We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like fleas? Stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Bocas Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2008

In all of Panama, this place has to be the worst. Two flights of stairs up to the room (nicely decorated), down to the restaurant and bar with no service, waking up in the morning covered head to toe with flea bites, walking in a tropical downpour to the "ferry" terminal, etc., etc. Panama is a wonderful country, but Bocas del Toro needs to catch up. Got a short "sorry" from the manager, but no offer of a refund. Stay away from this place!

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank palmspringsCASunlvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wold, Director at Hotel Bocas del Toro, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2008

Feedback at Hotel Bocas del Toro is viewed as an opportunity and not as a cost of doing business. Upon receiving notification at checkout and review of the Customer Comment form, an immediate inspection was made of the room and bedding. No infestation was detected. The hotel is professionally fumigated monthly and the room was fumigated as a precautionary measure. Our guests receive the benefit of the doubt, but we believe the guests, who arrived just before the full moon were not familiar with No.See.Ums . They are 1mm sand flies that live near sandy beaches and warm oceans, endemic to Central America. Because they are so tiny, the bite is not easily noticed, nor painful . It can become very itchy and we advise you do not scratch the bites as it makes them itch longer and they can get infected. Thorough application of repellent in the late afternoon and especially around full moon when they have a fiesta along the water edge will provide ample protection. Unable to detect infestation of flees, the guest was contacted by email and no refund was made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (408)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

285 - 291 of 408 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2008

The hotel is in the main street next to Limbo hotel (who seems very similar to Hotel Bocas) In the same street are the Tropical suites.
Good:
* The hotel is very clean
* In a good zone in Colon Island

Not Good:
*The restaurant is not good, and the service is really bad. They could not make scrambled eggs with oignon because its not in the menu, even if they have eggs and oignon.
*At night the room is noisy because of the bars next to the hotel

If you are looking for scuba diving go to The Buga and contact Diego or Ricardo, they have an excellent service and gives you anywhere, and the price is really good.
The buga is not in the comercial zone, but you go out of the hotel and take left hand for the street and you will find them.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HHHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2008

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We had a room for 3, with an ocean view (well worth the extra $). The room was large enough for us, the beds very comfortable and it was very clean. Bocas Del Toro Hotel also has the best happy hour on the island. The staff were very helpful. We got 4 days of laundry (for 3) done in one day for $5.00!!! How can you go wrong. Snorkeling trips booked through the hotel are not recommended-try Tranparente or Joe Baker.

Stayed: March 2008
1  Thank connimusser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2008

This hotel was awesome and the price was right. You can stay in Bocas town for as little at 8 dollars a night up to a couple of hundred of dollars. We paid $96 for a queen size bed and a spotless room. We started out staying 1 night because we weren't sure of our plans and ended up staying 5! Each morning when we woke up we would ask if they had a room for the night. Since we didn't have reservations and couldn't decided how long we were going to stay, we had to change rooms a few times but the staff moved our belongings and we got to see a couple diff. rooms. My favorite room being #10. The rooms were nicely decorated, always had clean linens, a safe in each room and a 27'' flat screen TV's on the wall to boot! The staff was friendly and accomodating and the owner Carla was almost always present. She runs a tight ship. The hotel had been recently remodeled and the wood work was was beautiful. The location only a block off the busy main st which was nice. We stayed in a few other less expensive places in Bocas which were nice too but this was by far my favorite. Would go back in a heart beat! The only thing I would recommend is including breakfast but at the time of my stay the kitchen was being leased out. I think this was going to change sometime soon though. All in all, my experience was great.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lv557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2008

Just got back from a week in beautiful Bocas Del Toro, and stayed at Hotel Bocas Del Toro. The hotel is on the water, and right in the heart of Bocastown. We had a regular room without a balcony - small, but not as small as I expected. It comfortably fit two people with embarrassingly large suitcases. The bathroom was clean and not cramped. The hotel is built with beautiful natural wood interior, and has a small restaurant and bar.

The staff is very friendly and helpful, the owner was around some too - affable woman from Hawaii. They treat you like guests in their home. The restaurant was good, but probably not the best in the area - the coffee and food at Lily's three doors down was better. But, in the end, it was incredibly convenient, perfectly accomodating, reasonably priced and very comfortable.

Highly recommended.

Stayed: February 2008
1  Thank ScreenNamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2008

Beware of this Hotel!!!!When we arrived at this place,we when on a water taxi trip.Apon completing ride arround the harbor,I needed help in getting back to dry land.This resulted in my pocket being picked,by crew to the tune of 1300.00 dollarsThe thief handed me back my passport,saying I had dropped it while on boat!In my right hand pocket was money,and brand new watch just purchased in Panama City less than 24 hour earlier,As he help me to stand up on dock he had stolen these itemsI notified the tour company of loss they had me report this at a place not connected with police station.I was told this report would be brought to me for signature latter.I was told i refused to sign it....Carla the owner of this Hotel told me that a letter of demando would take many hours to complete,discourging me to persue this action...The next day my girl friend noticed her Dolche Cabana cell phone/charger,expensive translator,document holder,and cash were missing...Over $2700.00 were pilfered by room staff robbers..Carla claimed she had talked with us,which never occored,we talk with a lady at reception who said the police would come,and search our room at 8am.they never showed...There seems to be a certin scheme of things here.There is a plan to shift the blame back to those who were robbed.If you are fool hardy,and go there don't bring anything of value,as it will be taken in a heart beat/beware!!!!

    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank senojdr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wold, director at Hotel Bocas del Toro, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2008

Hotel Bocas del Toro maintains high ethical and professional standards with regard to both guests and employees security and safety. We promptly responded to the guest in a courteous and professional manner. The guest complained of theft by an unlicensed tour boat operator. Sufficient information was provided to enable the guest to make an informed decision. We responded promptly to his complaint of theft by contacting the travel agency in Panama. A bilingual agency representative was sent to assist the guest for the theft, including discrepancies of stolen items, example: He found his “stolen” credit card 24 hours later in his girlfriends’ handbag. The guest did not make a claim nor did he not sign police documents to support his claims.
Hotel Bocas del Toro, the Panama Travel Agency, including the AAA rated USA agency, worked diligently to fairly resolve the complaint. The guest neglected to follow recommended procedures with the police/PTJ. Unfortunately he positioned himself as not having a case. Therefore, the case is closed.
You can reduce your risk of being robbed by taking a few simple precautions.
Always use the safety deposit box.
Take a minimum of cash, and only enough for the outing.
Don't wear expensive jewelry on obvious display.
Don’t travel around at night.
Always lock your hotel door and use door chains when provided.
Valuables, including laptops, should be placed in the safety deposit box or left with reception.
Follow police protocol in the country you are visiting.
Consider travelers insurance.
Travel smart and Travel Safe
Management of Hotel Bocas del Toro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2008

Place was nice. Their fruit smoothies were tasty. Service was good too. Centrally located in Bocas Town.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank SurfingNTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bocas Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
438 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
570 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gran Hotel Bahia
Gran Hotel Bahia
#5 of 13 in Bocas Town
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotelito Del Mar
Hotelito Del Mar
#4 of 13 in Bocas Town
193 reviews
0.2 mi away
Swan's Cay Hotel
Swan's Cay Hotel
#6 of 13 in Bocas Town
160 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Olas
Hotel Olas
#11 of 13 in Bocas Town
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bocas del Toro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bocas del Toro

Address: #2 Calle | No 2 Calle, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Bocas Town, Isla Colon 77777, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bocas Town
#4 Family Hotel in Bocas Town
Price Range: £78 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bocas del Toro 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly upgrade high speed internet along with Hotel Bocas del Toro Restaurant & Bar honored as one of the "Top" Caribbean Bars in the best spots in the world on Conde Nast Traveler's Gold List, ¨Cuisines & Bars, IPAPP. The Hotel consistently receives TripAdvisor's "Certificate of Excellence". We've discovered that understated elegance in our Caribbean Wood Design and superior service are essential. From every vantage point, the ocean & island views inspire us to respond to the elements. 2013 Hotel Bocas del Toro was chosen and featured in the Conde Nast Traveler January issue under ¨Caribbean Secret Islands, The Bliss of Bocas¨, for our commitment to Sustainable Tourism over the last 11 years. Bocas del Toro's oceanfront boutique hotel, restaurant & bar are unique to this island paradise. Eleven perfectly appointed nautically inspired rooms, displaying thirteen different types of exotic Panamanian hardwoods, custom built furnishings, some with ocean view or town balcony rooms. We invite you to join us for a memorable experience at the best sustainable boutique hotel in Bocas del Toro, Panama. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Bocas del Toro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bocas Del Toro Hotel
Del Toro Bocas Town
Hotel Bocas Del Toro Panama - Bocas Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing