We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst room I've ever stayed” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Angela

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bocas Town
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Angela
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Bocas Town
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worst room I've ever stayed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We spent Holy Week in Bocas del Toro with some friends, so we rented 4 rooms. Our room was the worst room I have ever stayed. It was room #2 downstairs. First, the room was not clean; there were big stains on the roof and walls, and the sheets had lots of stains. Second, the shower was creepy, it was some kind of cave inside the room. Also, the A/C made lot of noise. It was hard to get a good sleep. We also got lot of noise from the front desk, which is next to this room, during the day.

Some few positive points: the hotel has a great big deck. We spent a good time with friends there. Also, you can take tours from the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melaniamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    38
    22
    10
    7
See reviews for
12
51
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Iasi, Romania
Level Contributor
82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

It was easy to find going from the main street toward the street along the beach. We were very dissapointed to see that we booked for more than double the price that it would worth. Staff speaks very poor English, exception the lady at front desk when there is any. When we arrived we received room 7 and next morning we were asked o move room 12 because it was a mistake and room 7 was booked for someone else who precisely asked for nr. 7. The hotel in generally looks obsolete and damaged (like missing tiles in the bathroom...), altering the holiday mood. Particularly the terasse for breakfast was like an abandoned place. The AC in the room was noisy. That is why I appreciate sleep quality only"very good", and not "excellent". The rooms were clean, but not the rest of the place. There was no wardrobe neither in room 7 nor 12. Breakfast was very poor. One has to choose between scrambled eggs and omlette. No other option. And what you got was a one-egg scrambled egg(s), one tiny slice papaya, one tiny slice other fruit , 20g butter and 3 slices very bad quality bread. Not to speak about the unfriendly announcement sticked near the coffee device, about only 2 cups of coffee included and for more you have to pay extra. With all these we do believe that the price was unfair. I could note the service "poor" but because they did our laundry for free I mark with "average"

Room Tip: Room 12 has sea view - both the room and the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElenaIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bocas Town hotels

Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

I looked at and tried to book here for weeks leading up to our arrival. In the end we arrived without reservations. A good thing as we ended up getting a better room for less. Great because it wasn't worth the original price. But for the deal we got showing up midday worth it. The breakfast was mediocre at best with no selection except take it or leave it. My partner does not eat eggs so unfortunately for him it was leave it on two consecutive mornings. The air conditioning was pretty good. The shower although yes right next to the bed, was awesome. Great pressure and more hot water than we tested out. Would have been incredibly nice if someone had mentioned the back stairs. As we hauled our big packs up the questionable and narrow spiral staircase in the front. Not sure that we would stay again. But for the price can't complain.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

I agree with earlier reviews -- tho there were no bed bugs fercryinoutloud. Rooms a little rough around the edges [shower was an add-on and is IN the bedroom], but dining area/dock on the water is a delightful, breezy place. Just far enough from the center of town to be quiet and peaceful, but a short walk into the center and several small groceries [yes, they are all Chinese run and locals call them "chinos"] along the way for your water. ice and booze needs. Very friendly and accommodating staff.

Room Tip: Don't bother paying the higher price for an "ocean view" room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KSKLindenHills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canmore
Level Contributor
133 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

Nothing special, but after traveling extensively in Central America this was ok for the price. I can imagine in high season the town is packed so this would be most likely considered mid-range. The hotel was extremely quiet so we had no noise issues. It is about a 5 minute walk from the main plaza so the area is not so congested. Great looking dining room over the water but unfortunately we were there off season so we were only served breakfast. It was hot but a little on the skimpy side. The bed was great and the linens were clean. There was a tv but the English language selection was limited (unlike other hotels we stayed in while in Panama). The bathroom was tiny and it would appear the shower was a bit of an afterthought as it was placed in the corner of the room with only a shower curtain to block it from the living space. Overall though we enjoyed our stay. Security was not an issue as we passed the front desk on entry someone was always there and the service was outstanding. Our flight back to Panama City was not until 5:00 and we managed to extend our check-out to 3:00 since the hotel was so quiet. Great stay in Bocas.

Room Tip: AS for a room with a balcony and water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canmorebackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

Great waterfront hotel. 10 Minutes walk into town. Perhaps the "chitres" ( beach chiggers" got to the previous reviewer. No doubt one needs to wear bug repellant when going to visit the beach or jungle islands. It is the tropics after all. No bugs in our bed! During low season many things might be closed or hours changed. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Friendly staff, thanks Florencia! We truly LOVE this place! Mike And Sherri

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NurseG62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

And changing the mattress is not the solution. After 3 nights, I had near 50 bites on one leg. First floor is noisy because you can hear all the staff loud conversations. The room we had was very small. We could barely walk between the two beds. Breakfast was elementary but ok.

Room Tip: Be sure they decontaminated the rooms from bed bugs by-the-books if you don't want to bring bad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kortop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bocas Town hotels
1.0 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bocas Paradise Hotel
Bocas Paradise Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bocas Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotelito Del Mar
Hotelito Del Mar
#4 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Olas
Hotel Olas
#10 of 13 in Bocas Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Angela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Angela

Property: Hotel Angela
Address: North Avenue, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Angela 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Angela, and its Restaurant Sol and Sombra, calms and enchants with breathtaking views of the beautiful Caribbean. Enjoy swimming from our deck, or just sit and fingertip toetip the cuddly soothing waters, refreshing cooling Caribbean breezes stir memories of Paradise with which we are all familiar. Please come, visit or revisit. You will enjoy as sincerely do we. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Angela Hotel Bocas Town
Hotel Angela Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing