We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BEST PLACE IN TOWN !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tropical Suites Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tropical Suites Hotel
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Bocas Town
Certificate of Excellence
Cayman Islands
1 review
“BEST PLACE IN TOWN !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2009

Even if Your on a budget, If You don't stay hear You will wish You did. We stayed at a couple other places.... Trust me. Bocas is a great little town because you can walk or take a water taxi to most everything. Tropical Suites is in the perfect spot to enjoy all the action or just relax on your private balcony. Its run by a nice dutch couple and they keep the place spotless. We stayed on the street side on night and the rest of our stay on the water side. The water side is worth the extra money to be able to relax and watch the boats go by. The town itself is very safe, fun and a good value. I will for sure be back next year, and suite #8 will be the Room for me and my family.

Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank PasterPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    349
    123
    24
    8
    5
See reviews for
92
261
36
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2009

My best friend and I stayed at the Tropical Suites July '09. The problem we had with this property is misrepresentation. It advertises that the rooms sleep up to four people, however, this property only offers rooms with ONE queen size bed, and as a second bed they offer a FOAM sofa bed, that's not even really a sofa bed. It is foam covered in pleather, in the shape of a love seat, that folds out onto the floor as a "bed". Who wants to sleep on that when you are paying over $150 a night? You might as well pack an air mattress and a pump with you and stay somewhere cheaper if this is what you're paying for! We asked if they had any rooms with two beds and we were told NO. This is overpriced and not worth what they charge! There are other hotels in Bocas that would be a lot less for basically the same thing; a basic room, with kitchenette, and A/C. For this reason, I wouldn't recommend this hotel.

Good points: The hotel is clean, has security guard afterhours and in a good location, has it's own dock and is also close to the public docks. However, the town is small enough that being close to the dock or having a dock at your hotel isn't that big of a deal..it's a 5-10 minute walk to the public dock at the most. We had an island view room, with a balcony, AC and a kitchenette with fridge but no microwave..that would have been a plus. The staff was very pleasant and assisted when asked.

I am not a picky, hard to please or high maintance person or traveler, and have been to third world/developing countries before and understand what to expect or not expect. But, misleading people to believe they are getting a room with two beds, or even a real sofa bed would have been fine, but a foam pleather fake sofa bed that folds out on the floor? c'mon....

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank talycooff2cdaworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tropicalsuites, Owner Manager at Tropical Suites Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2009
OPPORTUNITY TO PLEASE !

We need to address two things here. The case is build around the sofa and the price.
Lately nobody is paying the full price, including our guest.We agreed on a discount.

The concept of our hotel is providing a comfortable place to stay for 2 guests and most guests are real happy with that arrangement. But we need to listen to all our guests. Not only the happy ones. We thought about it and we will bring in a separate bed for divided sleeping. That will be in addition to the existing Loveseat/Fold out bedding.

It would have been better if you had talked while you were here. That way we could have addressed your concern. We hope to have an opportunity to make it up you again. The extra sofa bed is only suitable for up to 2 children or maximum 1 adult and the fold out arrangement was chosen for the safety concerns of many parents with their children.
The design of the Loveseat was carefully chosen to be hypo allergenic and easy to clean. Moreover it’s meant to be an extra only. The Queen Size bed is happily used by couples.

We truly hope to see you again soon. I must say, we really build a case around the sofa.
Ultimately we just want happy clients and here we may have an opportunity to please.

Kind regards,

Hans and Petri Ensink

Tropical Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2009

This hotel is just beautiful....it's very clean....modern and safe!

I stayed at tropical suites for 28 days and would stay there again....again and again!!!!!!! The staff and owners are wonderful !!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tropical suites is the best hotel in Bocas Del Toro!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ltrain2473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2009

Went in feburary the supposed "dry season" and it rained for five days straight and ended up stuck because the road over the mountain (which is an incredible drive) washed out. Normally a situation like this can ruin a vacation but in this case it actually improved it due to the owners and their staff. They went out of their way to make me comfortable and make sure that i had a good time. Everyone at the hotel is friendly and trust worthy the type of people that you would enjoy having into your own home. Extremely highly reccomended and the only place i will stay when i return.

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank t_texas13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2009

If you want to stay in Bocas town (as opposed to somewhere more secluded), then Tropical Suites is the best place for you. Location is great, rooms are modern with great balconies, and the hotel staff are all friendly and helpful. It's a shame that there's no pool, but very few hotels in town have one (none of the ones right on the sea have a pool) and so this is not really a drawback. Will definitely stay there again if I return to Bocas town!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danllondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2009

Had 2 adjacent rooms - my wife, son and I in one and my somewhat older parents and daughter in the other. Although perhaps lacking some of the bohemian charm of the town, after a hot day of exploring, boat rides and beaches, a great place to come back to. Very well located - near everything in town but away from most noise of main road. Recommend the ocean-front rooms.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelin_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2009

Although the price seemed high at first when we compared it to the surrounding hotels, after viewing a few of the other hotels (which ranged around $110 US) there was no comparison--the others were dark and dungey by comparison. Balcony, tv, spacious rooms, newness of the hotel, etc Tropical Suites won hands down. The breakfast which was included was great--lots of choice and tasted superb.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamCostaRica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bocas Town
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gran Hotel Bahia
Gran Hotel Bahia
#5 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bocas Paradise Hotel
Bocas Paradise Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bocas Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
3.7 mi away
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & S...
#1 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
4.8 mi away
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge
#5 of 22 in Isla Colon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Suites Hotel

Property: Tropical Suites Hotel
Address: First Street, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bocas Town
#3 Family Hotel in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropical Suites Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical Suites is a modern oceanfront hotel located in the heart of Bocas del Toro. Resting on a tranquil Caribbean shoreline, the property is close to many over the water restaurants, shops and attractions. The hotel's comfortable and spacious suites feature a panoramic view of the Caribbean waters or​ ​the island's ​tropical ​landscape.​ Amenities include private balconies, air conditioning, 24 hour front desk and water access from​ ​the hotel's private dock​. Nearby attractions include beaches, snorkeling, dolphin watching, zip-lining, diving and surfing. Tours and activities may be arranged through the hotel's front reception. Guests may choose to include breakfast with their room rate. The property is a 15 minute walk or short taxi ride from the Bocas Town island airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Tropical Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Hotel Bocas Town
Tropical Suites Hotel Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing