We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hostal Mar e Iguana
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Koko Resort(Isla Colon)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Los Delfines(Isla Colon)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Angela(Bocas Town)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bocas Inn(Isla Colon)
View Hotel
Swan's Cay Hotel(Bocas Town)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Laguna(Bocas Town)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Olas(Bocas Town)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Cristina(Bocas Town)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotelito Del Mar(Bocas Town)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Posada Isla Chica(Bocas Town)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (123)
Filter reviews
123 results
Traveller rating
57
23
25
10
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
57
23
25
10
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe kitchenmosquito netonly stayed one nightprivate bathroomgilbertohostelactownbocas
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 123 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2013

The staff at Mar e Iguana are great, except one guy who ruins the whole vibe. He was very aggressive towards me and other guests when I was there, and it did not feel comfortable or safe to be at the hostel when he was in charge.
Otherwise the hostal itself is ok, quite clean and easygoing. The kitchen lacks appropriate equippment for good cooking, but it's ok.
They say that you can hear the seabreeze from the hostal, well that is true except that there is a bar straight across the street which plays very loud music 24/7.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NorahJ19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013 via mobile

Unfriendly and unhelpful staff (excluding Nora who should have her pay doubled) unclean and generally not well looked after. The priavte room was small, cramped, and moldy and the 'Rasta' working there was a rude and unfriendly [--]. Excuses included 'this isn't America with skyscrapers and malls' when we mentioned the bike locks had the wrong keys (Im Canadian and Panama City is in Panama right?) 'We on de islan mon' when we asked about laundry service (despite a $4 laundry 80m from the front gate) and other gems like 'speak English my Spanish not good' and then asking to speak Spanish cause he didn't understand my English...

Overall there are many others to choose from I suggest you do.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BIRC0014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Mar e Iguana was wonderful! Clean and comfortable rooms, the staff was always friendly and helpful, and the atmosphere couldn't have been more beautiful or welcoming. It was rather rainy during my stay, but with great recommendations and even better company, my trip to Bocas remained a success. The hostel is a little farther away from downtown than some, but more than worth the extra walk/cab ride. I cannot wait until my next visit!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ketpoc22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

We stayed at Mar e Iguana for almost two weeks while the initial plan was to stay only a couple of days. The friendly owner Riccardo and staff, the well equipped and clean kitchen and the beautiful and cozy rooms made us feel at home so it was very difficult to leave! There is a really nice patio and garden that create a green atmosphere around and a nice mirador with sea view with ammaks to chill.I would recommend this well kept and beautifully organised hostel to everyone! You will not be disappointed! Lara & Iggy

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaraSicily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

excellent hostel, food very good and the staff very friendly and ready to help. It is a remote town about 15 minutes walking down making it very quiet. Bocas del Toro has many places to go, I recommend the tour to Cayo shoe.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HGGML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews