We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff like a family, great and fun place!”
Review of Hostel Heike

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bocas Town
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hostel Heike
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Hello you all!

We had an awesome time in Heike. The staff and the vibe of that place makes you wanna stay longer and longer. We will miss Yorlenis, Doña Wendy and Kev-O very much. They and all the lovely people there made our stay an unforgetable one...

About the hostel itself: breakfast (pancakes and coffee or tea) included, very nice rooftop terrace with hammocks and computers and couches etc, great spacious bathrooms with warm water.
The space is the only thing that might be a problem (except for the bathrooms, they're awesome). Dorms are little small and not too much space to place your stuff (they do have lockers for every bed) and private rooms are also not the biggest, but like I said before: the rest of the Heike TOTALLY makes up for that. We didn't find the space a problem at all, but if you're used to really big rooms you might be disappointed...
Ow, and another cool thing is that the kitchen and the reception close at 10PM. That means that you can actually get some sleep (if roomies in your dorm are a little quiet).

If you'd like to have a fun, cool, friendly, chilled place to stay with staff that's very nice and helpfull too, Heike is a REALLY good choice for sure.

Hasta luego!
Megan, mami y papa Santa

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank MGJordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 247 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2013

Loved my time at Heike Hostel! Cheap, centrally located and delicious free pancakes every morning! There is also a nice rooftop terrace you can chill on and free water refills all day. Big shout out to Yorlenis, one of the most helpful person working at a hostel I've ever met!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank HotelKatarma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

This is the most charming hostel I have ever visited!
Very friendly personnel, a beautiful place and good atmosphere among the travellers!
Clean rooms, hot showers and well-functioning wifi are some of the nice things about this place!

My friends and I went there in december, and as soon as we left - we all knew we had to come back soon!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Jeppe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

I stayed for a couple nights here in a 6 person dorm. The place was pretty tightly packed, but the upstairs deck was pretty spacious with hammocks, sofas and PCs. But, it was the staff and other guests that made it. A very social vibe, so had a good couple of days

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Jonathan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Hostel Heike is in a really good location in Bocas Town. Everything is walking distance and the bus to bocas del drago goes from across the street. There is a free pancake diy breakfast and a good amount of hang out space upstairs and downstairs.
The staff are what make this hostel so nice to stay at. They were always so friendly and helpful and patient with bad spanish.
It's not a party hostel but lots of opportunities to meet people and head out.
Unfortunately during the time we stayed some of the guests were a little roudy and disrespectful but this isn't promoted at all at the hostel.
Good place to stay if you want a mix of party and relaxation.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alliesti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

The hostel is located on the main street of Bocas Town and so right in the middle of everything. The staff is outstanding and the people this place attracts are very nice. The rooftop terrace is a great place to chill out.

The rooms, however, are a bit basic with cranky bunk beds and if you have a laptop it might not fit in the small locker. The rooms facing the street can get noisy in the night.

There is one major minus about this place: It gets shut down at 10pm and even the rooftop terrace will not be open past this time. While it is nice not to have a noisy hostel, there is no place just to hang out (without partying) after 10pm.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TobyLeupold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

We spent 2 nights at hostel Heike, the rooms were big and with an ensuite bathroom, a very good fan and safe. Heike and Olaf take incredible pride in making sure the place is spotlessly clean as well.

The communal kitchen and fridges come in very useful, and offer all the necessities in terms of utensils.

The hostel is located just of Calle 3 and a moments walk to the water taxis.

Whilst certainly not a party hostel, Heike's is great for those who want to be close to the action but not right in the middle of it, drawing a quieter crowd.

The only one thing to note is that if you are a light sleeper, the heavy rains are very noisy on the roof due to the design of the hostel.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank CWhitcomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bocas Town
0.2 mi away
Twin Fin Hostel
Twin Fin Hostel
#9 of 45 in Bocas Town
20 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Hansi
Hostal Hansi
#1 of 45 in Bocas Town
249 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostel Mamallena Bocas del Toro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Surfari B&B
Surfari B&B
#2 of 31 in Bocas Town
95 reviews
4.3 mi away
Selina Bocas del Toro
Selina Bocas del Toro
#2 of 53 in Isla Colon
511 reviews
0 mi away
Calipso Hostel
Calipso Hostel
#20 of 45 in Bocas Town
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Heike? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Heike

Address: Calle 3, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Bocas Town
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Hostel Heike Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing