We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Bocas”
Review of Hostal Hansi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Hansi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Lovely helpful staff with great advice and humour. Excellent value, our room was beautiful and huge with two beds, bright bathroom and a table with chairs like our own house within a house. The kitchen facilities are great and really clean. There is space set aside in the fridge for each room and other well set up systems. Really liked the no visitors and quiet policy as it ensured to other guests were respectful and the place had a peaceful safe atmosphere. Especially when compared to the rest of the town.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank selbycassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 239 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Magically quiet right off the main road, Hansi offers a perfect place to relax after a day at the beach or out adventuring. After switching from another hostel farther out, this place seemed like paradise!

While a little quirky, they don't allow visitors for example, the hostel is extremely clean and fresh feeling. Every room has its own space clearly designated in the fridge, they give you a key to a lock box in your room upon arrival and there is a box for each bed in the room. There is lots of space, a rack with hangers, a shelf, and a coat hanger for each bed. A fan keeps the room cool, and the bathroom was pristine. They even have a nice shelf in shower for shampoo ext. that is big enough for multiple people to share.

The main lobby/hang out area is open air, and there is a beautiful garden in the front where you can eat if you decide to use the kitchen. It's a nice place to chill and read. They have a library and book exchange behind the front desk, as well as some German magazines.
It does not have strong communal atmosphere like some of the hostels I've stayed at, but the people I've met are friendly and open. It seems to attract Germans, and maybe people who are a bit older and want to have the hostel price with hotel standards.

The staff I've met are all very friendly and helpful. They have a straightforward system for booking. You arrive, check in, and every following day you sign up if you want to stay the next night. You put your name on the list and gaurentee your room, when it's time to go, leave you're room blank and it goes to the next traveler who comes in looking for a room!

I felt extremely safe. There is a double gated locked entrance that closes at night. Everything was well managed and we had a lovely stay!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adventurera4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at Hostel Hansi. The staff was super friendly. I had a private room with private bathroom (#4) in the ground floor for $15 per night. I stayed one night. Everything was really clean. I especially liked that the trash was separated and that the owners took care of details such as the colour design of the room.
The only thing I didn't like was that there is no possibility to make an online reservation so it's always luck whether you get a room or not. But for me it worked.
I would always come back to stay there again!

Room Tip: I stayed in room #4 which was a private room (single bed) with a private bathroom and was absolutely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I looked at at least 5 other hostels trying to find somewhere decent to stay in Bocas del Toro and Hostal Hansi is definitely the a huge step above the rest for the price. The rooms are clean and well maintained and the share are good and the staff are lovely. Great value for the price, don't bother looking elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank s0l0backpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I had researched accommodation before arriving at Bocas del Toro and Hostal Hansi seemed to be the ideal combination of reasonable price and decent rooms - good value. It is in a great location too for restaurants, tour offices, boat travel, supermarkets, etc.

The day I arrived it was full (starting to realise low season doesn't equal plentiful rooms at popular destinations!) and you can't reserve in advance - so I returned from the horrible hotel I was at to try my luck again for a room the following day, and a room had been vacated thankfully.

We were in room #11 upstairs with no balcony. The room was spacious, had a TV, 3 windows, a bathroom, a comfortable double bed, and a spare single bed (triple room). There were shelves, hangers, a table, and bedside tables. We paid $30 per night. It was VERY clean, absolutely spotless, the cleaner deserves a tip, if not an award! I'm not used to fresh towels and a cleaned room daily at a "hostel". It was nice to be told 'hola Heidi!' by name each day by the staff/manager :)

There is a good system in place for continuing your stay - you add your name to a sheet of paper on the noticeboard to indicate you'd like to stay another night. The fridge shelves are numbered by room, so you get at least half a shelf, and old food can be disposed of quickly when people leave. I did find the kitchen a little small to negotiate at 'peak times' when other people were using it.

We stayed almost a week.

Recommended!

Room Tip: Room #11 - quiet, spacious, bathroom, upstairs and farthest end of corridor so feels private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heidi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed 5 nights at Hansi and it is an exceptionally clean and nice hostel to be in although it is more like a guest house. We had a double room with private bathroom for $25 a night. Cheap.

No breakfast unfortunately. However it does have a really nice kitchen and a fridge with space for each room. We ended up cooking a lot as the supermarket is 50 m away.

The staff are helpful. They have a book exchange too.

If you're looking for a very clean and laid back place to stay that is really quiet at night then go here.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank kieranhoverd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This place takes great pains to keep clean, and it shows. It's nearly spotless, spacious, and some of the rooms have really cool balcony. The shower water in the rooms with hot water are as hot as any in Central America, the kitchen is big and clean, the shared fridge is ordered by room number for zero confusion. This German owned hostel is a gem in Bocas Town for those looking for a mature relaxed environment. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Pick a room up stairs for more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JustaPack2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bocas Town
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
396 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
551 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Posada Isla Chica
Posada Isla Chica
#7 of 13 in Bocas Town
104 reviews
0.2 mi away
Selina Bocas del Toro
Selina Bocas del Toro
#3 of 48 in Isla Colon
463 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostel Mamallena Bocas del Toro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Hansi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Hansi

Address: Ave. D & 2nd. Street, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Bocas Town
Price Range: £19 - £23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostal Hansi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Hansi Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing