We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden treasure”
Review of The Lemongrass - CLOSED

The Lemongrass
Price range: US$7 - US$15
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The Lemongrass - Asian Fusion restaurant on the Isla Colon, Bocas del Toro waterfront. We use mostly local seafood, allowing our menu to change daily according to availability. We have the best views in town, great drinks, and a unique mix of Panamanian, Asian, and Mediterranean cuisine.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I'm vegan. This place was hidden from the main grouping of places. but glad we discovered it.. Excellent veggie curry and a lovely setting... Don't miss this upstairs spot for a nice evening. Yummy!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paula A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    41
    18
    19
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ok, but not super....”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The food here was good, but they lost us when they served store bought naan-bread.

The drinks were really good though! :D and the atmosphere overlooking the water was excellent!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
138 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fun little place with vegitarian options. Nice looking out at the water.”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My family was out in search of a restaurant that had both vegie and meat options. We found Lemongrass and decided to try it out. The food turned out to be pretty good. Plantains are greasy so I advise skipping those. We had a good time though. Not much wait and they accommodated 5 of us close enough to look out at the water. I'd try it again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jack J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Sub-par food and understaffed”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I visited Lemongrass with a group of friends and a couple we met on the island. We were greeted by a woman outside who was raving about the food. Turns out, it's the owner. She tells us if we're not satisfied with the food that a drink will be on her. Sounds promising.
We sit down and it's quite busy. There were two servers we saw running everything. By the time we saw our server for drinks we were already ready to order. We had been waiting so long. The server took our drink order but ran away before we could order food. We spent a lot of time waiting.
We all ordered different dishes and none of it was really anything to rave about. The pad Thai seemed to be made with ramen noodles. I do have to admit that the best thing out of what was ordered was the mussuman curry which was pretty tasty. Very nutty flavor.
We want to order our second round of drinks but can't get the servers attention. We thought it was best to leave and find another place for drinks but it takes awhile for our bill to arrive. We get all of our payments sorted and it's CASH ONLY! Didn't see anything that stated cash only anywhere. All of us had barely enough to cover the bill and tip. We had to make a run to our hotel to get more cash.
As we we're leaving we met the owner again. She asked us how the food was and we told her we weren't impressed. We got a shrug and a sorry :(

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“random restaurant surprised us on main drag”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

food was surprisingly good. thai and indian influences. good view of the water. drink had a solid pour. average pricing for the area.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank cmwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lemongrass also viewed

Bocas Town, Isla Colon
Bocas Town, Isla Colon
 
Bocas Town, Isla Colon
Bocas Town, Isla Colon
 
Bocas Town, Isla Colon
Bocas Town, Isla Colon
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing