We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicest Hotel in Bocas Town”
Review of Hotel Palma Royale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Palma Royale
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Bocas Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 December 2012

This is the best hotel in town! It's lovely in everyway. The price is reasonable, the staff is incredibly kind, friendly and efficient. We stayed in the deluxe suite which we felt was well worth the money. The room was beautiful with a fabulous view of the town and the ocean. The bed had a plastic mattress cover, which I understand for sanitary reasons, but makes for a sweaty nights sleep. Other than that the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was contemporary and I like that it had a dual flush option on the toilet. The shower was wonderful, good hot water and shower head. The mini kitchen ended up coming in very handy, as we got a terrible food poisoning and had to spend all day and night in the hotel room because we were so ill. It was nice to be able to fix a basic meal and have a large refrigerator, though I am sure you could fix a gourmet meal if you are creative in the kitchen. A little super market is near by, which was very convenient since we weren't able to go out to eat comfortably while we were sick. We happened to arrive on Bocas Founders Day celebration, which was really exciting for the first 6 hours. Many, many schools and their marching bands came to march in the parade... Which they marched, beat their drums, and blasted trumpets, and more, from 9am clear through to mid night. The hotel area happened to be right across from the Ferry Port, which happened to be a hang out spot for the little musicians and the noise got pretty old, but we got over it. We tried to drink our way through it, but that didn't work so we took a boat taxi to Bibis on the Beach and had a lovely quiet couple of hours with great food and drinks. The celebration was fun to see mostly and the noise is nothing the hotel could help. Breakfast at the hotel was good and simple. I loved that the staff would coordinate their shirts with the table clothes everyday, darling little addition.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ktginger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (429)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 429 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2012

We arrived having made no reservations, our route was an early morning departure from Cahuita Costa Rica, so we were hot and hungry. We were pleasantly surprised to find the Palma virtually across the street from the water taxi dock. All I would recommend is to get a room on the third or forth floor as the second floor does not offer much of a view. The in included breakfast was excellent and the bar, Under the Palma, was a great place to unwind after a day of activities. The service was very good, we do not speak very much Spanish and we got along just fine. Didn't find the staff too helpful in booking anything but walk down the street of Bocas town and you will be able to find out anything you can imagine from the many tour stands. All in all this was extremely comfortable and quiet accommodations in a central location for activities.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Garthlud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2012

From our initial reservation to our departure, everything was perfect for our 5 night stay and our first visit to Bocas Del Toro archipelago. The room was spacious with a kitchen(stocked with fresh Panamanian coffee) so we could make fresh coffee and sit on our terrace with amaziing views! The communication was impeccable. We were victims of Hurricane Sandy in NY and weren't even sure that we could make our trip, which had been planned months before; but Melissa was so kind and assured us not to worry, right up until a few days before when we decided to proceed. The hotel is immaculate, the staff helpful, friendly and gave us wonderful guidance in arranging tours and advising what would be the most fun. Deluxe accommodations at a reasonable price with a wonderful breakfast included in price! Super location, only a block from ferry dock and a short walk to fun restaurants and bars. Not a question that we would stay here again! Thank you all so much for making our much need respite wonderful!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie1201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

We had reserved an economy room, upon checking decided to upgrade to the deluxe room. The economy room looked very nice but was quite small. We upgraded paying the $220 difference for 3 nights.

After about 30 min, we reported two issues , the toilet was not flushing and tv had no reception. Very quickly the toilet was fixed, but the tv had no reception the entire time we were there. The handyman went up twice and two of the night workers tried numerous times to help us ( marlin and jamilca) . They were not able to fix it. Upon complaining to the day managers , they stated that it was the weather and all of the hotel was out.

Second day, beautiful day , no storms or rain, still no tv. Why did the managers not call the satellite company and try to get the problem resolved, instead of shrugging their shoulders and blaming the satellite company? The tv in the hotel lobby was working fine, as it was all over the island, including the $15/ night hostels. I know that satellites service can be bad in stormy weather , but this was just a lack of concern on their part. if the satellite company is so bad , why don't they switch to another company? The previous hotel we stayed at had the same problem , but fixed it immediately upon report of a problem.

On to the hotel part of my review, the hotel is really cute, beautiful woodwork all over the rooms. The rooms are gorgeous , the beds are comfortable, nice balcony and gorgeous stone bathrooms.
A decent breakfast was included, the bar is lovely to hang out in the eve, with great happy hour drink specials. Marlin in the bar is a great asset to the property, she is extremely attentive and personable. Jamilca ( spelling? ) who works at night was also very helpful. It should be noted that the hotel currently only has breakfast in the am and drinks in them, no lunch or dinner. There are tons of restaurants around, no problem finding somewhere to eat.

All in all , its a nice property, would like to see the tv situation addressed and they would be a higher rating.

Room Tip: When arriving in town, turn left and walk about 5 min , the hotel will be on your right. No need for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sidney7474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

This hotel is right by the water which makes it easy to hop off and on the boats to the different islands and attractions that Bocas del Toro has to offer. It's one of the most decent hotels in Bocas for the price that you pay; it is super clean, the rooms are really pretty, breakfast is good and the attention is awesome. HOWEVER, carry mosquito repellent on you at all times!! Cannot escape the mosquitoes here.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IngridKm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

I wasn't planning to stay in a hotel at all as I was visiting a friend living locally, but having passed this hotel in town, when the time came to check in somewhere for a bit of civilisation, it was the only place I even considered. Best decision I ever made. The rooms are outstanding; spacious and bright, some with kitchenettes and private patios. Everything is clean and crisp, there are large flat screens with cable and internet as well. Truly luxurious, deluxe accommodations for a very, very reasonable price. Beautiful views (I believe it is the tallest structure on the island). The staff is warm and accommodating, and delicious complimentary breakfasts are made to order in their cafe daily.
We didn't have a chance to dine there for dinner, but happy hour cocktails are two for one, and a pineapple smoothie is only $2!
Very much the highlight of my stay - well, second only to sailing a handmade outrigger boat with a very special sailor. If you catch glimpse of this fellow and his curious boat round the island I highly recommend hiring him to take you for a jaunt out to red frog beach for a dinner, the curry is delicious, as is his company.
And when you return, you can enjoy a night cap on your lovely balcony overlooking the water, and retire to your exquisitely comfy bed in the delightful Palma Royale.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room with a patio. Panoramic vista, and not too much pricier than lower levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderlustress162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Awesome location, recently built, nice room lcd , a/c, awesome bathroom. We stayed 3 nights, management was very helpful. We stayed at the basic studio, which is the cheapest room, and that explained why the room was a bit noisy since it was behind the reception.
Breakfast was very good, a bit small but included in the price which is reasonable.
Highly recommended great location.

Room Tip: 101 room a bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mario S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bocas Town
0.2 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
558 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
400 reviews
0 mi away
Gran Hotel Bahia
Gran Hotel Bahia
#5 of 13 in Bocas Town
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Olas
Hotel Olas
#10 of 13 in Bocas Town
361 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotelito Del Mar
Hotelito Del Mar
#4 of 13 in Bocas Town
188 reviews
3.8 mi away
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & S...
#1 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palma Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palma Royale

Address: Calle 3 | Next To The Ferry, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bocas Town
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bocas Town
Price Range: £68 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Palma Royale 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to sincerely welcome you to the Hotel Palma Royale located in the heart of Bocas Del Toro,Panama. Upon your arrival into the quaint Bocas airport, we will meet you with a smile and personally take you to our residential refuge where we offer the best possible service and amenities. With a main street location on the water, you will enjoy a truly stunning view of the city, sea and mountainous terrain. The Bocas archipelago attracts visitors from all over the world; crystal blue water, tropical rainforests, jungle rivers, white sand beaches and amazing coral reefs are all part of the majesty that Bocas has to offer. We will personally arrange a host of Eco-Adventures in order to ensure that your experience is a success. Furthermore, all the rooms at the Palma Royale are designed with the perfect mix of quality marble, bamboo flooring, handcrafted cedar doors, high ceilings, tropical artwork and floor to ceiling windows. Come and experience something truly amazing at the Hotel Palma Royale. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Palma Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Palma Royale Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing