We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, but great staff”
Review of Hostel Heike

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Heike
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Small, but great staff”
Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

I stayed for a couple nights here in a 6 person dorm. The place was pretty tightly packed, but the upstairs deck was pretty spacious with hammocks, sofas and PCs. But, it was the staff and other guests that made it. A very social vibe, so had a good couple of days

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    74
    37
    13
    19
See reviews for
2
45
90
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Hostel Heike is in a really good location in Bocas Town. Everything is walking distance and the bus to bocas del drago goes from across the street. There is a free pancake diy breakfast and a good amount of hang out space upstairs and downstairs.
The staff are what make this hostel so nice to stay at. They were always so friendly and helpful and patient with bad spanish.
It's not a party hostel but lots of opportunities to meet people and head out.
Unfortunately during the time we stayed some of the guests were a little roudy and disrespectful but this isn't promoted at all at the hostel.
Good place to stay if you want a mix of party and relaxation.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alliesti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

The hostel is located on the main street of Bocas Town and so right in the middle of everything. The staff is outstanding and the people this place attracts are very nice. The rooftop terrace is a great place to chill out.

The rooms, however, are a bit basic with cranky bunk beds and if you have a laptop it might not fit in the small locker. The rooms facing the street can get noisy in the night.

There is one major minus about this place: It gets shut down at 10pm and even the rooftop terrace will not be open past this time. While it is nice not to have a noisy hostel, there is no place just to hang out (without partying) after 10pm.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TobyLeupold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

We spent 2 nights at hostel Heike, the rooms were big and with an ensuite bathroom, a very good fan and safe. Heike and Olaf take incredible pride in making sure the place is spotlessly clean as well.

The communal kitchen and fridges come in very useful, and offer all the necessities in terms of utensils.

The hostel is located just of Calle 3 and a moments walk to the water taxis.

Whilst certainly not a party hostel, Heike's is great for those who want to be close to the action but not right in the middle of it, drawing a quieter crowd.

The only one thing to note is that if you are a light sleeper, the heavy rains are very noisy on the roof due to the design of the hostel.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CWhitcomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I loved my stay at Hostel Heike! The room was cute and colorful (although it was HOT, even with fans). The staff just made it incredible! They are fun loving, and really want it to be a good time for you in Bocas, so get to know them if you stay there. We celebrated one of the worker's birthdays there, and it was a blast! There is a nice little pancake breakfast and coffee in the mornings, and they provide plenty of water.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelsi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed a couple of nights here, the rooms were clean, bit pretty basic and small. The hostel is incredibly hot, maybe due to it being made out of wood, so you'll need the fan on all night.

The balcony and roof terrace are great but shut at 10pm and the kitchen is fine, yet slightly small. The lovely owner who will help you out, biut will direct you there friend tour operator (so shop around first, there are lots cheaper).

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank emoparty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meirionnydd : Cymru ~ Wales
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I arrived in Bocas with nowhere to stay and looked up hostels on Tripadvisor. Looking at the other reviews, I think we were in different places or something because I spent one night in Hostel Heike and moved to another hostel for the same price (which was amazing).
Firstly I am a girl travelling alone, so I asked for a room with at least one woman. I chose the more expensive room as I was told there was a woman in it, but when I met everyone in the room they were all men!!
When I sat downstairs or in front of the hostel I was constantly asked for money by beggars - even when I was making my breakfast an old woman came into the kitchen asking me for a dollar. If you're not used to dealing with beggars then it would be quite intimidating.
Much like the tour touts who constantly hang around trying to sell you tours. They pitch everyone different prices - I was told $25 while a guy who also went was charged $20, so I demanded the same price.
The A/C in the room was so cold I woke up shivering in the middle of the night, the hostel also controls when it goes on and off - unlike the other I hostel I stayed in. The light in only one of the bathrooms was working so if you had a shower in the evening you had to deal with the line of people outside waiting to use it before/after you.
There was also music blaring from the stalls outside for most of the night - I was glad I brought my earplugs. Then there were the people banging on the door to get in at night, I could hear them even with the earplugs.
The bed also fell apart at one point with three of the slats falling through. That was the final straw for me so I packed my stuff and left.
The staff were the best thing about the place, they were friendly (when they weren't watching movies in the reception area) and the location is good too.

You can get much more for your money in Bocas so look around before you pick where you stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eirianwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bocas Town
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
392 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
419 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Posada Isla Chica
Posada Isla Chica
#6 of 13 in Bocas Town
103 reviews
0.1 mi away
Selina Bocas del Toro
Selina Bocas del Toro
#3 of 47 in Isla Colon
437 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostel Mamallena Bocas del Toro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Heike? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Heike

Property: Hostel Heike
Address: Calle 3, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hostel Heike reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Heike Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing