We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice spot”
Review of Hotel Palma Royale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Palma Royale
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Bocas Town
Certificate of Excellence
Costa Mesa, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice spot”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in November and had a very nice experience. Our room was very clean, had a nice wrap-around balcony, full kitchen and the place is located next to a gourmet market.

The owner was around most days and he made it a point to check in with us and ask about our stay so far. Very nice touch.

It’s in a great location at the end of the one main street which made it really easy to walk everywhere but still quiet at night.

The free breakfast was consistently good and the free OJ and coffee were great!

Overall, the staff was attentive and helpful the entire time. I highly recommend this place for a few nights in Bocas Town.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MegG1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissapalmaroyale, Owner at Hotel Palma Royale, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a thorough great review. We appreciate it and our future guests do as well.
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Palma Royale.
Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    110
    40
    11
    5
See reviews for
64
193
24
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Excellent rooms that are well equipped, relaxing and with great views of the ocean and Bocas town vibe. Relax on your deck and watch the world go by, or do the same at the breakfast and bar overlooking the parade of characters that make up the Bohemian culture of Isla Colon. They have a great staff and Mr. Bob, the owner, has everyone's ear in town.

Room Tip: It's worth getting a suite if you have 2 couples or want privacy from other family members or fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissapalmaroyale, Owner at Hotel Palma Royale, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Thank you so much for the great review. It is great that you got to experience the festive culture that is Bocas!
Thanks again.
The Staff at the Hotel Palma Royale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I have stayed many places in Bocas and area and this hotel definitely has the nicest rooms of all. There is a separate bedroom, nice large bathroom and adequate deck. Not directly on the water but across the street. Staff are extremely friendly and there are numerous good restaurants within 2-10 minute walk. Maybe not same quality of a big-city 5-star, but best in Bocas. Very quiet at night.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gsfromc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissapalmaroyale, Owner at Hotel Palma Royale, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review. We are so happy to hear you appreciated the quality of the Palma Royale.
We hope to see you in the future.
Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 November 2013

The hotel room was impeccable! The touches of the 2 bedroom were just lovely from the bathroom tiles to the amazing wrap around balcony that had an awesome hammock (that my hubs fell asleep in).

The breakfast and real homemade orange juice made every morning extra sweet to wake up to. Mr. Bob the owner is such a delight. We really love this hotel and if we ever come back we will definitely stay again! Thank you for an unforgettable trip!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KandaceLand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissapalmaroyale, Manager at Hotel Palma Royale, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Thank you so much for writing a beautiful review. We appreciate it and our future guests do as well.
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Palma Royale and all the special touches.
Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The room was beautiful with a private balcony but they all face other buildings not the sea. The linens were a bit shabby and the pillow covers weren't the cleanest but the staff was friendly and helpful. They made us feel very welcome. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SGBinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astoria, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I have nothing bad to say about this hotel. The staff was amazing, the penthouse suite was more than you could ask for. The tile in the hotel was beautiful, the views were amazing and to top it all off there was a hammock on the balcony. The owner Mr. Bob was very friendly. I would stay here again if ever in Bocas Town

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roseann A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissapalmaroyale, Owner at Hotel Palma Royale, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Thank for taking the time and writing a great review. We appreciate the 5 stars!
We hope to see you at the Palma Royale in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

this place was, throughout my travels of central america, the hospitality highlight. the hotel itself is beautiful - claiming one of the best views in bocas town. the morning breakfast was excellent and the staff was incredibly attentive.

if you are looking for serious . . serious comfort - this is your place

Room Tip: if you are looking for a luxurious bocas experience, the pent house is awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morgan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissapalmaroyale, Owner at Hotel Palma Royale, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Thank you for the great review. We do try to provide a luxurious experience in Bocas and our staff works so hard to take care of the guests.
We are glad you enjoyed your time at the Palma Royale.
Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bocas Town
0.2 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
535 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
389 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gran Hotel Bahia
Gran Hotel Bahia
#5 of 13 in Bocas Town
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Swan's Cay Hotel
Swan's Cay Hotel
#8 of 13 in Bocas Town
138 reviews
3.8 mi away
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & S...
#1 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
501 reviews
4.8 mi away
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge
#4 of 20 in Isla Colon
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palma Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palma Royale

Property: Hotel Palma Royale
Address: Calle 3 | Next To The Ferry, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bocas Town
#2 Family Hotel in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Palma Royale 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to sincerely welcome you to the Hotel Palma Royale located in the heart of Bocas Del Toro,Panama. Upon your arrival into the quaint Bocas airport, we will meet you with a smile and personally take you to our residential refuge where we offer the best possible service and amenities. With a main street location on the water, you will enjoy a truly stunning view of the city, sea and mountainous terrain. The Bocas archipelago attracts visitors from all over the world; crystal blue water, tropical rainforests, jungle rivers, white sand beaches and amazing coral reefs are all part of the majesty that Bocas has to offer. We will personally arrange a host of Eco-Adventures in order to ensure that your experience is a success. Furthermore, all the rooms at the Palma Royale are designed with the perfect mix of quality marble, bamboo flooring, handcrafted cedar doors, high ceilings, tropical artwork and floor to ceiling windows. Come and experience something truly amazing at the Hotel Palma Royale. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Palma Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Palma Royale Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing