We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing”
other travellers have booked this property
Great area for group conversations and readings pre sunset
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Great area for group conversations and readings pre sunset
The Yellow house The Blue House
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
Great area for group conversations and readings pre sunset
The Yellow house
The Blue House
Privacy and tranquility
Over the water veranda, calm waters
Equiped veranda
Open and ventilated house
a
Suite_Yellow
Suite_Blue
Wake up in this amazing view.
Bedroom_Yellow
Private suite veranda
Glass bottom floor - Blue house
Blue house
Bottom glass floor amazing sea life
Over the water hammock
Living room, TV/DVD, books, games, WiFi
Complete kitchen
Bathroom
Barbecue area
Sunshine
Moonlight
Fishing trip with incredible mountain views
Local reef - steps from the house
Rich sea life at local reef
Bottlenose Dolphin visiting us - in front of the house
Peace, relaxing
Close to beautiful spots
Choose a place in the sun - Isla Colon
Empty beach - Isla Colon
Star Fish beach - Isla Colon
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Bocas del Toro Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Nan W
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Most Disappointing”
Reviewed 14 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
9
people found this review helpful

I have never posted a less than favorable review but feel compelled to do so. This was our second trip to Bocas and we specifically chose this property because it was unique. The location of the house and the exterior space were wonderful. What I didn’t realize was that this house lacked amenities that I think are expected even in a two star hotel. Poli, the owner, was very kind and I hope that this review might help her manage her property in a different way. We were handed 3 pages of rules and regulations within the first hour of our arrival to sign. I have never had to sign a ‘rules and regulations’ form before, no matter where I have traveled and stayed. Most was concerning with the dollar amount you would be ‘fined’ if you lost a towel, got sun tan lotion on a bath towel etc. I can understand if the towels were of high quality – but they were cardboard and old as were all of the linens that were in less than perfect condition. Another issue is that there are NO fans in the house. The first night the house was so hot and we suggested to Poli that she might want to consider room fans so that there could be some relief from the oppressive heat. Poli offers free taxi service to and from Bocas Town during certain hours. If you want to go at other times there is a very high fee for the service. At the end of 3 days we were told that we owed an additional $150.00. The house is sparsely decorated and some of the outdoor chairs were taped with duct tape where they must be damaged or broken. Unfortunately, we would not return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The rules and regulations - very insulting
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2015
Hello reader,
We are very disappointed and sad with this review, and the way this guest feels about our house and service, which has very good reviews. This guest with 3 more guests stayed for 3 nights, and during this time no word/complain was said, It was just the opposite, they were very happy, with smiley faces and satisfied with the house, service and attention received, Poli saw them during the stay and they kept saying good things about the house and their stay. Unfortunately, some people are using reviews in a totally diferent goal which they are supposed to be used, describing unreal facts and complaining only after leaving the property.
The document of rules/regulation mentioned, is a contract between two parts and it exists in many rentals, hotels and rental websites. Our document consideres the reality of our property and its enviroment: most sentences refer to security items like access/exit from the sea, not use of flammable materials in a house made of wood, use of life jackets during boat rides, person to contact in case of emergency 24 hours (very important in a place like Bocas), where to waste toilet paper and garbage being a house on the water, schedule of check in/out, silence time for the welfare of guests, better use of solar and water equipment and damage police. This document is sent to the guest at the time of booking and he/she has a copy of it and sign the printed copy on site. These guests who booked with us agreed to the contract before and during the stay. We do not see a problem in it and the fact one guest is displeased is unfortunate, but we have it so future guests know what to expect in a different place like ours and above all because we value the safety.
We have good bath towels bought in other cities as its not found at Bocas town and in case someone lose or stain it, its normal to pay for it, as well as wine glasses broken or any utensil included in the damage police. All this said, a contract agreed between two parts is something very good and fair.
The bedrooms have ceiling fans, so the information the guest sent is not true, the pictures are available to show the rooms of the house and the beautiful ocean style deco. This guest left the fans on all day, even when leaving the house, which is not good as we waste energy from batteries in vain.
We do not understand how a person uses this review channel to try to ruin the hard work we do in this house, on the water and with constant maintenance. We have excellent reviews, and guests were happy during their stay and most of them told us will keep memories for life. The owners personally manage the house with joy and being always available for guests who desire to communicate with them.
We offer with the daily a free/sheduled transfer. Also we have as extra service for a fee, transfer to our dock in Bocas town during the day and for dinner, we do not make profit from this service, but we sure know it can be very comfortable not having to look for this service in town. These guests asked for few extra transfers during the 3 days they were here, they agreed with the fee (lower or the same than other sevices in Bocas town) and after having been informed of the amount by Poli in person and by email, and agreed to it, unfortunately the guests did not pay the full amount. It seemed extremely unkind and unfair, but we did not want to create a case by contacting a local authority, as the guests had a flight to take early in the morning. One thing this review is right, it helps us to visualize some new situations we may face in the future and gives us more experience about how to manage extra services we have for guests confort.
We honestly dont know what some people expect from a small, simple and rustic island with great nature like Bocas del Toro and from a property in the environment like ours, if people look for 4/5 stars place they will not find in Bocas, even in the local resorts.
We are available to questions in order to help future guests to choose the best and most suitable option for them.
Gracias,
Poli, Lyo and staff
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermine H
Panama City, Panama
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 12 August 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We spend 3 nights in this amazing house and are planning to go again. The location is beautiful, the service excellent. Very clean and spacious house with good wifi and we could even take our dog.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2015
Hola,
Thank you for your review.
Hope you return soon :)
Poli & Lyo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elam_paul
Carmichael, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An Unbelievable Experience”
Reviewed 16 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I just returned from an 11 night stay in the Blue House, and my only regret is that it wasn't a longer visit. The over the water views were breathtaking - sunsets to beautiful to describe, dolphin swimming in the distance, towering thunderstorms over the horizon - truly an amazing location. The house itself was very nice, with a great kitchen, and nice amenities. And for those concerned with no air-conditioning - just enjoy and live the tropical life. My advice - lots of bug spray and sunblock - a small price to pay for such an incredible experience.

So here are some highlights that stand out as I reflect back:

The ocean - Just from the deck of the house we could see rays, fish of every size and color, chorals, so many types of sponges. But the true jewel was being in the 85 degree water. Snorkeling in back of the house rivaled any diving I did in the region. Not only the above mentioned ocean live, but we also saw lobster, huge crabs, squid, and believe it or not - Sea Horses - right behind the house in the choral - UNREAL! At night the ocean came alive with bioluminescence - to the point that it seemed there were candles on the water. It was unbelievable.

The down time - hand line fishing off the deck. Other than the beans, rice and fresh fruit we bought in town, our diet consisted of the fish we caught from the deck. We went native and lived off the land/sea. It was amazing. I even snorkeled down the coast a bit and picked lobster from less than 25 feet of water several days and grilled them up fresh. Delicious.

The owner - although Polli was on holiday during our stay, she stayed in contact to make sure we were doing well, which was a very nice touch. Who we did get to know well was Lyo, who is just an amazing man. He was helpful, courteous, absolutely determined to make sure we felt at home. We ended up spending quite a bit of time with him, which turned out to be one of the highlights of my trip. I am proud to say that I consider him a friend.

Overall - Just an amazing stay in a beautiful home. My suggestion is to do trips with Be Nice, snorkel as much as you can, bring a dive light because nighttime underwater is amazing, lots of bug spray. Go to town for short stays, but spend as much time in this paradise as you can. We can't wait to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The best snorkeling on the island was feet away.
Liked least: The bugs were a bother, but it is the jungle afterall.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jun 2015
Hello!
Gracias por tus comentarios!
We are very happy you enjoyed a lot your staying with your wife. You have done a lot of things and have seen all the amazing things we have in our piece of paradise. The sea horses were an incredible surprise and will be always remembered :) :)
Poli is sorry she couldnt meet you, but hopes you return soon.
Good job with your fishing!!! you did as a local, eat sea food caught by yourself is a great feeling, isnt it?
The weather in Bocas is similar all around the year, there is more breeze in an over the water house than in town and for those hours when the sun is hotter, you will have the option to just jump into the clear, clean and refreshing water.
Lyo already misses you and hope to see you soon manta ray friend.
Lyo & Poli
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pixel61
Boquete, Panama
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay in the blue house.”
Reviewed 31 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

My husband and I and our 2 friends spend a wonderful weekend in the blue house and couldn't have asked for a better experience. At first I was worried that we had gone too far from the town of Bocas but it turned out to be just far enough. We had a lovely time and were well cared for by our host, including a delicious lobster dinner prepared when we didn't feel like going into town.

The house is very comfortable for two couples, having 2 bathrooms is perfect. The surrounding water and beautiful coral made for excellent snorkeling. Lyo and the boat Captain saw to our every need.

Could not ask for a more relaxing or beautiful location. Thank you for your hospitality and sharing your home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, swimming and coral.
Liked least: Not as much privacy as we would like.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2015
Hola!
Thank you very much for your review.
We are proud you enjoyed the house and had a great experience.
Hope you return to Bocas :)
Best wishes,
Poli & Lyo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Salmon, Washington
Reviewed 23 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
15 Jun 2015
Hello family,
Thank you for your review and for stayed with us.
The house and soroundings are perfect for childreen. To be able to see all the sea animals, pelicans and birds so close is an amazing feeling.
Best wishes,
Poli & Lyo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Neverdull...
North Bend, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A fantasy location and experience”
Reviewed 17 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This location surpassed my expectations in many ways. Waking up and going to sleep to waves around the house, wild thunder and lightening storms, snorkeling off the deck in pristine waters, and the glass window in the living room floor to view fish were amazing.
I was sad to leave after only 4 nights there. Leo and Poli were gracious hosts, very helpful in many ways, always available to answer questions and assist us. I can't wait to go back except this time, stay much longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: not having screens on the windows
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2015
Hola,
Thank you for your review.
You really experienced such a pleasant weather with the rain, sun and the thunders.
Hope you return to Bocas and Paraiso Escondido.
Hasta pronto.
Poli & Lyo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ktwalker1...
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing trip”
Reviewed 6 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We came to Bocas del Toro on our honeymoon, and we couldn't have picked a better place to stay. The house is as beautiful in person as it appears in the photos. The furniture is comfortable and everything in the house is very functional. The water around the house is crystal clear, and it's awesome to swim around the house and see the fish swimming with you.

The owners go out of the way to make the trip as easy as possible. Poli stays in regular contact via email and helps to figure out the details of making plans and getting around during the trip. It is very nice that the owners provide a daily water shuttle to town and also offer other transfers to town at the market rate. To take a water taxi to or from the house costs approximately $30 each way (except for the transfers offered by the owners).

We did two boat tours with Be Nice Nomade, the company that Poli recommended. They were fantastic and the boats will pick you up and drop you off at the house, which is a huge perk.

We also rented bikes one day and rode from Bocas Town to Playa Bluff and went to a great bar.

Every day was a new adventure. I was blown away by all of the beautiful and different settings to explore in Bocas (beaches, jungle, etc.) This was a fantastic trip.

If I had one suggestion, it would be for the owners to have a floor or table fan for the bedroom at night because it can get warm if there's no breeze.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2015
Hello!

Thank you very much for your review and for chossing our house to your honeymoon. We know that will be a memory for all your life and ours.
Hope you return in the future.
Thank you,
Poli & Lyo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing