We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home, away from Home !!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tropical Suites Hotel
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Bocas Town
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home, away from Home !!!!”
Reviewed 23 June 2008

I just returned from a Two (2) week stay at the Tropical Suites in Bocas del Toro, Panama on business.

I must say that I have been to a lot of boutique Hotels around the world but from the minute I walked in, I felt like I was "home". The room was clean (dust and bug free - VERY IMPORTANT). The bed was very comfortable, free wireless internet, blow dryers double sink and jacuzzi in the large bathroom, full kitchen with granite counter tops. They even provide a continental breakfast every morning at Lilis right next door which is fantastic. You sit right on the water and enjoy seeing the fishing boats going out for the days catch. Laundry room is also available in the evenings

Petri and Hans own and manage the property. They were there whenever and where ever needed. The staff is very friendly.. Best of all, you are within walking distance to everything in Bocas .

So what I can I say... Your stay at Tropical Suites will like visiting family and be a lifetime of relaxation for you and your family whether you are on a business trip or just relaxation.

Book your next trip to Bocas at Tropical Suites.. YOU WONT BE SORRY.


http://www.tropical-suites.com/

  • Liked — Felt like Home
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Fran R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    127
    24
    8
    5
See reviews for
96
263
37
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2008

http://www.tropical-suites.com

I stayed at this hotel and the owners are friendly as well as the other staff. Hans (owner) picked me up from the airport and took us to the hotel. I booked a day before I arrived by ringing from Panama city after a recomendation from friends.

The have a decking at the back that you could use for relaxing and swimming.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed June 2004, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mokay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, Ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2008

Having spent eight days on the island, the Tropical Suites is clearly the best hotel in Bocas. The rooms are well appointed, comfortable and roomy. My bathroom was spacious with double sinks and a nice big jacuzzi type bathtub. Unfortunately when I booked, the room I wanted was only available for four days. Upon relocating to a hotel down the street for the final four days it became obvious that the Tropical Suites is the finest in town.

The owners, Hans and Petri are friendly and most helpful. I did not have a room booked in Panama City for my return trip and Petri was pleased to take the time to call around and she got me a very nice room in Panama City. I highly recommend the Tropical suites.

  • Liked — Clean, modern, great service.
  • Disliked — I had to leave too soon
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ErikOrangeCounty_Ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salt spring island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2008

When I first walked by the Tropical Suites, I thought, "Not this place. It has to be noisy." After spending a week on a quiet island, my friend and I wanted to spend some time directly appreciating the charms of Bocas town but didn't want to return to the place we had stayed in before as it required an expensive taxi ride over bumpy roads whenever we wanted to do town things. This time we went in and spoke to the owners who showed us around the hotel. When we discovered that the doors and windows were sound proof we made a booking for the day we came back into town. It was so much fun to walk out of our most comfortable suite and be in the bustle of the town. It was the perfect choice that brought an alternative view to life in this fascinating part of Panama. The wonderful staff made our stay here memorable.

  • Liked — The location and the suite
  • Disliked — There was only one bed apart from a small couch that converted to a floor level sleeping palette.
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank kokum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2008

We spent 4 nights at this charming hotel and it simply made our stay in Bocas that more enjoyable. The couple who run this hotel go above and beyond in customer satisfaction (i.e. arrange tours, places to shop/eat, things to avoid). They really invested a lot into this property and it shows.

Pro's: Sound-proof windows, allergen-free beddings, dust-free room, quality mattress, wheelchair friendly, location & free internet (that actually works!)

Con's: Not spending all my nights here. (Unfortunately we spent a night at La Coralina. Our tired noisy room had lumpy mattresses, dust, and bed bugs. The place is run by an owner who's out to make a fast buck, not satisfying customers.)

I highly recommend Tropical Suites. You will be delighted with your stay as much as I was. AAA++++!!!!!!

  • Liked — Convenience to town, activities, cleanliness, customer service
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank gyutrust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minneapolis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2008

I have stayed at the Tropical Suites many times over the past two years and it is always a perfect experience. This is by far the cleanest, most comfortable and best run hotel in town. I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Liked — clean, well run
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jeffwilwerdi8ng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoria b.c
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2008

Hola mis amigos and amigas!

Wow! What a great hotel situated right on the water with your very own dock! Beautiful sunrises from your balconey, swim in 85 degree water right out front. The owners of the hotel are from Holland and run a very clean, well-designed boutique hotel. The staff are very friendly and more than happy to give you directions to their favourite restaurants. Enjoy the jacuzzi bathtubs and the large suites. I fell in love with Isla Colon in Bocas del Toro. My stay at the Tropical Suites was a wonderful experience and I will be visiting there again this year. I've got to return to this piece of paradise! Make sure you visit all the islands which is easily done by way of boat taxi that you can catch right out front of the hotel.

Enjoy,
Norman Eden

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank stormin8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bocas Town
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gran Hotel Bahia
Gran Hotel Bahia
#5 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & S...
#1 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
4.7 mi away
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge
#5 of 21 in Isla Colon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
1.5 mi away
Playa Tortuga Hotel & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Suites Hotel

Property: Tropical Suites Hotel
Address: First Street, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bocas Town
#3 Family Hotel in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropical Suites Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical Suites is a modern oceanfront hotel located in the heart of Bocas del Toro. Resting on a tranquil Caribbean shoreline, the property is close to many over the water restaurants, shops and attractions. The hotel's comfortable and spacious suites feature a panoramic view of the Caribbean waters or​ ​the island's ​tropical ​landscape.​ Amenities include private balconies, air conditioning, 24 hour front desk and water access from​ ​the hotel's private dock​. Nearby attractions include beaches, snorkeling, dolphin watching, zip-lining, diving and surfing. Tours and activities may be arranged through the hotel's front reception. Guests may choose to include breakfast with their room rate. The property is a 15 minute walk or short taxi ride from the Bocas Town island airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tropical Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Hotel Bocas Town
Tropical Suites Hotel Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing