We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great choice for a stay in Bocas!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bocas Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bocas Inn
Ranked #5 of 30 Bocas Town B&B and Inns
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great choice for a stay in Bocas!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

My wife and I stayed at Bocas Inn while in Bocas Del Toro for our honeymoon. The staff was friendly, the hotel was beatiful and we couldn't have felt more comfortable. We had one of the standard rooms, and the side door opened up to a balcony overlooking the water with some comfortable chairs and hammocks. The daughter of the manager also couldn't have been sweeter and we really enjoyed some competitive rounds of 'Go Fish' with her!! The food was also delicious, including breakfast every day and a great caribbean dinner!

The hotel is just a few yards from the town festivities, but is nice and quiet if you're just trying to relax. We highly recommend Bocas Inn to other visitors to Bocas Del Toro.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    21
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
11
33
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
157 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

My wife and I were finally on a trip without kids after three years and we loved our stay in Bocas Inn.
We stayed at the hotel as part of a 4 day package tour we organized with Ancon Expedition and we loved the overall trip and Bocas Inn. Ancon organized 4 days packed of activities to maximize our experience, given the short time we had. We loved every minute of it, it was super-organized, safe, reliable and we saw awesome places and met wonderful local people.
The hotel has a very charming caribbean style with hardwood floors and great decks with beautiful views on the water. We had one of the room facing the upstairs deck and we would just walk out of our room to sit on lounge chairs overlooking the ocean and neighborhood Islands. The dinner was served at sunset with a beatiful view on the downstairs deck. The food was simple but very fresh and tasty, based on rice, vegetable and fish.
The staff is very helpful and committed to ensuring we had a good stay.
Ancon Expedition and the hotel organized our daily boat excursions and we also loved the trips they planned for us. Livingston, our boat captain, showed us beautiful sights, taking us to great lunch spots and sharing a lot about the local culture (he lives in the nearby Island in a local village and his primary language is Guari-Guari, a caribbean dialect based on English and Spanish).
Bocas Town has a very mixed offer, in town there are low-end (if not trashy) hostels next door to nicer establishment, and then there are exclusive (and expensive) resorts out of town on private beaches. As a result, the town can be noisy with early twnties surfers having fun and can be dirty/littered.
I think Bocas Inn caters squarely to the middle-upper end of the clientele. It is not a very pretentious hotel but it is very charming and comfortable.
The hotel is set at the outskirts of town and from the moment you cross the gate you walk in a nicely manicured tropical garden that immediately creates a way differnt ambience than the town.
The only cons, which I think is common to any hotel in town, is that it can be noisy at times. We were in Bocas during Argentinians Spring Break and the cheaper hotel next door was full of youngsters playing drinking games on their deck until late at night.
Nothing that a pair of earplugs or air conditioning fan set on high, can't cover though, so overall this didn't spoil the vacation. The good thing was that they were out or sleeping in the mornings or dinnertime, when we were around the hotel, so we enjoyed our quiet at the times important to us.

A great stay, I am looking forward to coming back sometimes soon.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sea_Man_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

I stayed at Bocas Inn for 4 nights! It was absolutely fantastic! The small Lodge (I think only 9 rooms) is located on the main island /township on Isla Colon and therefore in short walking distance to nice restaurants and shops. Due to its location outside the main street within a palm tree garden, it offered a perfectly tranquil atmosphere. Right at the Ocean.
I was lucky to get the sea view room, which offered great views over the bay! The room was spotless and clean, and I was totally happy about it! The rooms were cleaned daily by the lovely housekeeping lady.
There were lounge chairs and hammocks all over the place and made it a great place to relax and chill out.

With regards to the service: BIG thanks to the Manager Hercilia and her great team. The food & service was excellent.
Breakfast was plentiful and I was asked on arrival what my favorite dish /food was and the first night, one of the 2 chefs came up with a great seafood dish, exactly how I loved it.
There´s a small bar, too that opens at night, so that guests can have a drink or two while watching the sun going down.

Hercilia can also organize day trips with a little boat & captain to surrounding islands, national park and remote beaches. She arranges everything for you. Had a great time and felt in good hands during my entire stay.
Can only recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarita Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

This is a great find. We were planning on staying 2 nights in Bocas del Toro, but instead stayed 7 nights and scratched the rest of the holiday plans as we fell in love with the Bocas Inn. The inn's location is unique. Right on the water front with a constant breeze running through it and a lush tropical garden. Rooms are spacious, beds are comfortable and the hammocks on the deck are awesome. The buffet breakfast is tasty and varied with local fruits, eggs, cheeses and cereal. The host will arrange day tours and recommend restaurants for dinner with a great friendly smile (but make sure you eat in at least one night to taste Orlando's delicious fish or octopus).
Highly recommended for singles, couples and families.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sportero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

We stayed here for 3 days and 2 nights as part of Ancon Expeditions Bocas del Toro Adventure. This place was fantastic! We ended up being the only guests; so having the place to ourselves didn't hurt. The staff were great and the rooms were nice and clean and air conditioned. We had the majority of our meals here as part of our tour and were beyond pleased with the quality of the food provided. The staff had a large container of filtered water and we were able to fill up as much as we wanted.

I would highly recommend the Bocas Inn for anyone traveling to Bocas.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rachellevine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver CO
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2011

We stayed 3 nights with a tour group from our local nature center as part of a trip with Ancon Expeditions. The Bocas Inn, from the water, looks a little ragged like most of these stilted buildings, but from the moment we stepped out of the water taxi, we were impressed. Staff was the best part of the place - Urusillia, the manager, had the best service of anyone we met in Panama - from greeting, to solving problems, even helping iron out a passport issue when delivering us to the airport. Orlando has a very sunny personality and other staff were great. Breakfasts were the best we had on the trip.

If you're looking for a QUIET place, this is not for you - one room overlooks the street with constant beeping taxis, the others overlook the water but are immediately next door to the Surf and Sport Hostel and the folks there are up to the wee hours every night - but the in-wall airconditioners or a set of earplugs drown out the sound just fine. However, sitting on the deck was great, the surfers aren't up so quiet mornings, and only 1 block from the main strip and restaurant areas - safe. There appears to a security person on the grounds at all time. Hot showers, great tours, Livingstone (boat driver) was great. Recommend trip to bird island if tropicbirds are nesting; starfish beach and snorkeling just about anywhere. Salt Creek Village tour was very well done, led by Salino and great wildlife sightings and welcome. Did NOT feel touristy at all - its a true small village making advantage of amazing resources that they know well. Rooms clean and nice, and the bar and deck are great places sunrise to sunset!

Bocas town was EXPENSIVE. Quotes for water taxi to a beach ranged $18 - 30, driving taxi to the nearest beach was still $18. Found a place a block away that rents bikes for $2/hour and quick and safe ride under 25 mins to gorgeous Flatrock beach. Riptide Bar OK, Reef Restaurant was nice, Pirate bar nice. For comparison, in panama city, took a taxi 25 mins from Amador to Bella Vista and was only $12 one way, $6 return. Had a fancy dinner at La Posta in downtown Panama City (in denver would be over $100 meal) for the cost of a lunch plate in Bocas area.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skot L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Bocas Inn - we booked a oceanfront room for USD 100 which was large and spacious with access directly onto the balcony which overlooks the sea and is equipped with hammocks and rocking chairs. Other reviews mentioned that sharing this deck was an issue but we were lucky and for two nights had the hotel to ourselves (which felt like it was our own house!) and on the other night we got to know the other hotel guests and ended up dining with them. The breakfasts are made to order and very good with exceptionally friendly staff. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a mid-high range hotel in Bocas with ocean front balcony - this place is good value.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vavs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bocas Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bocas Paradise Hotel
Bocas Paradise Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bocas Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gran Hotel Bahia
Gran Hotel Bahia
#5 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.7 mi away
Panama's Paradise Saigoncito
Panama's Paradise Saigoncito
#2 of 41 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bocas Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bocas Inn

Property: Bocas Inn
Address: Bocas Town, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bocas Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Bocas Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bocas Hotel Bocas Town
Bocas Inn Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing