We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel in Bocas Town”
Review of Hotel Palma Royale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Palma Royale
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Bocas Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We stayed here for three nights in March 2013 in room 413. We had views of the ferry terminal and the ocean, very nice balcony that wraps around the room. Nice spa-like bathroom with amazing shower, comfortable bed (except it seemed to be covered in plastic). I was sick when we were staying here so spent a lot of time in the room and can definitely say it was very comfortable and quiet. Having a kitchen and full size fridge was great, and the breakfast included was pretty good but got a little old by the third day. The hotel is very clean and nice, there looked to be a lot of crappy hotels in this town so be careful where you book. The Tropical Suites and the Bocas Del Toro Hotel both also looked very nice just from walking by them and were closer to the center of town. The Palma Royale was great for us because we didn't want to be in the loud part of town and wanted a kitchen and balcony. Even though it's not in the center of town or on the water, it's still very very close (5 min walk). The restaurant el ultimo refugio was a 2 minute walk from the hotel and was excellent, highly recommend it. There is also a nice grocery store next door.
The staff was responsive and friendly, I highly recommend this hotel if you are staying in bocas town, although if I had to do it again I would stay only one or two nights in Bocas Town and longer on isla bastimentos or a more remote spot on isla colon or something for the rest of the time. Bocas Town has some good restaurants and fun bars but the beaches and scenery is much nicer in the other areas - in my opinion.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erinholly9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissapalmaroyale, Manager at Hotel Palma Royale, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2013

Hello and Thank you so much for the Wonderful comments. You gave other potential guests tons of great information and provided details of the Hotel.
We appreciate you taking the time to write such a thorough review.
The Staff at the Hotel Palma Royale.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (428)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 428 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights. We had the room right behind the office and we found it to be perfectly quiet and adequate. The bed was very comfortable and bathroom was very nice. There was a small sitting area outside but we really were not in the room except to change and sleep. The front desk people were all very helpful and the dining room staff was delightful. Happy hour every afternoon was very relaxing and breakfast was very good every morning. we enjoyed our stay and would be happy to answer any questions.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank flycatcher06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissapalmaroyale, Manager at Hotel Palma Royale, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2013

Thank you for the kind comments of the economy studio. We are glad to hear you enjoyed it and appreciate our staff. Happy Hour is a blast and it makes us happy when the guests enjoy themselves. Thank you for offering to answer questions to other future guests.
The Staff at the Palma Royale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Hotel Palma Royale in Bocas Del Toro. The rooms were clean and comfortable, we had a lovely corner room with decks on two sides and a very attractive and large bathroom. Friendly staff. Breakfast was included but got a little tedious after 3 days. It's perfectly located for trips into the islands but the closest swimming beach was about 20 minutes away. Taxis are available and there are buses from the plaza that run to Starfish beach for $2.50/ow. Really comfortable and everything works. We had no noise issues while we were there and slept soundly.

Room Tip: We stayed in 402 which had great views and lovely decks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tatmandu2829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissapalmaroyale, Manager at Hotel Palma Royale, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2013

Thank you for the comments. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the Deluxe Suite and our friendly staff. Thanks for giving some tips for trips to Starfish beach, a beautiful day trip!
The Staff at the Palma Royale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

This place is at the North end of Bocas Town opposite "La Iguana" - clean hotel, clean rooms, spacious bathrooms with an updated decor. Beds are comfortable....

We were there only one night, had a lower floor room, which unfortunately have no views as its boxed in on all sides, however has a small deck for outside seating.

Breakfast was included and is whatever you want from the menu from fresh fruits to full cooked.

Sleep quality was good, although the AC units could do with some modernization as they are the old style "box" noisy units.

Comfortable and pleasant stay.....

Room Tip: As for a top floor room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrBrinxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissapalmaroyale, Manager at Hotel Palma Royale, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2013

Thank you for the nice comments. Yes, the Studio rooms are on the ground level and therefore do not have views. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the cleanliness of the Hotel, the comfortable beds, and the breakfast. We hope to see you again.
The Staff at the Palma Royale.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

This was the perfect accommodation for my husband & I! We stayed 4 nights in a suite (402)! We loved the room, the view was gorgeous from every window, it was kept spotless and the staff was very friendly! Great breakfast with a wonderful view, I wish we would have stayed longer! The furniture was also lovely! Would highly recommend Palma Royale !

Room Tip: Try & get a room with a view :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tracy448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissapalmaroyale, Manager at Hotel Palma Royale, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2013

Thank you so much for the wonderful comments of our Hotel. 402 is one of my favorite suites!
Our staff really cares about quality and attention to detail. Thank you for noticing. We would love to see you at the Palma Royale in the future.
The Staff at the Palma Royale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Do not stay here if you want to get a good night's sleep. There is an open air nightclub a few doors down and the music pumps loud into the wee hours. I had a tough time getting any sleep until very late.
I had a few issues with the room, no wifi, the safe did not work, etc. All minor stuff but the staff did not seem too interested in getting anything resolved. Also the place is falling apart. Closet door handles etc are missing and overall I was expecting more based on the reviews that I had read previously. Overall, a very average place to stay. That said your options are limited on this tiny island. The one positive...the bar staff was great and were by a long shot the most friendly staff in the hotel. The front reception could learn a thing or two from them. I hope they do.

Room Tip: Higher floor the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cal J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissapalmaroyale, Manager at Hotel Palma Royale, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2013

We are sorry to hear your stay was so disappointing.
There is a nightclub in close proximity to every Hotel in Bocas Town. It is after all a tropical vacation destination and small town.
We are different because we have built our rooms with double-drywall and double-insulation in the exterior walls and double-pane windows.
With the door closed, you will sleep soundly in our very comfortable beds.
Actually, your wifi went out for a bit, our staff re-set the router, and your internet was restored and you were happy.
The safe in your room is and was working properly.
Our Hotel is far from falling apart and is only 2 years old.
I assure all other guests that the closet door handles are not missing.
Maintenance is one of our top priorities, the Hotel is kept up beautifully by our full time maintenance man.
We are glad you enjoyed our bar and bar staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

We stayed in a suite in this beautiful hotel during Carnival time in Bocas. The 3 of us had lots of privacy and space here with a separate bedroom and also a queen size bed in the main part of the suite. Great location, wonderful staff--love the breakfasts and the happy hour drinks.
We will definitely stay at the Hotel Palma Royale again!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunnigigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissapalmaroyale, Manager at Hotel Palma Royale, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2013

Thank you for the Wonderful Review! We really appreciate it.
We are glad your enjoyed Carnaval in Bocas at the Palma Royale and hope to see you another time in the future.
Thanks for the 5 Stars!! Yeah!
The Palma Royale Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bocas Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
553 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
398 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gran Hotel Bahia
Gran Hotel Bahia
#5 of 13 in Bocas Town
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Olas
Hotel Olas
#11 of 13 in Bocas Town
360 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotelito Del Mar
Hotelito Del Mar
#4 of 13 in Bocas Town
187 reviews
0.4 mi away
Swan's Cay Hotel
Swan's Cay Hotel
#8 of 13 in Bocas Town
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palma Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palma Royale

Address: Calle 3 | Next To The Ferry, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bocas Town
#2 Family Hotel in Bocas Town
Price Range: £69 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Palma Royale 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to sincerely welcome you to the Hotel Palma Royale located in the heart of Bocas Del Toro,Panama. Upon your arrival into the quaint Bocas airport, we will meet you with a smile and personally take you to our residential refuge where we offer the best possible service and amenities. With a main street location on the water, you will enjoy a truly stunning view of the city, sea and mountainous terrain. The Bocas archipelago attracts visitors from all over the world; crystal blue water, tropical rainforests, jungle rivers, white sand beaches and amazing coral reefs are all part of the majesty that Bocas has to offer. We will personally arrange a host of Eco-Adventures in order to ensure that your experience is a success. Furthermore, all the rooms at the Palma Royale are designed with the perfect mix of quality marble, bamboo flooring, handcrafted cedar doors, high ceilings, tropical artwork and floor to ceiling windows. Come and experience something truly amazing at the Hotel Palma Royale. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Palma Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Palma Royale Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing