We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base in Bocas”
Review of Hotel Palma Royale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Palma Royale
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Bocas Town
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great base in Bocas”
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Hotel Palma Royale in Bocas Del Toro. The rooms were clean and comfortable, we had a lovely corner room with decks on two sides and a very attractive and large bathroom. Friendly staff. Breakfast was included but got a little tedious after 3 days. It's perfectly located for trips into the islands but the closest swimming beach was about 20 minutes away. Taxis are available and there are buses from the plaza that run to Starfish beach for $2.50/ow. Really comfortable and everything works. We had no noise issues while we were there and slept soundly.

Room Tip: We stayed in 402 which had great views and lovely decks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tatmandu2829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissapalmaroyale, Manager at Hotel Palma Royale, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Thank you for the comments. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the Deluxe Suite and our friendly staff. Thanks for giving some tips for trips to Starfish beach, a beautiful day trip!
The Staff at the Palma Royale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    110
    40
    11
    5
See reviews for
64
193
24
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

This place is at the North end of Bocas Town opposite "La Iguana" - clean hotel, clean rooms, spacious bathrooms with an updated decor. Beds are comfortable....

We were there only one night, had a lower floor room, which unfortunately have no views as its boxed in on all sides, however has a small deck for outside seating.

Breakfast was included and is whatever you want from the menu from fresh fruits to full cooked.

Sleep quality was good, although the AC units could do with some modernization as they are the old style "box" noisy units.

Comfortable and pleasant stay.....

Room Tip: As for a top floor room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrBrinxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissapalmaroyale, Manager at Hotel Palma Royale, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Thank you for the nice comments. Yes, the Studio rooms are on the ground level and therefore do not have views. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the cleanliness of the Hotel, the comfortable beds, and the breakfast. We hope to see you again.
The Staff at the Palma Royale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

This was the perfect accommodation for my husband & I! We stayed 4 nights in a suite (402)! We loved the room, the view was gorgeous from every window, it was kept spotless and the staff was very friendly! Great breakfast with a wonderful view, I wish we would have stayed longer! The furniture was also lovely! Would highly recommend Palma Royale !

Room Tip: Try & get a room with a view :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tracy448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissapalmaroyale, Manager at Hotel Palma Royale, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful comments of our Hotel. 402 is one of my favorite suites!
Our staff really cares about quality and attention to detail. Thank you for noticing. We would love to see you at the Palma Royale in the future.
The Staff at the Palma Royale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Do not stay here if you want to get a good night's sleep. There is an open air nightclub a few doors down and the music pumps loud into the wee hours. I had a tough time getting any sleep until very late.
I had a few issues with the room, no wifi, the safe did not work, etc. All minor stuff but the staff did not seem too interested in getting anything resolved. Also the place is falling apart. Closet door handles etc are missing and overall I was expecting more based on the reviews that I had read previously. Overall, a very average place to stay. That said your options are limited on this tiny island. The one positive...the bar staff was great and were by a long shot the most friendly staff in the hotel. The front reception could learn a thing or two from them. I hope they do.

Room Tip: Higher floor the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cal J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissapalmaroyale, Manager at Hotel Palma Royale, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
We are sorry to hear your stay was so disappointing.
There is a nightclub in close proximity to every Hotel in Bocas Town. It is after all a tropical vacation destination and small town.
We are different because we have built our rooms with double-drywall and double-insulation in the exterior walls and double-pane windows.
With the door closed, you will sleep soundly in our very comfortable beds.
Actually, your wifi went out for a bit, our staff re-set the router, and your internet was restored and you were happy.
The safe in your room is and was working properly.
Our Hotel is far from falling apart and is only 2 years old.
I assure all other guests that the closet door handles are not missing.
Maintenance is one of our top priorities, the Hotel is kept up beautifully by our full time maintenance man.
We are glad you enjoyed our bar and bar staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, NS
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

We stayed in a suite in this beautiful hotel during Carnival time in Bocas. The 3 of us had lots of privacy and space here with a separate bedroom and also a queen size bed in the main part of the suite. Great location, wonderful staff--love the breakfasts and the happy hour drinks.
We will definitely stay at the Hotel Palma Royale again!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunnigigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissapalmaroyale, Manager at Hotel Palma Royale, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
Thank you for the Wonderful Review! We really appreciate it.
We are glad your enjoyed Carnaval in Bocas at the Palma Royale and hope to see you another time in the future.
Thanks for the 5 Stars!! Yeah!
The Palma Royale Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

I stayed at this hotel in Feb for 2 nights and it was a great stay. The young lady at check-in was very nice and stored my things while my room was being prepared (check-in is at 2:00). I was in a studio room which was on the first floor. The room was beauitful and extremly clean. It had a queen bed with a desk, fridge, flat screen tv, 2 chairs, a patio with 2 chairs and the bathroom was beautiful with a huge shower. The room also had a safe and iron as well as a coffeemaker with coffee beans and grinder which is a nice touch..

The location of the hotel is great. It is by the ferry and close to a lot of restaurants in town. It is also just a 10 minute walk from the airport. I would stay here again on my return trip.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsNikkiT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissapalmaroyale, Manager at Hotel Palma Royale, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Thank you so much for the Fantastic Review! We really appreciate it and are so glad you enjoyed your stay. It is so nice that you appreciated all the small things that make our Hotel special.
Thank you for taking the time to write such a Beautiful Review.
The Palma Royale Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MI
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

My friends and I stayed there for 3 nights. We ended up having the suite on the top floor looking over the ferry dock. What a great and spacious room w/ excellent view! This hotel has a very friendly and helpful staff. They also have a cozy restaurant/bar for breakfast (which is included and good) and happy hours. We surely enjoyed our time staying in Palm Royale and Bocas, and recommend this hotel in Bocas!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShahramMi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissapalmaroyale, Manager at Hotel Palma Royale, responded to this review, 23 February 2013
Thank you for the Great Review. We highly recommend the Deluxe Suites as they have the most spectacular views, largest balconies, and best floor plans in the Hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the restaurant and bar. Thank you for sharing pictures.
The Palma Royale Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bocas Town
0.2 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
535 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
389 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gran Hotel Bahia
Gran Hotel Bahia
#5 of 13 in Bocas Town
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Swan's Cay Hotel
Swan's Cay Hotel
#8 of 13 in Bocas Town
138 reviews
3.8 mi away
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & S...
#1 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
502 reviews
4.8 mi away
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge
#4 of 20 in Isla Colon
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palma Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palma Royale

Property: Hotel Palma Royale
Address: Calle 3 | Next To The Ferry, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bocas Town
#2 Family Hotel in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Palma Royale 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to sincerely welcome you to the Hotel Palma Royale located in the heart of Bocas Del Toro,Panama. Upon your arrival into the quaint Bocas airport, we will meet you with a smile and personally take you to our residential refuge where we offer the best possible service and amenities. With a main street location on the water, you will enjoy a truly stunning view of the city, sea and mountainous terrain. The Bocas archipelago attracts visitors from all over the world; crystal blue water, tropical rainforests, jungle rivers, white sand beaches and amazing coral reefs are all part of the majesty that Bocas has to offer. We will personally arrange a host of Eco-Adventures in order to ensure that your experience is a success. Furthermore, all the rooms at the Palma Royale are designed with the perfect mix of quality marble, bamboo flooring, handcrafted cedar doors, high ceilings, tropical artwork and floor to ceiling windows. Come and experience something truly amazing at the Hotel Palma Royale. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Palma Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Palma Royale Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing