We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff, clean and great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Bocas Town
Certificate of Excellence
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, clean and great location!”
Reviewed 5 December 2010

We checked in for one night and ended up staying a week. The room was clean and had an American type mattress. (This is not always the case and is very important.) Breakfast was included with the room and the restaurant staff was always friendly and accommodating. We felt it was a great value compared to other places in town. The hotel and restaurant are built over the water and we had a beautiful view of the sunrise every morning. We would definitely stay there again if we are able to return. We can not say enough good things about the friendly staff and the owner. Keep up the great work!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gilligana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    110
    38
    11
    3
See reviews for
49
178
31
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manuel Antonio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2010

What's not to enjoy? A delightful botique hotel where the staff smiles every time you walk by, excellent food/drink, an owner that will go out of her way to help and all of this sitting atop the Pacific dotted with islands as it's backdrop. We snorkeled, island hopped, strolled the streets without a care (day & night), shopped, read books, got massages and on our last day did absoultely nada but relax inside the "outside office". Hated to leave and cannot wait to get back!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seve72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2010

We spent a week at this hotel and enjoyed every minute of it. It sits on the water and you can jump into the water right off the deck for a swim. We had our breakfast on the deck, watching the boats going back and forth. It is a very clean, beautiful hotel, with beautifully decorated rooms overlooking the bay, right in the center of the town, so you can walk everywhere. The owner, Carla, is extremely helpful and nice. She even gave us a ride to the yoga studio when it was raining. Yes, we went to yoga classes every day. Bocas yoga studio, owned by Laura Kay, is a very clean, beautiful, airconditioned place, which is also near by. Laura is a wonderful yoga instructor and her lessons were a highlight of our stay. I would highly recommend the yoga classes if you ever come to Bocas Del Toro.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zaetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2010

We loved our stay at the Hotel Bocas del Toro. It was immaculately clean, delightfully appointed and centrally located. We enjoyed sitting at the open air bar in the morning with coffee (always available) and at cocktail hour. We found a cool breeze over the water for visiting with friends.
WE had a sampling of each meal there-- breakfast, lunch & dinner. Just what we wanted.
Even before we arrived, Carla and her very capable staff were invaluable. They arranged our flights from Panama City to David and advised us about car rental. The staff was extremely knowledgable in the tricks & quirks of island travel. Everything they set up for us worked without a hitch.
We had chosen to drive from David to see some of the countryside. Carla recommended we stop on the way to visit the Ngobe Indian town of Cilico Creek. The town sits right on the main road, but is a walk into another world. We were able to purchase beautiful crafts from the local crafts people. We also learned that on a future visit, we could take a tour of a working cocoa farm at Cilico Creek.
I feel as though I can call the Hotel for just about any question I have about travel in the area. The staff was so knowledgeable and trustworthy. We will go again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EEE_24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2010

I had a wonderful experience here while visiting the island with my family!

Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank ray2592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2010

nice and central, cute rooms, and everything else (service, hospitality, cleanlines) just ok,
after spending one night there I was walking through town and had found nicer and cheaper, felt like a chump.
so overall the hotel is ok but terribly overpriced.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank surfingjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wold, Manager at Hotel Bocas del Toro, responded to this review, 5 September 2010
Hotel Bocas del Toro does not consider our reviewer to be a chump. We continue to appreciate all reviews. We have a unique 11 room boutique hotel which caters to families, professionals, couples and business travelers who enjoy consistent customer service, cleanliness, security with a full service restaurant and bar. Since our guest arrived without advance reservations, he was offered a significant savings including an upgrade, based on availability.

As an enlightened boutique hotel we recognize our hotel may not suit everyone and when a guest expresses budget concerns, etc., Hotel Bocas del Toro readily provides recommendations to an appropriate hotel or hostel, with guests invited back for Happy Hour! Had our guest alerted Reception their budget was $40.00 or less, we would have gladly made a recommendation to an appropriate hotel, as we always do. We have also received guests who stayed at the same hotel our guest ultimately chose, so it all boils down to personal preferences and budget when choosing a hotel.

Yes, you can pay less in Bocas del Toro, but if you have a chance to treat yourself, we would highly recommend Hotel Bocas del Toro! Bienvenido! We look forward to your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bermel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2010

gorgeous small hotel with a nautical theme. all staff were very helpful with everything. it has a great roadside bar (beware panhandlers) and a nice restaraunt with a view of the ocean (go swimming right off the dock). the bar closes early (10pm) and the restaurant was out of a few things while i was there, but the staff was genuinely apologetic, so i simply filled up on panama brand cervezas.
lots of youth hostels on this and surrounding islands, which you'll want to go to for the "nightlife", this hotel is within walking distance from plenty of these and regular bars.
"tour guides" roam the streets, and while they wont rip you off- necessarily- just go straight to the capitan:
take a right out of this hotel, and a small inlet is on your right, just before the police station, and boats with personnel are parked there. i recommend red frog beach, about $10 to get there and $1 entrance fee (if i remember correctly). and remember to bring along a photocopy of your passport everywhere you go in panama. yes, the whole country. i almost got arrested for not having it in the capital.
one last thing, try and find "shelly's taco stand". its about a 15 minute walk to the other side of the park from hotel bocas del toro, down a side street. its a tiny run down restaurant with the best mexican food ive ever had. even while in mexico.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soopercody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bocas Town
0.1 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gran Hotel Bahia
Gran Hotel Bahia
#5 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bocas Paradise Hotel
Bocas Paradise Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bocas Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
3.7 mi away
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & S...
#1 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
4.7 mi away
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge
#5 of 21 in Isla Colon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bocas del Toro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bocas del Toro

Property: Hotel Bocas del Toro
Address: #2 Calle | No 2 Calle, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Bocas Town, Isla Colon 77777, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bocas Town
#4 Family Hotel in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bocas del Toro 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly upgrade high speed internet along with Hotel Bocas del Toro Restaurant & Bar honored as one of the "Top" Caribbean Bars in the best spots in the world on Conde Nast Traveler's Gold List, ¨Cuisines & Bars, IPAPP. The Hotel consistently receives TripAdvisor's "Certificate of Excellence". We've discovered that understated elegance in our Caribbean Wood Design and superior service are essential. From every vantage point, the ocean & island views inspire us to respond to the elements. 2013 Hotel Bocas del Toro was chosen and featured in the Conde Nast Traveler January issue under ¨Caribbean Secret Islands, The Bliss of Bocas¨, for our commitment to Sustainable Tourism over the last 11 years. Bocas del Toro's oceanfront boutique hotel, restaurant & bar are unique to this island paradise. Eleven perfectly appointed nautically inspired rooms, displaying thirteen different types of exotic Panamanian hardwoods, custom built furnishings, some with ocean view or town balcony rooms. We invite you to join us for a memorable experience at the best sustainable boutique hotel in Bocas del Toro, Panama. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel Bocas del Toro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bocas Del Toro Hotel
Del Toro Bocas Town
Hotel Bocas Del Toro Panama - Bocas Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing