We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Despite Reservation, no room - huge hassle!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cocomo on the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cocomo on the Sea
Ranked #20 of 30 Bocas Town B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Despite Reservation, no room - huge hassle!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

We had a reservation via email including all credit card details but when we arrived the non-english speaking staff informed us that there was no room available. A secretary was called who did not know anything and was not helpful at all. We then had to look for another hotel. Needless to say that this cost us time and extra money.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nudel121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    31
    21
    6
    3
See reviews for
11
67
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bocas Town, Panama
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

This bed and breakfast is one of nicest places I have stayed for the money. Doug the owner is very nice and the entire staff is very accomodating. It is right on the ocean and has free kayaks to use and laundry service. You can walk to town. If there is a problem, Doug gets right on it.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AM W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

Cocomo by the Sea is a very cute waterfront B&B in Bocas. Its winning feature is the waterfront location with big wooden terrace/deck over the water - a great place to eat breakfast, and to laze reading a book and watch the world paddle by. The rooms I found to be 'ok'... I think they are aiming for the "shabby chic" look - somehow they didn't quite hit the mark for me. My room was perfectly comfortable though - a little dark, with ancient a/c unit, and dubious locks on the doors which cause them to need a big padlock (I found this to be a little low-budget, I think they should just upgrade the locks!) - but comfortable and clean (although there were a couple of cockroaches in my room, I kind of assume this goes with the territory in this kind of location!). Breakfast was plentiful and served on the lovely terrace. There wasn't a great presence of staff so I felt a little "on my own" in terms of service - but I was there over Christmas Day so that might explain it. Overall I would recommend, although I also stayed at Lula's directly across the road (literally 3m away) and found their rooms & service to be of a higher quality for the same price (although you don't get the waterfront terrace there).

Also, ditto the observation re noisy neighbours...I was lucky enough to have the room furthest away from the family home next door so was not disturbed at night time but I can see that this could be a problem at times

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elklondon01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
244 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

We spent 4 nights here. The rooms are on the smallish side, but clean and comfortable. We only slept in the room, otherwise we were on the deck or doing other activities. Kayaks are available to use and water taxis will come right to the dock. Swimming off the deck and snorkeling trips easliy arranged. Located about a 5 minute walk from town, so the area is quiet at night. Several reviewer have complained about the neighbors. While they are a large family, noise was really never an issue. We would definately stay here again...and the breakfast? Huge and delicious!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

Doug, the owner, is really great! Friendly, helpful, open, really nice! However, the b&b needs a lot of work done... Not sure if it's the salt or what, but the rooms need some taking-care-of. The veranda is great with a water view, however, the rooms were depressing/ dark/ musty. We too were greeted by a cockroach in the shower.

In general, though, Bocas Town is extremely overrated... It is very expensive for what you get (dirty!), so if you want a nice, romantic get away, try to stay in one of the islands (of course, you will probably pay more).

The cays, however, are in fact WONDERFUL!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyF956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

I loved it here. I visited in September 2011 and remembered I must make some recommendations!
I was travelling on my own and it was a perfect choice. I made friends with the other travellers and even did a day trip with them one day. I wouldn't have wanted to be out of the town being on my own as going anywhere for food would have been a problem.
Doug was great and always on hand to help and to recommend where to eat.
The room is not 5 star but that's not what you come here for. I found it clean and decent. I don't understand what the problem would be with a padlock - you can close normally inside. Of course there are sea smells - it is on stilts over the sea. yes there are only 4 rooms and the amneties reflect that. However you can use the laundry room and there is water available. The laundry room came in useful after hiking on the neighbouring island. My new found friends and I decided to hike across the island fromthe boat stop to Red Frog beach and then walk along to the next beach. That was an amazing walk.
I wish I could have brought my boyfriend here - it is a really romantic spot.
I didn't hear anything from the neighbours but loved to watch their lifestyle and envied their massive family!

Top tip: Take an island bus to Star fish beach - you can enjoy a lovely walk along here and if you are lucky watch the monkeys in the trees( you hear them first). I hope for their sake that no more development takes place up on this part of the island.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ally2011haiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

We had a reservation for a bit longer but couldn't go through with it. The doors have padlocks on them, which turned off my wife. It's a bit dingy and musty on the inside with the floor giving way slightly underfoot. This is more like a hostel than a b&b, not for a romantic get away. The owner is very nice, we really wish it would have worked out but we were expecting much more.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank DrockerTee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bocas Town hotels
4.0 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Gran Hotel Bahia
Gran Hotel Bahia
#5 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Olas
Hotel Olas
#10 of 13 in Bocas Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotelito Del Mar
Hotelito Del Mar
#4 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocomo on the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocomo on the Sea

Property: Cocomo on the Sea
Address: Avenida Norte and 6A Street, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under New Management!!! We are having such fun redecorationg the rooms, new staff, cooks, cleaning people! Building a new dock and changing the garden into a Pop-up music Happy Hour area! Come visit us and let us take good care of you in our intimate Bed and Breakfast! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cocomo on the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocomo On The Sea Hotel Bocas Town
Cocomo On The Sea Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing