We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant setting, nice folks”
Review of Hotel Angela

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bocas Town
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Angela
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Bocas Town
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Pleasant setting, nice folks”
Reviewed 5 March 2010

The staff at the Hotel Angela won me over when we arrived on a very early flight and they had us moved into our room before most people would be finished breakfast. (I wouldn't expect that on a weekend or if a hotel were 100% full, but plenty of places won't make the effort when they have rooms available.) They were nice & helpful throughout our stay.

The location on the north edge of town was perfect--not loud, but not distant.

The waterfront restaurant, incongruously named the Chocolate Martini, was welcoming and the food was well prepared. The owners made a point of letting us know we were welcome to just hang out for hours with a coffee or soda. (That's not something you would normally want to do, of course, but it was bucketing down rain for awhile, so we didn't want to get out on the water.)

The room was spartan and the walls a bit thin, so you really wouldn't want to hang out there long. But it was clean, the water was hot and the air conditioning was cold.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OtraGringa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    38
    22
    10
    7
See reviews for
12
51
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Shore, MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2010

Our room was no bigger than a walk-in closet and a little dog-eared, but everything worked. Babbett and Mike were great, and we had fun talking with other guests. There's a welcoming, fun atmosphere in the place. It's a real pleasure to come in after a long day of play, drink dollar beers, $3 margaritas, sit under a real thatched roof overlooking the water and get decent food at a reasonable price served by an appreciative staff!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gjstcruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2010

The restaurant at Hotel Angela is incredible. The food was spectacular and the service was incredible. Mickey and Babette, who own the restaurant are great friendly people who we can't wait to visit next year. If you make to the hotel Angela's restaurant you must try Babettes famous Chocolate Cherry Martini which is the best on the entire island. We had a great time. Joey and Carolina

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Triptwin2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2010

I was quite disappointed with my stay at Hotel Angela, which I chose given the promising reviews here, in Lonely Planet, and Bradt's Guide.

Don't stay in Room 9. We saw cockroaches and had a leaky air conditioner that rattled against the balcony door all night. Not worth the $70 pricetag for a balcony that overlooks a construction site, when there are many other wonderful hotels and B&B's in Bocas Town. Management also had no response when I contacted them about this (I thought I'd give them the chance to defend themselves before writing up a bad review!) The hotel was bought over in December, which may explain the disappointing experience compared to the many previous bright reviews.

My personal suggestion is to stay at the Hotel Cala Luna, which is not only a bit cheaper but nicer! Cala Luna is a beautifully crafted house with good wood, AC, and open-air seating areas outside of each room. It is also two blocks from Calle 3 (the main street) which can be very loud. The owner, Alberto, is always around if you need anything and very nice.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank love_2_travel585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
464 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2010

stayed here for several days for a good price. great quiet location on the northside that we walked in and out all day and night. took a tour with the place was fine. breakfasts seemed ok but mike started a restraunt here and we ate a few times and was good for the price. beers are $1 all day long if you wante to sit at the dock and gaze. showers, air was good.beds were fine and the place is secure. only one internet laptop but that was free and enough to check our mails and misc.nice little bar on a boat (the riptide) is a couple places down and was good for breakfast and at night. near hostel and little store.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 January 2010

Good choice in this crazy town! It is in a walking distance from the center/main street, but also a bit away so that it is more quiet there. And - it is even in a walking distance from the airport! Actually it was the first time in our lives that we actually WALKED to the airport from a hotel.
The owner Claudio is very friendly and welcoming. He will try to do everything to make you satisfied. When he learnt that we had to leave very early last morning - before the breakfast time, he even offered his own food. Not that we accepted this kind offer, as food shop is only one block away from the hotel.
There are no computers for guests's use, so do not expect that Internet Center (computer room) in the hotel which you see on the hotel's homepage. Claudio showed his genuine kindness again by offering us to use his personal laptop, and we did, but this is not what you feel comfortable using for more than 10 minutes. However, Internet shops are not far.
The hotel has lovely terrace you can observe starfish from and have complimentary tea/coffee. Breakfasts are very good. You can also get all major tours directly from the hotel and by the same price as in the town - the tour guys will come by boat to pick you up directly from the terrace.
Shower was great - good pressure.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Junglebloom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 January 2010

The hotel and restaurant staff were very friendly and helpful. We had what was referred to as the best room in the hotel (we don't think the one featured on the website is actually for rent). It was overpriced for what it was -- a view over a high roof in a bit of a run down room. The hotel needs a bit of a face lift. However the restaurant on the ocean is pretty great. And it was very quiet at night. However the free internet consisted of a laptop without a t or an e.....

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ramblintravella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bocas Town hotels
1.0 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotelito Del Mar
Hotelito Del Mar
#4 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Olas
Hotel Olas
#9 of 13 in Bocas Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gran Hotel Bahia
Gran Hotel Bahia
#5 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Angela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Angela

Property: Hotel Angela
Address: North Avenue, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Angela 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Angela, and its Restaurant Sol and Sombra, calms and enchants with breathtaking views of the beautiful Caribbean. Enjoy swimming from our deck, or just sit and fingertip toetip the cuddly soothing waters, refreshing cooling Caribbean breezes stir memories of Paradise with which we are all familiar. Please come, visit or revisit. You will enjoy as sincerely do we. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Angela Hotel Bocas Town
Hotel Angela Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing