We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great. slow service, expensive”
Review of El Pirata

El Pirata
Ranked #20 of 71 Restaurants in Bocas Town
Cuisines: Caribbean
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not great. slow service, expensive”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Some of us had pancakes, which were okay, nothing special. I had the pasta bolognese which was fine but relatively expensive. The drinks are reasonably priced and the location is great (a pier on the water). I would not recommend this place for eating.

Helpful?
Thank Thomas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    129
    88
    37
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
269 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Pricey, but dependable”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Because this restaurant is geared toward tourists it is more expensive than others. For 3 people (with no alcohol) our lunch cost $50. The food was really good. I had arroz con pollo and the kids had steak and fish. We liked the dock atmosphere and the no smoking. For North Americans the service can be hard to deal with. You have to be the one to ask for the check. If you want a refill, you have to wave your arm in the air with a smile.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MichiganTravelwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, OR
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food and clean banos”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Waitress was a little distracted watching the World Cup, but was nice. $5.00 meals included baked chicken, rice and lettuce with tomato slice. Menu said it included a soda with the meal, so I ordered a Coke, found out that Cokes are not part of the free soda with meal when we got the bill. Food was very good though.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andilea3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bad food, terrible service. ”
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Not only is this perhaps the most overpriced restaurant on the island, but the food that you pay extortionate prices for is all deep fried, and for a restaurant so close I the sea, they're surprisingly incapable of procuring fresh seafood. But worst of all was the service. When myself and my boyfriend sat down, we were given 2 minutes to look at the menu, before the inexplicably angry waitress demanded we order. We asked for a few more minutes, she gave us one, then reappeared saying we needed to order right now for some reason. As it was still early we decided to just order smoothies and perhaps food later. Wen we told her this she was clearly very annoyed, and said 'that's all you're having?!', before snatching the menus ad storming off. In the 20minutes it took to bring the smoothies (although the staff were just standing around) we heard the waitresses complaining about 'people like us', apparently time wasters, while throwing us dirty looks. Needless to say, we won't be returning. Worst dining experience we've had in 4 months of travelling.

Helpful?
Thank Ayeishaaaaaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Dock Restaurant”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This is where our boat picked us up to go to our island of San Cristobal. The drinks were good and we enjoyed a plate of fried calamari that was good..which it had a sauce though.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aprils_Costa_Rica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Pirata also viewed

Bocas Town, Isla Colon
Bocas Town, Isla Colon
 
Bocas Town, Isla Colon
Bocas Town, Isla Colon
 
Isla Colon, Bocas del Toro Province
Bocas Town, Isla Colon
 

Been to El Pirata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing