We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a lovely place in Bocas”
Review of Cocomo on the Sea

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bocas Town
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cocomo on the Sea
Ranked #21 of 31 Bocas Town B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 September 2013

it's a really nice place to stay in Bocas. The rooms are big and nicely decorated. This small hotels soon feels like a new home. They have free kayaks for the host witch is great. The breakfast is really nice with fresh fruits, eggs, pancakes....the owner is very friendly

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hanzade1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stayed at Cocomo with our 4 children and had a great time. Douglas the owner is incredibly helpful. The B and B is right on the sea, so you can swim straight from the B and B. The lcoation could not be better, it is very reasonably priced and the views are great. If you want a boat trip use Livingstone - the best!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

I stayed at Cocomo on the sea for four nights back in April. I cannot recommend this guesthouse enough. The location is fantastic, right on the sea and just a safe 5 min walk from the center of town. The guesthouse is peacefull and has a wondefull communal decking theat backs onto the water. This area is where the wholesome breakfasts are consumed each morning along with the other guests. Complimentry Kyaks are available and Douglas ,the owner, is very helpfull should you have any queries. I was booked on the early flight out of Bocas so Douglas kindly prepared a snack box for me the night before and left it in the fridge so that I would have something to eat in the morning. I only gave a 4 out of 5 as one night the neighbours where quite noisy. Panamanians are football mad and the local team were playing, this resulted in the neighbours having about 30 people over to watch the match on their decking, trumpets and all!! This was a very small negative and really nothing to put you off staying at Cocomo, the hotels closer to the town center were probably noisy every minute of every day so a bit of noise for one night was neglagible. Overall I really enjoyed my stay here and would definatley recommend staying here for its great value for money accomodations,location and hospitality.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Method81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

On our visit to Bocas del Toro we were unfortunately met with 2 days of rain. We stayed at Cocomo on the Sea, and had a lovely time relaxing on their deck overlooking the water, and discussing plans with the front desk, who helped us organize alternative trips given the bad weather. We had initially planned on staying 2 nights, but left early due to the rain, and they were very accommodating of this. The breakfast was also excellent, and included in the price. Bocas is a laid back, beachy town, and you won't find "luxury style" hotels, which is part of the charm. Staying at a clean, friendly, b&b style place like Cocomo is really the way to go. Great value. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LKCHICAGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Doug the owner is so friendly and helpful. Breakfast was delicious and fresh. The hotel is right on the water so you can swim go for a swim anytime. If you have children the water is shallow and calm so they can swim with no problem. We rented bicycles but its only a few minute walk to the busy town area. I would definitely go back there!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kdono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

We spent one night at Cocomo transiting back from Isla Popa. It's a nice little spot, with a good deck out back for reading and watching the waterway. The room was ok, although the bed was pretty hard and the sheets didn't feel particularly new, but then it was all that we expected as a place to crash for one night. Its location has pros and cons - it's a little bit of a walk from all the bars and restaurants of the town BUT that means it's a little bit more peaceful than I imagine more central hotels are. Breakfast was good, but not quite at the levels others have mentioned on here previously. Overall, I'd be happy to recommend people to spend a night here, but I personally wouldn't spend any more time there.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

When they say on the sea they mean it. Waves seem to lap under the floorboards. If you haven't slept to the soothing sounds of the sea, your haven't lived. Nice Caribbean style rooms complete with transom, comfortable beds, hot hot hot water. Make sure to peruse the orchid garden on the way in and out, but the breakfast makes the experience. Some places offer a muffin, some fruit, coffee and call it good. Cocomo has this, and then cereal and juice, milk and tea. Enough to satisfy. But wait, there's more: a menu, eggs cooked to taste, toast. Be careful not to overeat. Unless you're planning on a nice long hike in the jungle. Or a kayak on one of their boats.

Room Tip: There aren't many, and they all have names instead of numbers. Try Calypso.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chotri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bocas Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
437 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
403 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lula's Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
564 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Olas
Hotel Olas
#9 of 13 in Bocas Town
363 reviews
0.2 mi away
Swan's Cay Hotel
Swan's Cay Hotel
#6 of 13 in Bocas Town
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocomo on the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocomo on the Sea

Address: Avenida Norte and 6A Street, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Bocas Town
Price Range: £32 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under New Management!!! We are having such fun redecorationg the rooms, new staff, cooks, cleaning people! Building a new dock and changing the garden into a Pop-up music Happy Hour area! Come visit us and let us take good care of you in our intimate Bed and Breakfast! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cocomo On The Sea Hotel Bocas Town
Cocomo On The Sea Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing