We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW ~ You Must !”
Review of Karmaway - CLOSED

Karmaway
Price range: US$5 - US$15
Cuisines: Contemporary, International, Bar, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner
Description: Karmaway is committed to serving great food with a conscience. Our food is locally sourced, from sustainable local organic farms. We pride ourselves on using the best ingredients to create contemporary dishes that merge Asian, Caribbean, and other flavors. Our food tastes great and is good for both your body and your soul. We look forward to serving you.
George Town, Cayman Islands
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“WOW ~ You Must !”
Reviewed 9 May 2013

amazing place with people who know what there doing. I can't say enough nice things about the food & service. Hope this place stays around.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank TropicalOutside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    1
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Gourmet Taste & Experience”
Reviewed 10 January 2013

The Kiwi and Suriname chef duo have instilled a great culinary option into Bocas. After having some average food in town (which is what we expected), we were surprised by the great taste, presentation and selected options at this new venue. The coconut/banana soup was great as was the veggie appetizer selection. The shrimp in the capellini were cooked perfectly (the Caribbean in general has a habit of over cooking shrimp and lobster making them tough to chew). If it wasn't our last night in town, we would have eaten there once again.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a great resturant!”
Reviewed 7 January 2013 via mobile

Truly an original concept. The food surpassed our wildest dreams. We are talking gourmet - worthy of a Michelin Recommendation. Plus it's an Eco friendly place that makes sense but without turning hippy.

We were served locally produced food, wine from Chile and filtered tap water! The way it should be when in Panama. When you are in Italy you can have the Pellegrino.

We give Karmaway a big applauds

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Soren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A delightful find in Bocas Town”
Reviewed 31 December 2012

There is something for everyone at the new Karmaway restaurant. The short menu on the blackboard spanned from vegan and vegetarian to seafood and steak.

Our party of four ordered four starters and four mains – all very good to excellent; nothing missed the marked. The coconut-banana soup with ginger and red curry was novel and delicious. The tataki was standout, as was the calamari salad with Thai flavours.

The winelist was short: two whites and two reds. However, we were happy with the Chilean cabernet sauvignon that we ordered and with its price point.

Unfortunately, there were no desserts on the menu on the night we dined at Karmaway. However, the Bailey’s frappuccino made a reasonable substitute.

Service was friendly and informal. We didn’t feel rushed or neglected, and we had everything we needed.

The restaurant is covered but open to the street. My worry about bug bites was unfounded. The restaurant is on Ave. G next to the hotel Casa Max. There are assorted hostels and bars and restaurants on the street – we enjoyed people watching.

Dinner for four with some pre-prandial drinks, wine, and two courses each cost ~$130 with tip.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bocas Del Toro, Panama
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Karmic Experience”
Reviewed 24 December 2012

Karmaway has been around only a couple of months, my husband and I have dined there at least once a week since the opening. From the very first time to the last time we ate there, the food has been amazing, super fresh, lovely fusion of flavors. Delightful on the tongue every time. The service is impeccable and the 2 men running it are super attentive without being overbearing, super informative also. We have brought all our friends here and they have all agreed.
In our opinion, this is the best new restaurant that Bocas town has to offer bar none!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lioness5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Karmaway also viewed

Bocas Town, Isla Colon
Bocas Town, Isla Colon
 
Bocas Town, Isla Colon
Bocas Town, Isla Colon
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing