We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, very clean and convenient.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel la Terraza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel la Terraza
Ranked #4 of 30 Bocas Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
82 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, very clean and convenient.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

This is a nice hotel with very clean rooms with AC, and a nice pool. It is well situated just a very short walk to the centre of town (from where everywhere else is easily accessible by boat). The staff were extremely friendly and stored our luggage for us on the last day. The pool and terrace are good.

We felt that staying in Bocas was definitely the best choice as everywhere is accessible from the dock or by bike or bus to other parts of the island. However, the nearest nice beach is a 15min bike ride or a short $1 boat ride away. We visited Island Caranero (also recommended by the Lonely Planet) and although there are hotels directly on the beaches, the rest of the island is a slum/rubbish dump and we were glad not to have stayed there.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank JamesTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    33
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
34
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

we stayed here for 3 nights and we thought the rooms were really good value
the rooms were clean and have a nice shower.the staff were friendly especially the guy who was running the place always on hand to help when we didn't know how to turn down ac etc even gave us an early morning knock when we needed to catch an early flight. you can walk to the airport from here too
The great thing about this hotel is the sundeck on the water and also a nice pool to cool down in
we loved having this as we stayed in a hotel further in town but preferred this one also the extra bonus the pool great to come back to relax or have a swim
there is no breakfast here but you can easy walk to places. we loved the position as it was nice and quiet and only 5 min walk to the action
we would stay here again clean and friendly loved the sun deck and pool

Room Tip: choice of standard or deluxe both good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank airmiles1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolfsburg, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

The hotel is very good located: 2 minutes walking distance from the water taxi and direct at the sea. Everyone in the hotel is friendly and helps you with everything for example what you can do around etc. Furthermore the hotel is very clean and has really hot water.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 20Annette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

This is a nice, clean, simple, smallish residencial in Bocas del Toro, let down only by its location in the slightly less smart side of town. The room we had was very clean, comfortable, nicely designed and appointed, with a nice shower room/WC. The fridge was a good size for groceries from the supermarket (just around the corner), which was necessary as there's no restaurant or snack bar attached, and we didn't want to dine out. The terrace and pool area was nice, although I didn't try the pool. There is a choice of excursions, mostly involving travel by boat. We went on two, one of which was to Red Frog Beach - definitely worth doing!

Residencial la Terraza isn't suitable for families and wouldn't suit an extended stay, but it's a pleasant inclusion in a varied itinerary that includes Bocas del Toro.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Balvennie63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

The hotel is tidy very maintained. It is strategically located at the end of the main street. It is close enough to everything you need: supermarkets, caffes and restaurants, a club, boat station and the airport, yet far enough from from noisy places for good relaxation and sleep when you need it.
The pool was nice, since there are no good beaches walking distance from the town, and the deck over the sea provides not only a pleasant place to catch a tan, but also a convenient pick up and drop off station for water taxi and tours to other islands.
At the hotel you have free access to basic cooking utensils, such as microwave, and the host was pleasant enough to answer our questions about the islands.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Delta-Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toluca Lake, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

I had the deluxe room. The beds were firm, but comfortable. The air conditioning worked better than great, and housekeeping was fantastic. I had a mini fridge and a safe in my room.

The manager kept the property in pristine condition. There was an outdoor kitchen where guests were able to make their own coffee and use the microwave. The deck over the ocean had the most incredible views, and the pool was clean at all times. It was a 5 minute walk to the center of town.

I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I didn't see the regular rooms, but my deluxe room was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

Getting there - no need to get a cab like we did on arrival. It's walking distance from the airport.

It is a small hotel (all rooms are on the ground floor), with a private pool, man-made 'beach' with a white decking area in front of it by the water.

Rooms - We stayed in one of the deluxe rooms. $100 a night plus 10% tax. Very clean. Simply furnished and decorated but everything you need, including hairdryer for the girls in the bathroom. TV only had Spanish TV but who wants to watch TV in Bocas?

Sleep - Comfy large bed, aircon. Close the windows. We had the window open the first couple of nights and the early morning flight always woke me up, as did the tropical rain! I'm sure the aircraft noise would affect all hotels as Bocas Town is really small and the airport is close by to virtually all accomodation.

Room Safe - Each room comes with a safe. Mine was broken. The owner allowed me to put my stuff in her private safe. They replaced my safe in a day or two from memory. It would have been better (and more convenient) had they replaced it immediately as they had the replacement in the office but it was not the end of the world.

Location - Excellent. It is just off Calle 1 in the most north-eastern part of Bocas. It is perfectly placed. Quiet and in the middle. Most people consider the bars and restaurants south of Terraza the main draws but there are some excellent venues close by to the north and west. Staying here you get the best of both worlds. Even a walk to the most southern part wouldn't take much longer than 15 minutes or so.

Bathroom - Good size. Good shower with hot water.

Staff - Incredibly friendly. Very welcoming and spoke English.

Painting the deck - On the day we checked out we could still use the facilities. We chose to spend the day by the pool and decking as we hadn't used it at all during our stay. Unfortunately, the maintenance guy was painting the deck to take advantage of a completely dry day. I understand why it needed to be done but the fumes were making me feel ill. In the end we left and spent the rest of the afternoon at the nearby RipTide bar and restuarant. A very good decision in more ways than one!

Would i stay there again? Yes, definitely.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter-Dawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bocas Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bocas Paradise Hotel
Bocas Paradise Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bocas Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Gran Hotel Bahia
Gran Hotel Bahia
#5 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.2 mi away
Posada Isla Chica
Posada Isla Chica
#6 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel la Terraza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel la Terraza

Property: Hotel la Terraza
Address: Calle 1ra. y Avenida Norte, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bocas Town
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel la Terraza 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel la Terraza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Terraza Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing