We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Again.”

Hotel Bocas del Toro Restaurant
Ranked #24 of 71 Restaurants in Bocas Town
Price range: US$6 - US$24
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Outdoor Seating
Description: Best Wifi in Bocas Town! Conde Nast Traveler's 2014 Gold List Cuisines & Bars, IP APP, honored Hotel Bocas del Toro as one of the Gold Lists Cuisines & Bars recognizing Hotel Bocas del Toro Restaurant & Bar as a trendy venue in the Caribbean among the best in the world. The Hotel, Hotel Bocas del Toro also received TripAdvisor's 2017 "Certificate of Excellence". Including Conde Naste Traveler ¨Caribbeans Secret Islands, The Bliss of Bocas¨ 2013 featured article. From every vantage point, the ocean & island views inspire us to respond to the elements & the cuisine we prepare. Bocas del Toro's only wood, caribbean, oceanfront boutique hotel, restaurant & bar. We invite you to join us and experience the best of Bocas del Toro.
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Never Again.”
Reviewed 5 February 2013

In fairness, all I had at this restaurant was breakfast but, honestly, if they can't cook an egg what hope is there for a decent piece of fish. I asked for an over easy egg and got one egg with the yolk broken and just a yellow part of the white and the other with a yolk that was a round piece of rubber. I am always wary of ordering the Breakfast Americano in Latin America but thought a restaurant attached to a hotel of this caliber would get it right. The waitress couldn't have cared less nor did the person inside the hotel. The juice was watered; the "toast" was dried out bread. Coffee and bacon were okay.

There were plans for an evening meal here but took the hint and had an excellent fish dinner at El Limbo just next door.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Snowbirdincostarica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wold, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Bocas del Toro Restaurant, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
Please accept our sincere apology for your experience at Bocas del Toro Restaurant & Bar. All reviews are appreciated and positive changes will be made.

Unfortunately, there is no specific word for, “Over Easy”, or “Sunny Side Up” eggs in Panamanian Spanish, thus it can be left to interpretation. We will work on this! The staff has always been friendly and it is unfortunate this was not your experience.

NEVER is a double negative, “Never Say Never”. As a result, you missed the Best Seafood in Bocas Town prepared by our evening Kuna Yala Chef, from the San Blas Islands! Superb!

“Bocas del Toro Restaurant & Bar” is a private company apart from the Hotel, which Trip Advisors has neglected to recognize in their system.

Bocas del Toro Restaurant & Bar will do their best to improve consistency on all levels. Gracias!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    50
    16
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fried fish sticks!”
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Surprisingly good fried fish sticks! Like lightly breaded Japanese tempura. Sweet and tender and delicious. Our table of five had other things too, and the food and drinks were uniformly good, service was pretty speedy, On the water, with accommodating staff

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank hawkie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kusapin, panama
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worst Pina Colada in the Caribbean”
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Imagine a perfect margarita high, and then to top it off, Pina Coladas, $2.75, dark wood paneling, roadside bar. Perfect! But not so. The ingredients: Pineapple chunks (good start) but they wouldn't blend; then things got a little sketch, out comes the white rum (cheap Bacardi), very little for two Pinas, and then a heavy dose of whole milk. A scoop of badly blended ice, poured into a glass, with a nice pineapple slice presentation. Immediately it begins to separate and curdle. Whole milk? Really? I drank it anyway, even though I kind of regret it now, and then the bill came, $10.70. That's like the daily wage for a Panamanian National, and a Peace Corps Volunteer! I could buy a nice bottle of Flor de Cana for that, and make my own! But then again I never would have had the stomach churning experience of vile pineapple acid bile on the back of my tongue for the walk back to my very nice seaside hostel.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chotri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wold, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Bocas del Toro Restaurant, responded to this review, 26 January 2013
Happy Hour is meant to be Happy, and we are very sorry your experience was not perfect. Based on the pricing, you did partake in Happy Hour( 5-7pm, includes access to our lovely dock and vista of adjacent islands)! The Bar uses only fresh pineapple in our Pina Colada which is one of our most recognize Happy Hour drinks, loved by many visitors, including Panamanians on holiday! What drink could make you feel more on a vacation than a Pina Colada? Pina Colada uses white rum, more expensive than Panama’s award winning Abuello Rum. We always accommodate rum preferences from our guests since rum is often the drink of choice in Bocas del Toro. Only coconut milk is used in this delectable drink (check out our Tropical Drink photo on FB).

Even when drinking, one must consider combinations from the acidic Margarita, yet delicious, to a sweet, rum, coconut milk, drink. This spells disaster leaving the taste of vile pineapple acid bile as you described. Ouch!

It appears may be with the PeaceCorp as most visitors do not make this reference to this organization, thus non-Panamanian. Bocas del Toro Restaurant and Bar has an agreement with Hotel Bocas del Toro to offer a Family Rate to all PeaceCorp Volunteers and their families when visiting Bocas del Toro. We have always welcomed our volunteers. On your next trip from remote Kusapin, in Bocas del Toro Province, come visit us again and let us make it up to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious Passion Fruit Fish”
Reviewed 22 November 2012

YUM YUM YUM - I LOVE it when restuarants use local ingredients in their cooking. This restuarant is no exception :) I was delighted to try a new passion fruit sauce over the fillet of fish the cook was debating on adding to the menu - very unique and different :) My husband had a seafood pasta which was also delicous! Dessert was great and the sambusa with caco was a perfect touch!

I can't believe a reviewer complained about the waiter speaking in Spanish!! This is Central America - get out of your bubble and embrace the culture of another area - that is part of the Bocas Charm - I'd be disappointed if I didn't have a chance to practise something new with a local when I visited - shame on them -

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Teleworker_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“This is a biased review due to lack of service!”
Reviewed 14 November 2012

And let me explain: we ended up at the restaurant over lunch time at 13:30 yesterday.

Outage #1: the waiter didn't speak a word of English. You gotta be kidding me! This restaurant is part of the Bocas del Toro hotel which is apparently in the top 10 in Bocas Town. Nothing against the guy (he was trying to be nice) but come on...

Outage #2: There were 5 different couples sitting at the terrace. We all got informed that the kitchen was "really slow" and there were 2-3 tables that were still waiting to be served.

Outage #3: It took >10' for the waiter to come and take our order. By that point we just stood up and left.

And the rest of the other 4 couples did exactly the same. We ended up with a few of them in another nearby restaurant.

So I'm totally biased on this review but this was a true event yesterday.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PaniosBanios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wold, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Bocas del Toro Restaurant, responded to this review, 18 November 2012
We sincerely apologize for the lack of service you experienced at Bocas del Toro Restaurant and Bar. The restaurant is a work in progress, actively seeking to improve consistent service levels and your feedback has provided to be valuable. We are taking steps to make a difference and appreciate your review.

Bocas del Toro Restaurant & Bar acknowledges the issues raised, including the lack of English speaking staff in the restaurant. Due to commitment by both Bocas del Toro Restaurant & Bar, including, Hotel Bocas del Toro, in supporting Sustainable Tourism in our province, all 15 employees are Bocateranian. This offers a tremendous economic benefit for employees and their family’s future. We do not hire foreigners. The other dining locations you visited are operated by foreign staff that has a strong command of English. It is true, some employees do not speak English, yet many understand. Unfortunately, English is not the native language of Panama. We make every effort to hire Bocateranians capable of speaking and understanding English whenever possible.

While it’s hard to play the ranking game with internet reviews, we appreciate being referred to as one of the top 10 ten hotels in Bocas Town (aka: Bocas del Tor Restaurant & Bar) of which only 4 hotels offer full restaurant services (breakfast, lunch, dinner, bar, including room service!). Six of the 10 hotels you referenced in the top 10, including the one you visited, do not offer full hotel restaurant service.

Again, Bocas del Toro Restaurant & Bar appreciates your comments and will continue to strive to offer the best service available in Bocas del Toro.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hotel Bocas del Toro Restaurant also viewed

Bocas Town, Isla Colon
Isla Colon, Bocas del Toro Province
 
Bocas Town, Isla Colon
Isla Colon, Bocas del Toro Province
 
Bocas Town, Isla Colon
 

Been to Hotel Bocas del Toro Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing