We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food, lovely people” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gringo's - CLOSED

Gringo's
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food, lovely people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Great restaurant with very fresh and authentic Mexican food. The owners Gary and Laura are lovely people and do their utmost to entertain and engage every guest. Laura even kindly recognised a tiny uncharacteristic error she made with my order and couldn't apologise enough and gave me a free beer as a means of making amends. Would highly recommend this place and would go again if I wasn't leaving so soon!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rory1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    55
    16
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seal Beach, SO CA USA
Level Contributor
181 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“A surprise off the main drag of Bocas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Great authentic Mexican food, great margaritas!
The only thing better is chatting with the American owner, Gary, who has lived in Bocas for over a dozen years! The chili rellenos was outstanding. Indoor and outdoor seating. We were told the recipes were made fresh every morning!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SteveTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boquete, Panama
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gringo's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Gary was a great host. He said his margaritas were strong and he was telling the truth. I had two large margaritas and they tasted great and plenty of alcohol. I had the smothered burrito for lunch and it was fantastic. He was closed on Monday, but prepared two regular size margaritas for my friend and me. That way we each had a delicious drink on the way to the next bar.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 20CharlieB44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tigard, Oregon
Level Contributor
75 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Stopped there by accident”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We were in a cab looking for an Italian restaurant but ended up at Gringo's because it was closed. We were sharing a ride, as all taxis do in Bocas, with a friendly Canadian expat and she was on her way to Gringo's and was a big fan. It's kind of on back street that almost looks more residential than commercial and the place was very empty. Nothing caught our eye and the prices seemed a little speedy so we just had the margaritas, very, very tasty. Wish we would have gone back for the food.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huatulco, Mexico
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great handmade Mexican food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

We love Gringos! Great food, friendly atmosphere and personal service by the owner Gary and his wife. Added bonus is learning from them about Bocas town before paved roads and tourists discovered the area. Too fun!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sirenassong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gringo's also viewed

Bocas Town, Isla Colon
Bocas Town, Isla Colon
 
Bocas Town, Isla Colon
Bocas Town, Isla Colon
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing