We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AWESOME AND NEW...Very Legit Hostel...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hosteluego

Hosteluego
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bocas Town
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hosteluego
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“AWESOME AND NEW...Very Legit Hostel...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

Brand spanking new hostel with ridiculously nice showers with raindrop shower heads, clean and new rooms, very chill common areas and everyone very nice...Bell was the best and treated us very well!! They truly understand customer service and I would pay $35 for a private room here anyday!!

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank byronbcanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    33
    9
    11
    21
See reviews for
1
38
38
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essen, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

There are numerous hostels in Bocas but Hosteluego is for sure something special. It's very new, safe and offers good value for money. Hot showers are supposed to be a quite unique feature in Bocas, Hosteluego has it.
The most important thing is, that the people you meet in your hostel have probably the greatest influence on your stay and how you rate it. I planned to stay in Bocas for a week, actually left after 4 weeks. It was the large number of interesting, nice and funny people at Hosteluego who made me enjoying Bocas for so long. Furthermore some travelers staying in other hostels came over to enjoy the relaxed and social vibe.
The owner/manager Alex is fantastic, always has an open ear for his customers and is very well connected in Bocas. It was great fun hanging out with Alex and it more felt like staying with friends in Bocas than in a hostel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben-RTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013

After checking the great reviews Hosteluego got on tripadvisor this was our first place to check out after arriving in Bocas del Toro.
Unfortunately they raised the prices from 25 to 35 USD for a tiny double room without private bath since November so we decided not to stay here.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Auringonkukka512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013 via mobile

This hostel definitely contributed to making our Bocas trip an awesome one! We even went to stay at Bastimentos island for a few nights, but ended up back at this hostel.
The staff were friendly, helpful and gave us recommendations of beaches each day that we would not have found otherwise.
The communal area is great, comfy couches and hammocks, and perfect size hostel for meeting other travellers. The kitchen was always clean, and the free pancakes and coffee for breakfast were an added bonus. Store next door can help you out with any supplies you may need.
It's not right on the main strip, but that's a good thing! Just means they work harder to make the hostel better and us travellers reap the rewards!
The room was nice, clean and spacious.
We would highly recommend this hostel to anyone/EVERYONE! There are plenty of surfers staying there for a few weeks at a time too which makes it a real homely environment.
Thanks Alex and the crew! Jo, Megan and Kristie had a great time!
:)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jojokite24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama, Panama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013

this place is excellent to stay, great attention, great staff, is always clean and it have a great atmosphere. you have air conditioning in your room which is awesome
it's very detailed and the colors of the hostel makes you feel like you are in Bocas town
the next time I visit Bocas town I will definitely staying here!
the common areas were awesome and nice sattelite T.V

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013 via mobile

This is one of the nicest hostels on Isla Colon...but...
We were initially interested in a private room at Hosteluego, but one of the female staff members (not Gabby) told us that the private rooms were $55/night which was out of our budget (I later spoke to a German couple who were only paying $35/night??) so we settled for the 4 bed dorm at $15/night and booked 4 nights.. Later that afternoon, we got speaking to the other couple in our room and discovered that they were only paying $12/night for the same duration. When we confronted the same staff member about this, we were told that the prices changed depending on the day of the week (in this case, within a few hours), but if we booked any additional nights, we would only be charged $12 for those additional nights. We ended up booking another 4 nights, but when payment was due at check out she once again told us that we owed $15/night and that she had no recollection of offering us $12/night... She eventually agreed to the lower price, but was not happy about it. She also said that our nightly rate was higher because we were staying for a longer period of time..? I'm sure there IS a reasonable price structure at this hostel but this particular staff member was confusing and couldn't convey a reasonable justification as to why the price differed between guests.
The room was nice and had A/C, but being located outside the kitchen got a little loud when selfish guests would return from a night out at 4am and start cooking/talking (yelling). The "quiet time" of midnight was never adhered to by a particular group of arrogant guests, whom Alex did eventually speak with after noticing their behavior.
This is a great clean hostel with amazing amenities and if it wasn't for the confusion in pricing it would be close to perfect.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
152 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2013

This hostel was recommended to us by 3 separate travelers we encountered in other parts of panama. I don't think they take reservations or allow you to book online. By luck they had a rep at the docks who walked us there. The place seems newly renovated or brand new, rooms are clean, nice chillout space, and the shared bathrooms and showers were very clean and superior to those at similar hostals.
Natalie, Coco and Jose were very welcoming, friendly and engaging and made us feel very comfortable and relaxed in the common space. We will stay there again if we are back in bocas.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank djdgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bocas Town
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Max
Hotel Casa Max
#23 of 45 in Isla Colon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.5 mi away
Spanish at Locations - Bocas del Toro
0.7 mi away
Gran Kahuna Beach Hostel
Gran Kahuna Beach Hostel
#3 of 5 in Carenero Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Bocas Beach House
The Bocas Beach House
#11 of 40 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bocas Inn
Bocas Inn
#5 of 30 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.5 mi away
Panama's Paradise Saigoncito
Panama's Paradise Saigoncito
#2 of 40 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteluego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteluego

Property: Hosteluego
Address: Avenue G between 5th and 6th Street, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient location steps from downtown Bocas. Walking distance to all bars, restaurants & shopping. Free WIFI, hot water, a/c, computer use, pancake mix/syrup, and coffee. Party everywhere else, but come back to sleep at a quiet, safe and secure building. All dorms with personal safes. All privates with personal safes and personal frigs. Everything clean and new. If you don't see it, ask us for info. Backpackers, surfers, college students, gap year students and beyond - everybody is welcome at HosteLuego. Party, relax and have the best Bocas del Toro vacation ever. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hosteluego Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing