foods and amazing chocolate made right in the store.

Rooms are air conditioned and there is an elevator to make everything comfortable and easy.

We will return.

Room Tip: The deluxe suite on the third floor is probably the nicest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We always' enjoy staying at Hotel Palma Royale, Melissa the owner is so nice & the rooms are awesome, Breakfast included is a plus also, great views & comfortable, clean, modern rooms.
can't wait to return :-)

Room Tip: the higher floors have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobynnRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

The rooms where very clean although small. They are fully equipped with a nice AC, LCD TV, refrigerator and even a coffee machine. In our room there was a nice balcony. The staff is very nice and helpful. We thought that the breakfasts were too small.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edoandaefer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Beds are comfortable, bathroom is well appointed and staff is helpful - what else could you want? Carmen took care of us after I apparently messed up the reservations. She is extremely professional and did everything possible to make us happy. Breakfast is good and is served in the restaurant/bar. AND they have 241 Happy Hour!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FLCindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We stayed at the Palma Royale for a week at the end of May 2012. We had selected this hotel based on other reviews that rated it very highly and it fully met expectations. The style and cleanliness are excellent and though it does not have facilites like a swimming pool this is hardly necessary given the location. It is close to all the restaurants in Bocas and there are trips to various tropical beaches.

Melissa and her team were very helpful in advising the best places to visit and Marlen's cocktails are excellent. We particularly recommend the red gin.

Room Tip: We had a patio room which was excellent value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bocas Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
564 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
403 reviews
0 mi away
Gran Hotel Bahia
Gran Hotel Bahia
#5 of 13 in Bocas Town
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotelito Del Mar
Hotelito Del Mar
#4 of 13 in Bocas Town
190 reviews
0.4 mi away
Swan's Cay Hotel
Swan's Cay Hotel
#6 of 13 in Bocas Town
157 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Olas
Hotel Olas
#9 of 13 in Bocas Town
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palma Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palma Royale

Address: Calle 3 | Next To The Ferry, Bocas Town, Isla Colon 0100, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bocas Town
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bocas Town
Price Range: £66 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Palma Royale 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to sincerely welcome you to the Hotel Palma Royale located in the heart of Bocas Del Toro,Panama. Upon your arrival into the quaint Bocas airport, we will meet you with a smile and personally take you to our residential refuge where we offer the best possible service and amenities. With a main street location on the water, you will enjoy a truly stunning view of the city, sea and mountainous terrain. The Bocas archipelago attracts visitors from all over the world; crystal blue water, tropical rainforests, jungle rivers, white sand beaches and amazing coral reefs are all part of the majesty that Bocas has to offer. We will personally arrange a host of Eco-Adventures in order to ensure that your experience is a success. Furthermore, all the rooms at the Palma Royale are designed with the perfect mix of quality marble, bamboo flooring, handcrafted cedar doors, high ceilings, tropical artwork and floor to ceiling windows. Come and experience something truly amazing at the Hotel Palma Royale. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Palma Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Palma Royale Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing