We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Palma Royale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Palma Royale
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Bocas Town
Certificate of Excellence
Panama City, Panama, Panama
1 review
“Super!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

A perfect location, nice decoration, excellent service overall. We will visit again for sure. We when there for our 10th anniversary and it was an excellent place to celebrate such an special ocation. Thank you everyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Adelina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissapalmaroyale, Owner at Hotel Palma Royale, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you so much for the nice review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Palma Royale and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    107
    40
    10
    5
See reviews for
64
190
23
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

My wife and I went to Bocas and wanted to stay at a clean and comfortable hotel. ( we stayed at the Trump in Panama City...so you will know our taste). We found experienced a very friendly service ( a 5 for the area), rooms are neat and clean, spacious with a kitchen and refrigerator. I would stay there again. Fun place to visit!! If you are on a budget there are many more reasonably priced places to stay, many!! But that was not our focus.

Room Tip: make sure to make your air reservations early!! For the best tour look for a Panamanian gentleman...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank capitan961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Perfect location new building clean sweet nice colors probably the nicest hotel in the area and the island itself is unbelievable there are tons of boats right across the street that would take you to the other islands. 2 min drive from the airport

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mottyk42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissapalmaroyale, Owner at Hotel Palma Royale, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank for taking the time and writing a great review. We appreciate the 5 stars!
We hope to see you at the Palma Royale in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

Hotel is one of the better ones in town. Centrally located and newer than most. We stayed in the penthouse which had 2 rooms & 2 baths for 4 days. It was quite large w/ a full kitchen.

Cons:
Walls are extremely thin. We could hear our neighbor coughing all night and them even using the bathroom (down to the rolling of the toilet paper!).

Also, the room smelt very musty. The a/c leaked so maybe that was causing the issue.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LuvsTravel2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissapalmaroyale, Owner at Hotel Palma Royale, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in the Penthouse. We are a bit surprised that you heard the guests in the next room. The walls in all dividing rooms are double-dry-walled and double insulated. Also, the bathroom walls are floor to ceiling marble creating an extra buffer zone between guests.
We spared no expense while building the Hotel to the highest quality standards.
We hope to see you another time in the future.
The Staff at the Hotel Palma Royale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springdale, Arkansas
Level Contributor
91 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

This is probably one of the nicest hotels in Bocas Town but if you want a true island experience stay at one of the resorts on one of the smaller islands. We stayed one night and it met our needs more than adequately before we could move to our resort. Our room was clean, fairly new, and comfortable although small. Breakfast was ok and included in the price. Location was good.

I don't recommend room 101 (although it's the cheapest) -- you'll hear the kitchen and office staff through the walls.

Room Tip: Not 101 unless you are price driven...you'll hear the kitchen in the morning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissapalmaroyale, Owner at Hotel Palma Royale, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a nice review. The Economy Studio is an economy room, it is smaller than the other Suites. For a more luxurious option, go for the Deluxe, Double, or Penthouse Suites.
The Staff at the Palma Royale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

first hotel on the main street very easy to get, we enjoyed our trip ull get information of what kind of excursions you can do around we went on a catamaran and red frog beach everything beautifull everything clean to bad we coudnt stay more days will go back to the same hotel next time

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luiscorrea2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissapalmaroyale, Owner at Hotel Palma Royale, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you so much for the great review. We work hard everyday to make the Bocas experience wonderful for our guests. We are glad you enjoyed the Hotel and your time in Bocas.
Thanks again.
The Staff at the Hotel Palma Royale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

We stayed in the Penthouse suite, but had other family in other rooms as well and everyone loved it. The view from the Penthouse is unbeatable - mountains, sea, palm trees, and the usually pretty entertaining comings and goings of the ferry. The hot and cold water actually worked and the ac was strong and steady. As early risers we were also big fans of the coffee available in the kitchen. Situated right next to the Super Gourmet grocery store/deli - and far enough away from the night clubs to be bothered by night noise - it's definitely the BEST in-town location by far and totally worth the rates. Great breakfast every morning too! I would book well in advance for high season (Nov - March).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShawnaAdora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissapalmaroyale, Owner at Hotel Palma Royale, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you so much for the Raving Review! We really appreciate it you taking the time to write such a nice review. We are so happy that you had such a great vacation.
We hope to see you again.
The Staff at the Hotel Palma Royale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bocas Town
0.8 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gran Hotel Bahia
Gran Hotel Bahia
#5 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Bocas Paradise Hotel
Bocas Paradise Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bocas Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotelito Del Mar
Hotelito Del Mar
#4 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
4.4 mi away
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & S...
#1 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palma Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palma Royale

Property: Hotel Palma Royale
Address: Calle 3 | A lado de ferry, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bocas Town
#2 Family Hotel in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Palma Royale 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to sincerely welcome you to the Hotel Palma Royale located in the heart of Bocas Del Toro,Panama. Upon your arrival into the quaint Bocas airport, we will meet you with a smile and personally take you to our residential refuge where we offer the best possible service and amenities. With a main street location on the water, you will enjoy a truly stunning view of the city, sea and mountainous terrain. The Bocas archipelago attracts visitors from all over the world; crystal blue water, tropical rainforests, jungle rivers, white sand beaches and amazing coral reefs are all part of the majesty that Bocas has to offer. We will personally arrange a host of Eco-Adventures in order to ensure that your experience is a success. Furthermore, all the rooms at the Palma Royale are designed with the perfect mix of quality marble, bamboo flooring, handcrafted cedar doors, high ceilings, tropical artwork and floor to ceiling windows. Come and experience something truly amazing at the Hotel Palma Royale. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Palma Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Palma Royale Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing