We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hostel in Bocas!”
Review of Hosteluego

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bocas Town
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hosteluego
Reviewed 6 July 2013

This place is fantastic! I have stayed here twice, and I've got to say it has been a great experience both times. It's quiet, has a really cool vibe, great atmosphere and art, very clean with lots of amenities. The bathrooms are especially clean and well lit, with hot water, and are nicer than some hotels! Free pancakes and coffee is always nice and helps save money, so that is a nice perk as well. More important than anything though is that the staff, Alex & Taylor, are awesome. Anything you need, they'll help you out. We had some crazy requests, but they came through for us! The rooftop deck is also really cool. Thanks a bunch guys, we'll be back for sure, we know it will be great!

Room Tip: Spring for the private rooms if it works for your budget, but all have air conditioning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheldon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2013

My stay here was OK but it didn't blow me away by any means. The location is OK - nothing is "far" if you're staying in Bocas town.

Pros:
Comfy beds
Free cook-your-own pankcakes breakfast
Free AC
Nice communal areas
Clean

Cons:
6 bed dorm quite dark/dingy
Room was constantly damp, even with use of dehumidifying AC.
Flaky WiFi
Inconsistent pricing structure
No lockers

On the last two points - everyone we spoke to seemed to be paying a different price whether less than us or more than us with a free night after staying a certain number of nights. When we came to pay we were asked for more than we'd been quoted, although the guy was happy when we reminded him what he'd originally said.
There are no lockers in the hostel. When we asked if there were, we were told that 'the hostel is safe'. Well, a hostel/your stuff is only as safe as the people that are in the dorm with you, and how does the hostel guarantee that they won't go snooping when you're not there? It can't, so it needs somewhere to securely store your valuables - lockers are pretty much standard everywhere. There was also something about the staff that wasn't quite right and it affected the atmosphere.
Hosteluego wasn't terrible by any means but for me, definitely wasn't a favourite.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms next on the ground floor - they're dark and dingy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SDRJvoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

This was my second time staying at Hosteluego, I absolutely love this place. The installations are beautiful (specially the rooftop!), LOVE the artwork, decor and the whole vibe of the place. Most importantly its clean, even the bathrooms. The staff and manager are very friendly. It has entertainment all around, the most delicious pizza place nearby and a supermarket just beside it which is quite convenient. I 100% recommend it!

Room Tip: Private rooms are the coziest and they have A/C
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aca-90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

what a hostel! there's everything one needs to have a great time either in or very close to hosteluego: nice + new showers (hot water!), A/C dorms, a well equipped kitchen, plenty of hammocks and a lounge to chill plus this mad rooftop! there's the ocean, grocery store and next bar within 50m, the airport and water taxis are a 3 minute walk away.
Alex with his lovely and open-minded staff make hosteluego an amazing place to stay and meet new people to have a lot of fun with. if you're not exactly looking for an isolated or lonesome place to stay, you will love this place as well!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank unamLugano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights and unfortunately it rained almost non-stop, luckily this place is great for just chilling. The private room was very small with only shared bathroom but the bedroom had a/c and fan and the showers were the best we have had in months.
David and Taylor who were working there were great to hang out and chat with but happy to help with anything you needed. We didn't have a lot to do with Alex but he seemed like a good guy.
Security is very good and location is slightly away (5 min walk so not far) from the centre but that just makes it nice and quiet at night.
They provide some pancake mix to make your brekkie and free coffee. There was great wi-fi and computers to use and full satellite tv in the common area.
The hostel was very modern, generally very clean although the bathrooms could get dirty by the end of the day. My only negatives were size of the room and the toilet stalls and the lack of hand soap in the bathrooms (never saw anyone take any in and you have to share a kitchen with them - little unhygienic) but these were small compared to all the positives.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teamflames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We were told they worked on First come, first served. but when we got there it turns out there was rooms available (Because we waited for like 2 hrs to the manager to come and we checked the rooms) but they were already BOOKED!
pretty bad service...

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PamelaCR506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

From a logistical standpoint, this hostel well positioned in a unique region. Nothing but good vibes from the management staff and willingness to flex their schedules for our group.

Alex & co., thanks for setting us up proper & connecting us to Floating Doctors during our engineers without borders trip. Until soon.

p.s. the new showers setup upstairs are fantastic.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Justin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bocas Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Hostal Hansi
Hostal Hansi
#1 of 45 in Bocas Town
249 reviews
0 mi away
Hostel Mamallena Bocas del Toro
0 mi away
Twin Fin Hostel
Twin Fin Hostel
#9 of 45 in Bocas Town
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Coconut Hostel
Coconut Hostel
#16 of 45 in Bocas Town
170 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
437 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteluego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteluego

Address: Avenue G between 5th and 6th Street, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Bocas Town
Price Range: £7 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient location steps from downtown Bocas. Walking distance to all bars, restaurants & shopping. Free WIFI, hot water, a/c, computer use, pancake mix/syrup, and coffee. Party everywhere else, but come back to sleep at a quiet, safe and secure building. All dorms with personal safes. All privates with personal safes and personal frigs. Everything clean and new. If you don't see it, ask us for info. Backpackers, surfers, college students, gap year students and beyond - everybody is welcome at HosteLuego. Party, relax and have the best Bocas del Toro vacation ever. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hosteluego Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing