We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lose track of time at Hotel Angela”
Review of Hotel Angela

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bocas Town
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Angela
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Bocas Town
Reviewed 20 June 2009

Bocas del Toro has many hotels and restaurants, but my favorite is Hotel Angela. This hotel may not be for everyone, if you are expecting 5-star everything. No pretention here, just a casual Bocas-style comfortable place to stay, eat and enjoy the Carribean ambiance. A place to lose your expectations and just relax!
It's very quiet and personal, you feel like family the very first day of your stay. The rooms are appointed well in a Panamanian country style. The common area is over the waters of the Carribean, a PERFECT spot to enjoy a beer or cocktail while your meal is prepared. Watch the surf across the bay crash on the reef, cool refreshing drink in hand as your "Catch of the Day" is prepared by the Cocinerias. No 'previously prepared' food here, the menu is always fresh, well prepared and presented, often out of the ocean or garden that very day. MMMMMM!
I could go on and on, but you are invited by me to experience it for yourself. You won't be disappointed! The perfect Bocas-casual place to lose track of time!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Panama-gente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Angela
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2009

Mind you, you dont go to Bocas on luxury trips, you backpack. Hence, since the expectations is low to begin with, everything is a pleasent surprise! :)

Hotel Angela is a typical Bocas hotel, old, abit worn and brighly colored, but clean. Its far better than most other hotels in Bocas, unless you go for the realy expensive ones. Which you dont, you are on Bocas to enjoy life, not spend money. Bocas is fortunally not your typical tourist trap, but rather a heaven for backpackers and surfers, and I wish it would stay that way.

The food at Angelas is superb, especially when Raquel is in the mood and makes some local caribian dish. She is also fantastic with drinks, happy-hour at Angela is indeed a happy hour! :)

The hotell is placed on the outskirts of town (meaning 100meters), a short walk from everything, but much much quieter, which is perfect.

The restaurant is open on one end, leading straight into the water. This gives for a special atmosphere when you are eating while pelicans are skydiving for fish all around, and a lonely dolphin pops by now and then.

The rooms wary in size from small to a full suite. They have AC, important down there. They are not modern and flashy , but are nice and clean and everything works, wich is more than you can say about the rest of Bocas... :)

The owner Claudio is the sweetest most caring man we have ever met, and he realy made the stay something special. All in all, the service offered by Claudio and staff, the food, the place, the low cost, everything!

This is by far the best trip we have ever had, and Hotel Angela and Claudio is hugely responsible for this, and everything extra we got and experienced made this much more than a honeymoon, it became a tremendous expereince, a trip of a lifetime.

In our hearts, always!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SixpackOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2009

I really liked the owner of the place. Real friendly guy. And breakfast right by the water, on a sort of dock behind the hotel was excellent. I got up early and brought my book out there. We took a tour right from the hotel. The guys picked us up and took us out all over the place in their boat. It was fantastic. Like some of the reviewers said: the rooms aren't so great. It depends on where you are though. When the ladies were cleaning the room across the hall we peeked in and it was real nice. We thought ours had a window. When we opened it, it looked out on to the bar area. But it's close to town, clean and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimmyTMilne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2009

Good location and helpful staff, but our room was damp and smelled of mold. You can get much better hotels for the same price.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
1  Thank palermogirl44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaudioBocasdelToro, owner/manager at Hotel Angela, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2009

During the month of November, Bocas del Toro experienced above normal rainfall, exceptional high tides. The ferocity of the ocean destroyed part of the decking of our restaurant . Was necessary to form an employee bucket brigade for several days to throw out the waters of the ocean as it entered.. This happened many days through the end of the year, and into 2009, when, in January the same phenomenon occurred similarly.

Many people, including Hotel Angela, lost boats during this stormy 5 month period.

I have a photograph of a boat traveling down Avenue Norte, which is the street in front of the hotel.

This unseasonal dampness did result in mildew and mold, which we have since destroyed. We have painted all rooms, changed the bedding and freshened the entire hotel.

Please let us know when you care to visit again? We will try providing you a room that is not near the office, however a bit costlier.

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you were caused.!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2008

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Angela for several days while touring the Bocas region. The hotel is on the water just a few short blocks from nightlife and restaurants yet is quiet at night. Our room was clean (with strong a/c) and a hearty breakfast was included in the very reasonable room price. Claudio, the owner of the hotel, was an extremely gracious host and made us feel at home. Overall, we highly recommend!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelite27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2008

I am actually sitting on the deck right now with the breeze and the view as advertised. If you like the ocean, and to see some of the other islands, it's great.

I was only looking for a moderately priced room for a 3 night getaway, and am happy with Angela's. Claudio is very nice, as is the rest of the staff. The room is not the draw. It's comfortable, the hot water works fine, the shower, the air conditioning, etc. I am in room 2 right next to reception and it is quiet here. It is not luxury, but I didn't want to pay more either. Everything works and as they say, when you close your eyes at night, it's dark no matter how much you pay.

It is a nice walk into the town, and away enough to be peaceful.
The breakfast was filling, the music nice. The wireless internet is obviously working, but there is no longer the row of computers for use. Claudio gave them to the local school. So bring your own

The menu is varied and the food is very good.
I would come back here.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank OrganicmanCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2008

Hotel Angela was our first hotel in Bocas Town. The owner Claudio is very nice, knowledgeable, and accommodating. The location is great, right on the water, an easy walk into town but not in the middle of all the noise and partying. For the cost of 44 dollars you do get a very minimal room, with little to brag about. There is the occasional lizard on the wall, and ants by the window, but that is what you would expect in the tropics. But the seaside restaurant patio and the friendly staff make up for it. They also serve a hearty breakfast. Overall the rooms can use a little love, but i could stay there on a short term basis.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leogemini82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bocas Town hotels
1.0 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
545 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
422 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Olas
Hotel Olas
#11 of 13 in Bocas Town
358 reviews
1.0 mi away
Posada Isla Chica
Posada Isla Chica
#7 of 13 in Bocas Town
104 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotelito Del Mar
Hotelito Del Mar
#4 of 13 in Bocas Town
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Angela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Angela

Address: North Avenue, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Bocas Town
Price Range: £36 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Angela 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Angela, and its Restaurant Sol and Sombra, calms and enchants with breathtaking views of the beautiful Caribbean. Enjoy swimming from our deck, or just sit and fingertip toetip the cuddly soothing waters, refreshing cooling Caribbean breezes stir memories of Paradise with which we are all familiar. Please come, visit or revisit. You will enjoy as sincerely do we. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Angela Hotel Bocas Town
Hotel Angela Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing