We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and happy hour”
Review of Raw Sushi + Martini Bar - CLOSED

Raw Sushi + Martini Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: The only bar in bocas to offer sushi and carribean fusion, as well as a wide selection of martinis. Not only for sushi-lovers, our menu offers a wide variety of dishes made daily with the freshest products. In order to maintain the highest quality of freshness in our product, certain items our subject to availability.Our cozy dining area offers oceanfront views, and the best breezes in Bocas town. Happy Hour starts at 6pm everday, offering $1 off all martinis and $1 national beers.
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Excellent food, great setting and drinks plus food at a great price during happy hour. Fish taco was very tasty, ordered two but only needed one.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ohacor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 53 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2013

We've made a few trips here in the last couple weeks and we'll definitely be stopping by a few more times... Deals aren't too bad for happy hour.
1$ beers and 4$ sushi rolls
(I believe 4-7pm)
Although the happy hour menu is smaller, there are still some great super yummy options. Also, there are a few veggie options up for grabs as well. There's an awesome veggie roll with plantain in it.. YUM!

Thank RawrrItsssAlexx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

It is almost hard to write a review that does Raw Sushi + Martini Bar any justice, but I will give it a shot. First of all, the location of the restaurant is absolutely stunning and the decor/layout and the atmosphere inside the restaurant was truly breathtaking. The service was super friendly and attentive and the music set the perfect mood for a great evening. Now to get to the food. Every dish we had was absolutely amazing, and after speaking to the owner Brittany (who is fantastic by the way) we learned it is all locally caught fish and purchased fresh every day. The attention to detail and the combination of ingredients and flavours left us wanting more and more and more. I just couldn't get enough of the Tuna Tartar tacos and the Mahi Mahi roll. We stayed in Bocas Del Toro for two nights and made a point of eating at Raw a second night in a row after loving it so much the first night.

If you are in the mood for great food, great service, and an overall amazing experience then Raw is a restaurant at which you MUST enjoy a meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Nicolas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

The worst sushi we have ever had. We threw it in the water it was so bad. The salmon sashimi was not fresh, the waitress even told us it was previously frozen. The place would probably be shut down if it wasn't in a third world country. Stay clear if you value your health.

Thank Heatha1177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brittany-morgan3, Owner at Raw Sushi + Martini Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

Thank you for your feedback, and sorry to hear of your bad experience. Our priority is the seafood that is available locally, and that is generally what we will recommend to a table. Unfortunately, fresh salmon is not available in Central America, and that is one of few seafood products that we import. It is no secret that the salmon comes frozen, and that is why we do not have salmon sashimi on the menu. Next time in the Caribbean, try some Yellowfin Tuna or Red Snapper. Unless you were sick from our food (And we have never been reported of an illness from our food), stating a warning for ones health and declaring that we should be shut down, is a little out of line.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We had a very nice meal here in a very good location. Perhaps a little bit pricey for the town, but one of the nicer places to eat.

Thank Briony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Raw Sushi + Martini Bar also viewed

Bocas Town, Isla Colon
Bocas Town, Isla Colon
 
Bocas Town, Isla Colon
Bocas Town, Isla Colon
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing