We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Service, fun place”
Review of Bocas Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bocas Inn
Ranked #6 of 30 Bocas Town B&B and Inns
Denver CO
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Service, fun place”
Reviewed 29 January 2011

We stayed 3 nights with a tour group from our local nature center as part of a trip with Ancon Expeditions. The Bocas Inn, from the water, looks a little ragged like most of these stilted buildings, but from the moment we stepped out of the water taxi, we were impressed. Staff was the best part of the place - Urusillia, the manager, had the best service of anyone we met in Panama - from greeting, to solving problems, even helping iron out a passport issue when delivering us to the airport. Orlando has a very sunny personality and other staff were great. Breakfasts were the best we had on the trip.

If you're looking for a QUIET place, this is not for you - one room overlooks the street with constant beeping taxis, the others overlook the water but are immediately next door to the Surf and Sport Hostel and the folks there are up to the wee hours every night - but the in-wall airconditioners or a set of earplugs drown out the sound just fine. However, sitting on the deck was great, the surfers aren't up so quiet mornings, and only 1 block from the main strip and restaurant areas - safe. There appears to a security person on the grounds at all time. Hot showers, great tours, Livingstone (boat driver) was great. Recommend trip to bird island if tropicbirds are nesting; starfish beach and snorkeling just about anywhere. Salt Creek Village tour was very well done, led by Salino and great wildlife sightings and welcome. Did NOT feel touristy at all - its a true small village making advantage of amazing resources that they know well. Rooms clean and nice, and the bar and deck are great places sunrise to sunset!

Bocas town was EXPENSIVE. Quotes for water taxi to a beach ranged $18 - 30, driving taxi to the nearest beach was still $18. Found a place a block away that rents bikes for $2/hour and quick and safe ride under 25 mins to gorgeous Flatrock beach. Riptide Bar OK, Reef Restaurant was nice, Pirate bar nice. For comparison, in panama city, took a taxi 25 mins from Amador to Bella Vista and was only $12 one way, $6 return. Had a fancy dinner at La Posta in downtown Panama City (in denver would be over $100 meal) for the cost of a lunch plate in Bocas area.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skot L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    21
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
11
34
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Bocas Inn - we booked a oceanfront room for USD 100 which was large and spacious with access directly onto the balcony which overlooks the sea and is equipped with hammocks and rocking chairs. Other reviews mentioned that sharing this deck was an issue but we were lucky and for two nights had the hotel to ourselves (which felt like it was our own house!) and on the other night we got to know the other hotel guests and ended up dining with them. The breakfasts are made to order and very good with exceptionally friendly staff. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a mid-high range hotel in Bocas with ocean front balcony - this place is good value.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vavs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2010

This is a charming small hotel with a vibrant tropical garden on the street side and a communal porch with spectacular views on the harbor side. There are two rooms upstairs that open on to a communal water-side balcony with easy chairs and hammocks - a great place to watch island life. The rooms are air-condtioned, which is a great relief after being in the sun and humidity all day. The "hot" water is tepid, but that is all you need in a tropical climate. There is no TV in the room, but the view makes up for the lack. Also, there is no free Wi-Fi as advertised, but there are several Internet cafes within walking distance.

Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Reads_a_lot_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2010

I booked this hotel with Ancon Expeditions of Panama, phone: [--] or Email: [--] for two nights in February at US$95 per night and it was a great retreat! Right on the water front, open dining deck, comfortable hammocks on the top balcony (pretty much private!) right in front of our room that was simple but nice and comfortable with AC and private bathroom. The Bocas Inn has great Caribbean food prepared by their chef Rolando and the hotel´s vicinity to restaurants and shops in the town is simply convenient! The staff was super friendly and helped us even with transfers to the airport (that is actually just 3 minutes by taxi from the hotel. You can literally walk 10 minutes if you don´t have too many bags). We did not book any tours in advance, but the Bocas Inn offers a freasonable tours to the neighbour islands such as Bastimentos National Park (we visited some Ngobe Bugle indigenous people there!), Red Frog Beach, Boca del Drago, Starfish Bay, snorkeling excursions or dolphin bay, so we were not bored at all! Great place to stay and great tour company to book with. We will come back mid year and definitely considering the Bocas Inn as our lodging place again!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ecualanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2009

I had a lovely stay at this hotel. The rooms are very basic - but clean and cute. I had a great room with an ocean view and hammocks. I happened to be the only guest during the weekend of my stay. I was impressed that the staff went out of their way to make sure I had what I needed - and they seemed to keep an eye out for me (as a female solo traveler, this was welcome). I was also impressed that the cook showed up both mornings to cook breakfast - just for me!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChicagoQOF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2009

We were originally booked to stay two nights, but ended up checking out of our second hotel (Playa Tortuga) and returned to Bocas Inn for two more nights!! We LOVED every moment here. We had a seaview room and spent afternoons enjoying the hammocks / chairs and mornings downstairs with Orlando, the cook, chatting. Herci, the woman that runs Bocas Inn was like a second mother to us. She took wonderful care of us and organized a water taxi to take us to various beaches two different days. Some of the pictures posted online don't do this place justice. It is clean & simple and very comfortable. The others staying there were very kind as well. No riff raff. Herci speaks English really well, so it made communicating much easier. We cannot wait for our friends to stay here and hopefully go back one day to see Herci and enjoy Bocas!!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennyc345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2009

The Bocas Inn has a lovely garden setting with large decks on the water. The place is simple and clean with a lot of polished wood and fresh tropical flowers throughout. The staff is friendly but not very service-oriented. The breakfast that was included was sufficient but not great. There were two primary drawbacks: there is no internet access and there was a lot of late night noise from the surfers on the balcony of the $15/night hotel next door. Try to get a room on the west side of the hotel and overlooking the water. The best part is the common balconys where I could have stayed all afternoon and read my book in a hammock.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jerrod1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bocas Town
0.3 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bocas Paradise Hotel
Bocas Paradise Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bocas Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gran Hotel Bahia
Gran Hotel Bahia
#5 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
4.2 mi away
Palmar Beach Lodge
Palmar Beach Lodge
#2 of 20 in Isla Bastimentos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bocas Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bocas Inn

Property: Bocas Inn
Address: Bocas Town, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bocas Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bocas Hotel Bocas Town
Bocas Inn Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing