We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I stayed in the Jimmy Buffett penthouse suite!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Palma Royale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Palma Royale
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Bocas Town
Certificate of Excellence
Coronado, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I stayed in the Jimmy Buffett penthouse suite!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

I can see why Jimmy Buffett stayed at Hotel Palma Royale! We spent our sunsets and sunrises from the deck off the master bedroom looking over the ocean. We could just imagine Jimmy here with his margaritas as we sipped ours.
The hotel is centrally located right across the street from the water taxis and all the amazing restaurants in Bocas. So for $1 you can head to the next island in 10 minutes. The islands in the archipelago are within reach and so affordable.
I do want to congratulate the owner for his English speaking staff! They assisted me with every need or want. It was so fun to start the day with the staff and the "free" breakfast. Numerous choices along with fruit smoothies too!
If you are coming to "Bocas", you should stay at Palma Royale and experience "the village"!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank Judy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    105
    40
    10
    5
See reviews for
64
189
23
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

We spent 4 nights in Palma Royale and had a really lovely time.
The room was beautiful and the suit was amazing. Service was very good and the staff was so helpful and informative in every question we had.
Carmen the manager did above and beyond to make us happy and make our stay pleasant.
Bed was very comfortable, rooms were very clean, location is great and you don't need more than what you get here.
Thanks you for a very great stay.

Room Tip: get the rooms in the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Meitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissapalmaroyale, General Manager at Hotel Palma Royale, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you so much for writing a beautiful review. We appreciate it and our future guests do as well.
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Palma Royale and all the special touches.
Thanks for posting pictures!
The Staff at the Palma Royale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

The Palma Royale is a great place with great people! The rooms are clean, comfortable and the staff are friendly. I will surely stay there again! It's in a great location...close enough to the action but far away from the noise!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissapalmaroyale, General Manager at Hotel Palma Royale, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review. We are so happy to hear you appreciated the quality of the Palma Royale.
We hope to see you in the future.
Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

This is, without question, the best hotel in Bocas town. We stayed in the top floor two bedroom suite, which was clean and comfortable with great views over the water. The hotel has a great location at the quieter end of the main street, but it is still a short walk to the bars and restaurants (nothing in Bocas is very far, as the town is tiny). Internet worked great and we enjoyed the breakfast and unlimited coffee included in the room rate. We would stay here again and would recommend the property to friends and colleagues.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank YVRflyingDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissapalmaroyale, General Manager at Hotel Palma Royale, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank for taking the time and writing a great review.
We appreciate it and our future guests do as well.
We hope to see you at the Palma Royale in the future.
The Staff at the Palma Royale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

I had a great adventure on my first trip to Panama. The hotel was the best the city offered and it showed. I have to say it was the staff that made the place, just that much more enjoyable! My only only only issue was with wifi but lets face it when you go to an island region in central america...wifi should not be the most important thing for you. Now that I have been there for work I cant wait to return to play.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jim262013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissapalmaroyale, Owner at Hotel Palma Royale, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Thank you for the great review. We do try to provide a luxurious experience in Bocas and our staff works so hard to take care of the guests.
Thank you for being understanding about the wifi. We just upgraded our wifi by adding repeaters and routers throughout the Hotel, so your next stay with us will be perfect.
We are glad you enjoyed your time in Bocas!
Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

What a welcome to Bocas del Toro! Right off the dock we step up to the Palma Royale and are instantly and warmly received by the owner, Bob. After being shown to our room and getting over the initial giddiness of knowing we get to live here for the next few days, we experienced their reliably hot showers and thick thick towels (I thought one was two). Best nights sleep in three months of travel. Our room had fantastic views of the entire bay and the most comfortable bed I've experienced in a long time. Air conditioned when you want, ocean breezes through big windows. Such a nicely situated and relaxing spot, we spent an entire day enjoying the view from our room. Big breakfasts, bacon! Kind staff and an owner that genuinely cares about your experience. Couldn't have imagined a more pleasant way to be in Bocas.

Room Tip: wrap around views, cant go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissapalmaroyale, Owner at Hotel Palma Royale, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. Thank you for providing so many details to our potential guests. We really appreciate it.
We are so happy you enjoyed all our special touches!
Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

The Hotel Palma Royale was the highlight of our Panamaian vacation. The staff were kind, helpful, and clearly well taken care of by the management. The beds were big and comfortable and the showers warm with good pressure. The included breakfast was delicious and wholesome (not so easy to find on the island). Overall, this hotel is a wonderful place to enjoy the island life of Bocas del Toro, Panama. I would recommend it and will return!

Room Tip: If you can afford the penthouse, GO FOR IT!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Willee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissapalmaroyale, Owner at Hotel Palma Royale, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thank you for the great review. We do try to provide a luxurious experience in Bocas and our staff works so hard to take care of the guests.
We are glad you enjoyed your time at the Palma Royale.
Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bocas Town
0.8 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gran Hotel Bahia
Gran Hotel Bahia
#5 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Bocas Paradise Hotel
Bocas Paradise Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bocas Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotelito Del Mar
Hotelito Del Mar
#4 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
4.4 mi away
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & S...
#1 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palma Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palma Royale

Property: Hotel Palma Royale
Address: Calle 3 | A lado de ferry, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bocas Town
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Palma Royale 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to sincerely welcome you to the Hotel Palma Royale located in the heart of Bocas Del Toro,Panama. Upon your arrival into the quaint Bocas airport, we will meet you with a smile and personally take you to our residential refuge where we offer the best possible service and amenities. With a main street location on the water, you will enjoy a truly stunning view of the city, sea and mountainous terrain. The Bocas archipelago attracts visitors from all over the world; crystal blue water, tropical rainforests, jungle rivers, white sand beaches and amazing coral reefs are all part of the majesty that Bocas has to offer. We will personally arrange a host of Eco-Adventures in order to ensure that your experience is a success. Furthermore, all the rooms at the Palma Royale are designed with the perfect mix of quality marble, bamboo flooring, handcrafted cedar doors, high ceilings, tropical artwork and floor to ceiling windows. Come and experience something truly amazing at the Hotel Palma Royale. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Palma Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Palma Royale Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing