We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“seriously? this place is a dump”
Review of Hotel Angela

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bocas Town
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Angela
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Bocas Town
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“seriously? this place is a dump”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

i do not understand the good reviews of this place. maybe the rooms upstairs are better or something. i found my room to be a dark and musty box with no windows. it had cable tv and wifi and hot water and a/c, and the staff is nice, which is why i rated it 2 stars instead of 1. but it certainly was not worth the price i paid for it. the comforter on the bed had blood spots on it. there were dead roaches all over the hallway near the kitchen. someone woke the whole place up at 5am banging on the front door for an hour because the security girl wouldn't answer... if i had been on vacation and ended up here (rather than just taking a weekend side trip from costa rica where i am living) i would have been incredibly annoyed. i saw several better located places that looked nicer.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicole F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    38
    22
    10
    7
See reviews for
12
51
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Managua, Nicaragua
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2012

This place is well situated on the edge of town, a short walk to the bars and restaurants. I really felt that we were being grossly overcharged for the room, we had a suite for $125 a night, but it's all we could find at such late notice. I really agree with the last review; the owner needs to get back! I spoke to him when making my reservation and he sounded very sweet and helpful and I imagined he would be around for our stay, yet he was away the whole time.

As for the staff, with some exceptions, I found them lazy and severely lacking in charm and manners. For example, the air con in our room broke and they weren't interested in coming to help us, just flippantly telling us to use the remote, and close doors and windows (which we had obviously already done). They did promptly call someone out to fix it, we happened to pop by the room to find him in the room alone, had he wanted he could have got away with my jewelry and more! My partner went downstairs to politely ask the 2 women in charge if someone could stay with him in the room as we were off out again, to which they looked at him in disdain! Did they comply with the request? Um, no.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miranda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

I have stayed at Angela maybe 3-4 times. The food has been great and it's quiet so you may sleep! Bocas can be very noisy otherwise. Recently the maintenance has gone downhill, the restaurant is practically gone and the staff appears lazy. Clearly the owner Claudio needs to get back to his hotel and run things again!

Room Tip: The rooms close to the reception area can be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eddie45678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We were suppose to stay for three nights (December 30 to January 1) but we couldn't make the first night because of a flight delay. They did not charge us for the first night. We stayed in Room #9 and it was clean and we had a patio and you could see the water. The restaurant is located right on the water and we brought our own drinks down there to enjoy the view.

Claudio was very helpful. The only downside of the trip was that the cook was not in on new years day so we could not try the food. It is about a 3 minute walk from the airport and it was nice that it was not right downtown because it would have been quite loud because of all the celebrating.

I would recommend this place. It probably is not the cheapest you it was in a good location and it right on the water.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knm1113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

All the people that worked at the hotel, and the owner were very gracious and nice. The location was better than being in the main part of town and also better than being super far out of town as well. As far as the price though, for the quality of the rooms, you can probably find better. Hotel Angela was right on the water, but there is no swimming there because of boat traffic and all, but that is typical of most of the hotel on Isla Colon, especially in the "city". If you are looking for a place with a beach on Isla Colon, good luck.

Room Tip: Some rooms have no doors where the shower is, ask about this if you are traveling with people that y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizm82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

I haven't been there in a while, and took me a little to review this hotel, but let me tell you something, I am local, and I like this place so much that i ve been in Bocas maybe 5 times, and 4 of them I stayed in Hotel Angela! (the other one was my first time and I stayed in other hotel, total disappointment)..It is not a fancy hotel, but they have clean beds, nice staff and well located, what else do you need?? After a day full of activities, I can assure you that all you need is a quiet place to crash...and your breakfast in that deck: priceless! once I got the fortune to see dolphins while I was drinking my delicious juice!

Room Tip: Rooms in the second floor are nicer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ktycastillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaudioBocasdelToro, Owner at Hotel Angela, responded to this review, 11 December 2011
Kindness is the cornerstone of Hotel Angela, as can be witnessed on each page of our website.

My favorite is by a young man who built our first web site. He says, ¨¨Love is like a Rose, Blossoming when you water it, Wilting when you don`t.¨

I so thanki you for your Kindness in Watering Hotel Angela´s Rose.

Sincerely,

Claudio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Hampton, New York
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Room 9 was not as advertised on the site - then again, camera lenses can be tricky: the room was small, and the shower was adjacent (as in 24") from the side of the bed, and there was an odor that could only be described as stale Pine Sol meets musty basement. We stayed for 5 minutes. Maybe 6. They were kind enough to refund one (of the two nights pre-paid).

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelingman2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaudioBocasdelToro, Owner at Hotel Angela, responded to this review, 29 November 2011
Two other couples in your party stayed for the three days of your reservations. We did not charge for your vacated room but gave the paying member of your group the entirety of the 50% advance reservation charge for the 3 rooms, including yours.

Though you were offered other more expensive rooms for the price of the room you did not like,
you still chose to move.

We do our best to please our clients, but regrettably this did not work in this instance. And to repeat, your vacated room was not charged as you state.

Please come again, we hope to do better on your return. Sincerely, Claudio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bocas Town hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bocas Town
1.0 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
538 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
419 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Olas
Hotel Olas
#10 of 13 in Bocas Town
352 reviews
2.0 mi away
Buccaneer Resort
Buccaneer Resort
#2 of 2 in Carenero Island
125 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Caribbean View
Hotel Caribbean View
#2 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Angela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Angela

Property: Hotel Angela
Address: North Avenue, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Angela 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Angela, and its Restaurant Sol and Sombra, calms and enchants with breathtaking views of the beautiful Caribbean. Enjoy swimming from our deck, or just sit and fingertip toetip the cuddly soothing waters, refreshing cooling Caribbean breezes stir memories of Paradise with which we are all familiar. Please come, visit or revisit. You will enjoy as sincerely do we. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Angela Hotel Bocas Town
Hotel Angela Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing