We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful vibe, music, and people” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Limbo on the Sea Hotel Restaurant

El Limbo on the Sea Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #34 of 69 Restaurants in Bocas Town
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, View, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Tonosi, Panama
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful vibe, music, and people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Set out on the water with private tables and a very mellow atmosphere, Limbo is a great place to pause and enjoy your time in Bocas. Interesting menu with excellent food. Calypso Joe came and played us some sweet melodies while we enjoyed wine and the Caribbean breeze. Highly recommend this spot as one of the best on Bocas!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    73
    42
    27
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Horrible service, embarrassingly rude staff and manager”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

My boyfriend and I came into this restaurant to try the lobster - it was advertised on signs outside the restaurant, and was obviously the main item on their menu when we browsed it outside. We were there at a normal hour for dinner, maybe a little on the early side, and we were the only ones in the restaurant. We thought this was strange, but we ordered waters then waited probably 10 minutes for the waitress to return to take our order - we could see her over at the bar talking to the bartender and completely ignoring us despite that she had no other customers. When she finally came over and we tried to order lobster she told us they were out. We thought it was ridiculous they had not told us the second we came in, seeing as it was advertised as the main point of the restaurant. We said we'd have to talk about if we wanted to stay so she walked away and we left to go to a restaurant next door, that was lively and crowded.

All of a sudden, the waitress had left her restaurant and had come over to our new restaurant to demand we paid for the two waters we had ordered when we sat down. We said this was ridiculous, and we were mislead about what the restaurant offered, and would never have come in and ordered water if we knew we couldn't have been served. She then proceeded to send her manager over who literally yelled at us in front of the manager of the new restaurant we were at. We obviously paid him, but it was the most unprofessional thing I have ever seen, and I could see why the restaurant was empty and the one next door was fun and lively. So I can't speak to the food, but I would never go there again and would dissuade anyone else from doing so as well.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hutsonl14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama, Panama
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

So my family and I were looking for a restaurant to have lunch around 2:00pm on a Sunday afternoon. We ended up at a chinese restaurant in Bocas Town, but after knowing that they do not take card payments and their restroom are indecent, we decided to go next door... Limbo Restaurant at Limbo hotel.
As soon as I came in, I was welcomed and offered a menu to take a look. I was impressed by their service so I decided to have lunch there. Nice view to the menu and you feel entertained by watching the motorboats from far. You can even see some fishing swimming around the pier and its pretty nice.
And their food, it is Exquisite! The bext octopus ceviche ever and food was served promptly. No long waits.
If you visit Bocas - Isla Colon, make sure you visit this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Luis507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA-Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Everything was good exept for noise.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

We went there for lunch and found great seats on the waterfront. Near was construction and it was my only complain about this place but it not their fault, We went for a small lunch and ordered lobster soup and their fish. Meal was good and we shared both dishes. My wife said that fish dish was too oily for her taste but I liked. Both meals were good and staff was friendly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kaluga67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
347 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Great find! Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

Very affordable and good food with seating over the water. Good service. American fare like steaks and chicken, very reasonable. Great views.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank DallasRdWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Limbo on the Sea Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Bocas del Toro Province, Panama
Carenero Island, Bocas del Toro Province
 
Bocas Town, Isla Colon
Isla Colon, Bocas del Toro Province
 

Been to El Limbo on the Sea Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing