We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tropical Suites - Best in Bocas town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tropical Suites Hotel
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Bocas Town
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tropical Suites - Best in Bocas town”
Reviewed 11 May 2009

If you want to stay in Bocas town (as opposed to somewhere more secluded), then Tropical Suites is the best place for you. Location is great, rooms are modern with great balconies, and the hotel staff are all friendly and helpful. It's a shame that there's no pool, but very few hotels in town have one (none of the ones right on the sea have a pool) and so this is not really a drawback. Will definitely stay there again if I return to Bocas town!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danllondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    366
    131
    25
    8
    5
See reviews for
98
273
37
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, D.C.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2009

Had 2 adjacent rooms - my wife, son and I in one and my somewhat older parents and daughter in the other. Although perhaps lacking some of the bohemian charm of the town, after a hot day of exploring, boat rides and beaches, a great place to come back to. Very well located - near everything in town but away from most noise of main road. Recommend the ocean-front rooms.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelin_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Rica
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2009

Although the price seemed high at first when we compared it to the surrounding hotels, after viewing a few of the other hotels (which ranged around $110 US) there was no comparison--the others were dark and dungey by comparison. Balcony, tv, spacious rooms, newness of the hotel, etc Tropical Suites won hands down. The breakfast which was included was great--lots of choice and tasted superb.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamCostaRica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, VA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2009

wife and I stayed there for 2 nights in early March...rooms are neat and clean and views from ocean view are great....owners and staff are friendly and willing to help....internet service was spotty....much-touted bocas del drago beach was huge disappointment, especially after 45 minute bumpy trip to get there...sea level was so high that there was really very little beach...no need to go there...tropical market (not related and located about 3 blocks away) is excellent restaurant...Note that if you stay in town there are really no places in this hotel or any others we saw to lay out in the sun...you have to travel to get to a beach.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akbadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2009

The stay at the hotel was fantastic. The room, kitchenette and toilet were very clean. The receptionists could all speak English well and were very helpful and informative with regards the activities on the island. We had a seafront room and the view was fantastic. Apart from the beautiful waters, you could also appreciate the vibrant colours of the buildings on bocas town and isla carenero. It was great surfing the internet on the free hotel WIFI while enjoying the views (WIFI was down on the second day of our visit though). Location is ideal, with great restaurants barely a few feet away on either the right or left of the hotel. The hotel is literally a couple of minutes walk away from frommers' suggested restaurants tour operators. The only disappointing thing given the prices of the room, was the lack of basic toiletries. Two thin bars of soap were provided but there was no shampoo or conditioner, neither was there tissue paper in the room. I had to resort to using toilet paper. So remember to pack your toiletries if you're staying here, if not, be prepared to purchase some from the supermarkets nearby.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allyphant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laren, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2009

The best place to stay in Bocas is Tropical Suites.
Spacious rooms, clean and kind and helpful staff. Tropical Suites is ideally situated in the centre of Bocas Town and at the waterfront at the same time.
It has been our experience that not many hotels in Panama match Tropical Suites standard. Excellent.

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
Thank tnr0epers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2009

We chose the Tropical Suites because of the consistent reviews on TripAdvisor, and as usual they were right on the money! It's clean, has a great location, and the suites make a comfortable home away from home. While the hotel does lack that Carribean funk and character, there is plenty of that around to make up for it.

The front desk staff were just fabulous - so helpful and kind, we really were amazed and grateful. Their recommendations were always right on the money! Definitely spend the extra money on the ocean view suites. Coffee in the morning and happy hour in the evening taking in that view was a very nice way to start and end the day.

  • Liked — Location, View, Front Desk Staff
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank al9249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bocas Town
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
416 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
389 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gran Hotel Bahia
Gran Hotel Bahia
#5 of 13 in Bocas Town
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Olas
Hotel Olas
#11 of 13 in Bocas Town
349 reviews
3.7 mi away
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & S...
#1 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
502 reviews
4.7 mi away
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge
#4 of 20 in Isla Colon
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Suites Hotel

Property: Tropical Suites Hotel
Address: First Street, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bocas Town
#3 Family Hotel in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropical Suites Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical Suites is a modern oceanfront hotel located in the heart of Bocas del Toro. Resting on a tranquil Caribbean shoreline, the property is close to many over the water restaurants, shops and attractions. The hotel's comfortable and spacious suites feature a panoramic view of the Caribbean waters or​ ​the island's ​tropical ​landscape.​ Amenities include private balconies, air conditioning, 24 hour front desk and water access from​ ​the hotel's private dock​. Nearby attractions include beaches, snorkeling, dolphin watching, zip-lining, diving and surfing. Tours and activities may be arranged through the hotel's front reception. Guests may choose to include breakfast with their room rate. The property is a 15 minute walk or short taxi ride from the Bocas Town island airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Tropical Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Hotel Bocas Town
Tropical Suites Hotel Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing