We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok Hotel their all about the same here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Bocas Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2008

Bocas Hotel came highy recommended, it was average. Yes the owner greeted us andacted as if she would be very helpful,howeverwe never saw her again. The service was awful and we found ourselves looking for food and drinks with better service. The chicken strips were good homemade I think. But the best food was next door cant remember the name but from the st looking at the hotel it is on the left. DONT DRINL THE WATER ANYWHERE!

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cexycheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (398)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

275 - 281 of 398 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2008

Spent 5 days and had a fantastic stay. The rooms are clean and spacious, if a little pricey compared to others at Bocas. I loved the food, the menu selection and price compared well to the rest of Bocas. The bar is a great place to meet others in the evenings. Carla, the manager, was a great host. The staff was friendly, though service at the restaurant can be slower than you would find in the US, but this is Bocas and a slower pace is the norm. Overall, a great place to stay in Bocas.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jcdiver6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2008

In all of Panama, this place has to be the worst. Two flights of stairs up to the room (nicely decorated), down to the restaurant and bar with no service, waking up in the morning covered head to toe with flea bites, walking in a tropical downpour to the "ferry" terminal, etc., etc. Panama is a wonderful country, but Bocas del Toro needs to catch up. Got a short "sorry" from the manager, but no offer of a refund. Stay away from this place!

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank palmspringsCASunlvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wold, Director at Hotel Bocas del Toro, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2008

Feedback at Hotel Bocas del Toro is viewed as an opportunity and not as a cost of doing business. Upon receiving notification at checkout and review of the Customer Comment form, an immediate inspection was made of the room and bedding. No infestation was detected. The hotel is professionally fumigated monthly and the room was fumigated as a precautionary measure. Our guests receive the benefit of the doubt, but we believe the guests, who arrived just before the full moon were not familiar with No.See.Ums . They are 1mm sand flies that live near sandy beaches and warm oceans, endemic to Central America. Because they are so tiny, the bite is not easily noticed, nor painful . It can become very itchy and we advise you do not scratch the bites as it makes them itch longer and they can get infected. Thorough application of repellent in the late afternoon and especially around full moon when they have a fiesta along the water edge will provide ample protection. Unable to detect infestation of flees, the guest was contacted by email and no refund was made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2008

The hotel is in the main street next to Limbo hotel (who seems very similar to Hotel Bocas) In the same street are the Tropical suites.
Good:
* The hotel is very clean
* In a good zone in Colon Island

Not Good:
*The restaurant is not good, and the service is really bad. They could not make scrambled eggs with oignon because its not in the menu, even if they have eggs and oignon.
*At night the room is noisy because of the bars next to the hotel

If you are looking for scuba diving go to The Buga and contact Diego or Ricardo, they have an excellent service and gives you anywhere, and the price is really good.
The buga is not in the comercial zone, but you go out of the hotel and take left hand for the street and you will find them.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HHHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2008

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We had a room for 3, with an ocean view (well worth the extra $). The room was large enough for us, the beds very comfortable and it was very clean. Bocas Del Toro Hotel also has the best happy hour on the island. The staff were very helpful. We got 4 days of laundry (for 3) done in one day for $5.00!!! How can you go wrong. Snorkeling trips booked through the hotel are not recommended-try Tranparente or Joe Baker.

Stayed: March 2008
1  Thank connimusser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2008

This hotel was awesome and the price was right. You can stay in Bocas town for as little at 8 dollars a night up to a couple of hundred of dollars. We paid $96 for a queen size bed and a spotless room. We started out staying 1 night because we weren't sure of our plans and ended up staying 5! Each morning when we woke up we would ask if they had a room for the night. Since we didn't have reservations and couldn't decided how long we were going to stay, we had to change rooms a few times but the staff moved our belongings and we got to see a couple diff. rooms. My favorite room being #10. The rooms were nicely decorated, always had clean linens, a safe in each room and a 27'' flat screen TV's on the wall to boot! The staff was friendly and accomodating and the owner Carla was almost always present. She runs a tight ship. The hotel had been recently remodeled and the wood work was was beautiful. The location only a block off the busy main st which was nice. We stayed in a few other less expensive places in Bocas which were nice too but this was by far my favorite. Would go back in a heart beat! The only thing I would recommend is including breakfast but at the time of my stay the kitchen was being leased out. I think this was going to change sometime soon though. All in all, my experience was great.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lv557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2008

Just got back from a week in beautiful Bocas Del Toro, and stayed at Hotel Bocas Del Toro. The hotel is on the water, and right in the heart of Bocastown. We had a regular room without a balcony - small, but not as small as I expected. It comfortably fit two people with embarrassingly large suitcases. The bathroom was clean and not cramped. The hotel is built with beautiful natural wood interior, and has a small restaurant and bar.

The staff is very friendly and helpful, the owner was around some too - affable woman from Hawaii. They treat you like guests in their home. The restaurant was good, but probably not the best in the area - the coffee and food at Lily's three doors down was better. But, in the end, it was incredibly convenient, perfectly accomodating, reasonably priced and very comfortable.

Highly recommended.

Stayed: February 2008
1  Thank ScreenNamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bocas Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
428 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
553 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gran Hotel Bahia
Gran Hotel Bahia
#5 of 13 in Bocas Town
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Olas
Hotel Olas
#11 of 13 in Bocas Town
360 reviews
0.2 mi away
Swan's Cay Hotel
Swan's Cay Hotel
#8 of 13 in Bocas Town
151 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotelito Del Mar
Hotelito Del Mar
#4 of 13 in Bocas Town
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bocas del Toro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bocas del Toro

Address: #2 Calle | No 2 Calle, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Bocas Town, Isla Colon 77777, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bocas Town
#4 Family Hotel in Bocas Town
Price Range: £84 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bocas del Toro 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly upgrade high speed internet along with Hotel Bocas del Toro Restaurant & Bar honored as one of the "Top" Caribbean Bars in the best spots in the world on Conde Nast Traveler's Gold List, ¨Cuisines & Bars, IPAPP. The Hotel consistently receives TripAdvisor's "Certificate of Excellence". We've discovered that understated elegance in our Caribbean Wood Design and superior service are essential. From every vantage point, the ocean & island views inspire us to respond to the elements. 2013 Hotel Bocas del Toro was chosen and featured in the Conde Nast Traveler January issue under ¨Caribbean Secret Islands, The Bliss of Bocas¨, for our commitment to Sustainable Tourism over the last 11 years. Bocas del Toro's oceanfront boutique hotel, restaurant & bar are unique to this island paradise. Eleven perfectly appointed nautically inspired rooms, displaying thirteen different types of exotic Panamanian hardwoods, custom built furnishings, some with ocean view or town balcony rooms. We invite you to join us for a memorable experience at the best sustainable boutique hotel in Bocas del Toro, Panama. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Bocas del Toro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bocas Del Toro Hotel
Del Toro Bocas Town
Hotel Bocas Del Toro Panama - Bocas Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing