We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I decent stay”
Review of Coconut Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Coconut Hostel
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I pretty ambivalent about this place. First the pros; there's a great ambiance at night if you like meeting people and do party, you are at the right place. It's well situated as well close to the parc where you can grab some stuff to eat. You can store your things in the freezer (someone took my botle of water) and there's tools for cooking. Cons: It is noisy at night, during the breakfast, I had only one little pancake with a half of a banana, I asked for one more and the lady told me it's only 1 per person! wow! 15$ for a dorm it's pricey for Panama, but It seems there are on the average price.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guyl101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richards D, Propietario at Coconut Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2017
Google Translation

Gracias por compartir con la
Familia Coconut

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
There are newer reviews for Coconut Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

I was here for two nights because everything else was full. It had a nice atmosphere, the woman was nice. But our room was cramped with five people and warm. I got bitten the first night by something a thousand times and thought i was maybe flees from the dog but nobody else had it so it must have been bedbugs. Whole lines on my arms. They fumigated but the next day i got bitten again. Dont sleep in dorm 6! Bathroom doors dont close and everything is open so you can hear everything..
Would choose another hostal if you can!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
Thank AnneL24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

We just slept there one night because we grabbed it as the first opportunity and searched than for better options. We had a small private room which was OK. There is a nice common area were you get also help from the friendly staff. But the hostal, especially the bathrooms were quite dirty. With the shower and the toilets in one room it was very uncomfortable. Many showers were broken and there was no hot water.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank ringalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richards D, Propietario at Coconut Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2017
Google Translation

Gracias por compartir con la
Familia Coconut

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

at first sight this place looked ok, but we soon discovered something else. First of all, we had to bargain for the price of a private room, when we said that 45 USD was too much for us, the lady soon lowered her price to 35 USD. This is the first time we experience this in Panama (or elsewhere in the world). After we came back to our room from some sightseeing in Bocas, we discovered other people's bags in our room, so we had to figure out where ours were (apparently moved to another room withouth noticing us). Our new room was not yet cleaned, they promised that it would be done soon, but even after asking a second time, we had to put up with the rubbish that the previous inhabitants for the rest of our stay (2 days). Also bathrooms are not cleaned regularly. After one night, we discovered that some matresses needed to be desinfected (from some kind of bugs), so the hallway was filled with matresses smelling like pesticides, and youcould smell it in your room at night as well.
Another downside: pancake breakfast was promised, but apparently you are only allowed to eat one small pancake (more the size of a cookie) and one coffee per person, for which you have to wait half an hour. Some people can get more pancakes, but only if you are small children or sexy flirty girls.

Room Tip: do not choose a room
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eliene V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

before i begin the stinkfest that is my review of the coconut hostel, i will first write of the amenities we experienced during our stay there

1. it is close to the centre of town
2. there is a kitchen
3. it is cheap - especially for where it is located and especially if you have a tent

but . . .

the coconut hostel is the type of place that members of opus dei or other communities of self-inflicted pain would excitedly tell their brethren as a "painful must-go". it is uncomfortable , loud, and misleading. if you define a nights rest with the action of "sleeping" you may find yourself at odds with the coconut hostel's radically different understanding of a night's rest - a time when everyone in the hostel gets to listen to dub-step bellowing from a blown out set of computer speakers and sweat profusely on something that is liberally considered a mattress. while this definition may seem like the ideal set of circumstances if you were at Burning Man and profusely sweating with someone else - this is more like finding yourself trapped, tired, and alone in a sweltering Bikram yoga studio.

the next morning you may wake up, as i did, and think "well, at least the free breakfast will mend and maybe change my less-than glittering impression of this sweatlodge" - but no , the coconut hostel aims to test how disappointed their patrons/victims can become. the breakfast - comprised of a sole buttersworth pancake and a cup of coffee (if available) made me feeling as if i were cast in a contemporary rendition of Oliver Twist asking "¿por favor, señor, quiero un poco más?"

this is a great place to recommend to enemies, but since there currently isn't a travel website intended for that kind of malice, i encourage you to consider some of Boca's other hostels before following your wallet or lack-of-planning into the iron maiden that is the coconut hostel.

Room Tip: avoid the bottom floor unless you hate sleep.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Morgan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

In our opinion (me and my wife) the owners of a hostel must be polite and helpful. Well, she was not AT ALL. Didn't speak any English which is not that strange for Panama is Spanish speaking but come on, again, you are a HOSTEL. Meant for travellers around the world. Honestly we have to say that her husband or friend was very polite and helpful to us AND he was english speaking. But he was almost never around.
The kitchen was dirty and the toaster didn't barely work so why don't you remove it? The beds were just ok, nothing more or less. But private isn't that private because there's a small part that's open just under the ceiling which makes it very noisy and also the walls are very small.
What makes it so worse is that we did not felt a welcome feeling. She did not try to help us with some questions we had and we had to wait till some other guests decided to help us out.
Just don't go there, there are a lot, lot of other hostels around .You deserve better!!!

Room Tip: don't choose one, leave immediatly.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank na04092014b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

A few of our employees made the trip to Bocas a year ago and stayed here while travelling. They had good things to say about the place and especially the roof deck, with its multiple comfy hammocks and great view of the center of Bocas Town. The view also takes in the community park.

Overall a good experience with the showers being good and cold, the fans in the rooms working well, and the relatively good privacy for a hostal.

Would recommend for short term youthful travellers looking to party and arrive back late - the owner is very forgiving of this!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BalaBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richards D, Propietario at Coconut Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2017
Google Translation

Gracias por compartir con la
Familia Coconut

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bocas Town
0.0 mi away
Posada Isla Chica
Posada Isla Chica
#6 of 13 in Bocas Town
103 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
544 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
421 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Olas
Hotel Olas
#11 of 13 in Bocas Town
358 reviews
0.1 mi away
Selina Bocas del Toro
Selina Bocas del Toro
#3 of 47 in Isla Colon
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Hostel

Address: Isla Colon, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Bocas Town
Price Range: £13 - £25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Coconut Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Coconut is a cosy 12 room hostel with double bedrooms or shared dorms (4 to 6 people), and shared bathroom with hot water. It has a fully equipped kitchen, TV room with comfy couch, free wifi, top roof terrace with hammocks and great view of the island. Ideally located in the center of Bocas, it is #1 backpackers choice when looking for a clean place with chill atmosphere. We offer unique discounted tours for our guest with local guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Coconut Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Hostel Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing