We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New owner, disappointing change”
Review of Hotel Angela

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bocas Town
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Angela
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Bocas Town
Washington, DC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“New owner, disappointing change”
Reviewed 16 February 2010

I was quite disappointed with my stay at Hotel Angela, which I chose given the promising reviews here, in Lonely Planet, and Bradt's Guide.

Don't stay in Room 9. We saw cockroaches and had a leaky air conditioner that rattled against the balcony door all night. Not worth the $70 pricetag for a balcony that overlooks a construction site, when there are many other wonderful hotels and B&B's in Bocas Town. Management also had no response when I contacted them about this (I thought I'd give them the chance to defend themselves before writing up a bad review!) The hotel was bought over in December, which may explain the disappointing experience compared to the many previous bright reviews.

My personal suggestion is to stay at the Hotel Cala Luna, which is not only a bit cheaper but nicer! Cala Luna is a beautifully crafted house with good wood, AC, and open-air seating areas outside of each room. It is also two blocks from Calle 3 (the main street) which can be very loud. The owner, Alberto, is always around if you need anything and very nice.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank love_2_travel585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    38
    22
    10
    7
See reviews for
12
51
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
491 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2010

stayed here for several days for a good price. great quiet location on the northside that we walked in and out all day and night. took a tour with the place was fine. breakfasts seemed ok but mike started a restraunt here and we ate a few times and was good for the price. beers are $1 all day long if you wante to sit at the dock and gaze. showers, air was good.beds were fine and the place is secure. only one internet laptop but that was free and enough to check our mails and misc.nice little bar on a boat (the riptide) is a couple places down and was good for breakfast and at night. near hostel and little store.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga, Latvia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 January 2010

Good choice in this crazy town! It is in a walking distance from the center/main street, but also a bit away so that it is more quiet there. And - it is even in a walking distance from the airport! Actually it was the first time in our lives that we actually WALKED to the airport from a hotel.
The owner Claudio is very friendly and welcoming. He will try to do everything to make you satisfied. When he learnt that we had to leave very early last morning - before the breakfast time, he even offered his own food. Not that we accepted this kind offer, as food shop is only one block away from the hotel.
There are no computers for guests's use, so do not expect that Internet Center (computer room) in the hotel which you see on the hotel's homepage. Claudio showed his genuine kindness again by offering us to use his personal laptop, and we did, but this is not what you feel comfortable using for more than 10 minutes. However, Internet shops are not far.
The hotel has lovely terrace you can observe starfish from and have complimentary tea/coffee. Breakfasts are very good. You can also get all major tours directly from the hotel and by the same price as in the town - the tour guys will come by boat to pick you up directly from the terrace.
Shower was great - good pressure.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Junglebloom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 January 2010

The hotel and restaurant staff were very friendly and helpful. We had what was referred to as the best room in the hotel (we don't think the one featured on the website is actually for rent). It was overpriced for what it was -- a view over a high roof in a bit of a run down room. The hotel needs a bit of a face lift. However the restaurant on the ocean is pretty great. And it was very quiet at night. However the free internet consisted of a laptop without a t or an e.....

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ramblintravella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2009

I read probably over five hundred reviews on line before deciding to book our stay at Hotel Angela. It was like all the reviews described. It was not fancey, but had everything you need to have a comfortable stay in the Carribean. Our room was clean, with a nice view of the water, and it had working AC. The shower was good with good pressure. The staff and the owner Claudio were so nice and helpful.

The breakfast was great!
We plan to return soon!

Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank yaisou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Rica
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2009

We had never been to Bocas del Toro before this trip. Great Choice - the perfect place to have stayed was Hotel Angela. Claudio and his staff were very helpful , always there with a nice smile. Thank you everyone. This hotel was just what we were looking for, on the water, cozy, price was right and they also had the personalized touch. One night we decided to invite a couple we met on a tour over for dinner. Vielca ( not sure how to spell her name ) she is super nice woman that works in the kitchen as their local Chef ( home style cooking ) she took really good care of us creating a Lobster feast with local flavor, she also had Craw fish with salad, and just a full on spread. WOW !! Patacones, and other yummy delights.
She made our stay in Bocas, made us look like we were spending tons on the meal, it was very well priced and prepared just for us !!! Great work. The rooms are basic, no TV no Phone, but we did not want any of that anyway.
The tours pick you by water on the deck that the Hotel has, they have their own tours but when we went they were not operating. It cost us
$ 20.00 per person to go out all day and snorkel, visit islands, Bocas is really worth a visit. Try to find PACO, he was a true jem, we were lucky and meet him on our first day and called him also as a water taxi, we booked a few tours with him, great guy.

Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank bora8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milano
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2009

I recently (Aug. 2009) visited the Hotel Angela in Bocas del Toro with my wife and my daughter. It is not a luxury hotel but it really represents the Caribbean Atmosphere. You can reach it just walking few hundred meters from the airport. Hotel Angela is located at a short distance from the center of village that can be reached walking in five minutes. Rooms are simple and clean, with A/C, located in two floors. The restaurant terrace just on the sea is great and here you can enjoy the complimentary brakfast and spend some time for happy hour or for dinner. The restaurant Aphrodite staff is composed of three kind and nice girls. Two of them take care of you in the restaurant while Rachel cooks for you in a great way fishes, Lobsters, Prawns, etc at a very reasonable price. The hotel also has a pier, with a proprietary boat to be used for tours with other hotel guests. Angela tours leave and arrive here and this is very useful. What makes Hotel Angela super is the particular care provided to all guest by the Hotel staff, the receptionist, the ladies of housekeeping and in particular Mr. Claudio, the owner. I’ve never met a so kind men, always available, always friendly. During our stay in Bocas we had one serious problem, independent from hotel organisation. Nevertheless Mr Claudio did his best to overcome the problem and make our holiday in Bocas as nice as possible.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bondOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bocas Town
1.0 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
535 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
416 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Olas
Hotel Olas
#11 of 13 in Bocas Town
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
389 reviews
2.0 mi away
Buccaneer Resort
Buccaneer Resort
#2 of 2 in Carenero Island
125 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Laguna
Hotel Laguna
#9 of 13 in Bocas Town
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Angela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Angela

Property: Hotel Angela
Address: North Avenue, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Angela 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Angela, and its Restaurant Sol and Sombra, calms and enchants with breathtaking views of the beautiful Caribbean. Enjoy swimming from our deck, or just sit and fingertip toetip the cuddly soothing waters, refreshing cooling Caribbean breezes stir memories of Paradise with which we are all familiar. Please come, visit or revisit. You will enjoy as sincerely do we. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Angela Hotel Bocas Town
Hotel Angela Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing