We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and friendly owners”
Review of Coconut Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Coconut Hostel
Reviewed 16 July 2012

For my experience during this trip (three weeks in Panama) the Coconut Hostel owners were the most accommodating. The place is centrally locates, right across from the park, walking distance to the taxi boat. The dorm rooms are of maximum four and the price is reduced if you stay longer than one night.
Since it is the low season I got a dorm bed in a room of four but only the first night I had a roommate. The three following nights they were so sweet to use other rooms for new travelers so I was by myself. I found them very nice, not to mention they help some local people as well.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miha b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richards D, Propietario at Coconut Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2017
Google Translation

Gracias por compartir con la
Familia Coconut

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2012

The owners are pretty relaxed if you get to know them, they're just very strict about the quiet ambiance of the hostel after 22:30 and they don't want to be a party place. apart from that it was a nice stay. Regular price for bocas, close from the party places, little bit different and more chill clientele than the "party" places. but everyone parties anyway in bocas, so being in a quiet hostel is cool when you wanna rest after a party, never partied more in my life ...

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DidzK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richards D, Propietario at Coconut Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2017
Google Translation

Gracias por compartir con la
Familia Coconut

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

The hostel was OK, the owners seemed nice at first, and the rooms are alright, kind of small, but only 4 per room which is nice. The kitchen was small and without storage, and the family who runs it also uses the kitchen most of the time so there are limited burners available. The hang out area out front is pretty small, one plastic patio furniture table and the other table has tree logs for seats and is really uncomfortable. No free coffee or breakfast, I don't think. Got kicked out after my 2nd night for being too loud....Hello! It is Bocas Town! to be expected! If you go here and get kicked out for being a party person, go to Bastimento island after to recuperate...then come back to Bocas land for more!

If you are looking for a quiet place that is still on the main strip, I guess this would do. But there are better deals and better places.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Little W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

This was one of the worst hostels I have stayed in during my 4 months of travel around Central and South America. The dorm beds were of a poor quality and the foam mattresses dipped in the middle. There was only one tiny locker in a dorm room for 5 people. The kitchen was untidy and small with no storage space. All of the guests food was arranged on the kitchen bench leaving little or no space for preparing food. During my stay, there were many children sleeping in the common TV area which meant it was unavailable to guests during the night.

The owner was very rude. She would not allow me to store my bag for a few hours, claiming there was no space. This was untrue as she allowed another couple to store their bags after I had made inquiries. For some reason, she seemed very discriminant towards me and some of the other guests.

During my stay, I witnessed a dispute between the owner and several guests regarding a key deposit. The owner was unprofessional about the situation. She simply refused to listen to the guests and refused to check her records. After a few minutes, a man (perhaps her husband) stepped in to try to diffuse the situation however, his mannerism was very aggressive.

If you are after a nice, friendly and helpful hostel, I encourage you to look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nz_anna_y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

The accomodations were simple but clean and relaxing. With less than a dozen rooms, it felt like a middle-ground between the backpackers hostels with the beach bums hanging out the windows and the standard main street hotel. My husband and I paid $8 per person/per night upfront ($10 for the first night if you do not want to pay in advance) for a private room with two bunk beds and a communal shower. Owner Sra. Alba uses the kitchen herself to prepare meals for her and her husband so the pots and things are worn but well-kept and you feel compelled to keep them that way. The couple were extremely helpful with directions and suggestions on what to do which days based on weather conditions and activity within the city. We loved the low-key, less touristy feel and the east of its location.

Room Tip: Parque Simon Bolivar can get quite noisy. If you want to relax, try getting a room on the back of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shayla L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richards D, Propietario at Coconut Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2017
Google Translation

Gracias por compartir con la
Familia Coconut

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

My wife and I stayed in room 10. It is a simple room with a bunk bed. So you cannot sleep in one bed, but it was cheap. If you stay two nights it was 8 dollars per person per night. Rooms were very clean. It is only a few months old and the lady who runs it is from Nicaragua. Her husband is from Chile. He speaks better English than her, so in both languages you can be helped. The hostal is very basic. Is has a kitchen and a lounche room which is actually the living room from the family. This is not a party place. Think yourself as a guest. Quiet place after 11 pm.

Room Tip: Room 10 is a two bed room (a bunk bed)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kayziew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richards D, Propietario at Coconut Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2017
Google Translation

Gracias por compartir con la
Familia Coconut

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

This is a new hostel situated on Isla Colon. Its a nice little place with a great feel to it. The owners are super friendly, always chatting away and will help with anything you need. The location is a really good location situated right on Parque Simon Bolivar. This is about a 2minute walk to Taxi 25/Caribe Shuttle which takes you to a neighbouring island and then about a 5minute walk to the other dock which takes you to Isla Bastimentos. There are a couple of small supermarkets right off the square too which are useful as you get the use of a small kitchen in the hostel too. Right at the kitchen is also a lounge area where you can watch TV or they have a small selection of DVDs also. There is always someone at the entrance watching who comes and goes and at night they lock the doors and have a nightman. So it felt very safe.

When we stayed we ended up staying in a tent because the rooms were full. It was 14us per tent or 20us for a double room with a shared bathroom. The tents were on the top floor and had a view of the park. They were comfortable enough.
The bathroom was cleaned daily and had electric showers so always warm water.

I would definately return.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camacho87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richards D, Propietario at Coconut Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2017
Google Translation

Gracias por compartir con la
Familia Coconut

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bocas Town
0.1 mi away
Swan's Cay Hotel
Swan's Cay Hotel
#8 of 13 in Bocas Town
153 reviews
0.2 mi away
Twin Fin Hostel
Twin Fin Hostel
#8 of 42 in Bocas Town
20 reviews
0.3 mi away
Spanish at Locations - Bocas del Toro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Selina Bocas del Toro
Selina Bocas del Toro
#3 of 49 in Isla Colon
477 reviews
0 mi away
Hostal Hansi
Hostal Hansi
#1 of 42 in Bocas Town
244 reviews
8.1 mi away
Cabanas Turisticas Estefany
Cabanas Turisticas Estefany
#32 of 49 in Isla Colon
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Hostel

Address: Isla Colon, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Bocas Town
Price Range: £12 - £26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Coconut Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Coconut is a cosy 12 room hostel with double bedrooms or shared dorms (4 to 6 people), and shared bathroom with hot water. It has a fully equipped kitchen, TV room with comfy couch, free wifi, top roof terrace with hammocks and great view of the island. Ideally located in the center of Bocas, it is #1 backpackers choice when looking for a clean place with chill atmosphere. We offer unique discounted tours for our guest with local guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Coconut Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Hostel Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing