We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel in Nifty Bocas”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tropical Suites Hotel
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Bocas Town
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
1,031 reviews
402 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,159 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel in Nifty Bocas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2010

This is the best place to stay in Bocas if you can afford it ($175 for a double with no sea view and $225 for sea view. Price drops to $129 for island view and $159 ocean view if you book in advance). For that you are right in the city center on the water. You get a huge room complete with Jacuzzi, cable TV, fast WIFI, kitchen with stove and large balcony. The place is spotless. One day I even saw a maid washing down the walls in the corridor with bleach. You get breakfast vouchers every morning for Lili´s café next door on the water. (Bring a book as service is charming but slow and they make everything fresh from scratch). You can also order room service from Lili´s for a modest surcharge. They also have an efficient same day laundry service (bag for $5).

There are two minor shortcomings. The lights are very dim so it is impossible to read at night. However, you can ask for a desk light to remedy this. Also, the curtains are very thin and let the light in. The place is about six years old and has just been taken over by new American managers from Dallas. They plan on doing some renovations (though the place has been so lovingly maintained it looks new) soon which will no doubt fix these issues.

Communications to book were efficient. You are supposed to be met at the airport. I had to call them however to get a pick up in a communal taxi. The airport is only a few minutes walk from town so if you don´t have luggage you can walk the distance easily. If you are arriving by boat from Almirante, the two boat taxi places are only a few steps away from the hotel. The shuttle to Cost Rico (Puerto Viejo) also leaves a few steps away.

I stayed here five nights because I had heard Bocas was the best place in Panama to dive. Actually, the diving is so so. In March, the diving was murky due to run off from the islands with very few reefs. Best time to dive is September when the waters are glassy flat. The waters are shallow but have some interesting brittle reef in which rays, squid, large crab, chubb, lobster, stonefish hide. They also have lionfish (infestations from the few who got out of their aquariums in Florida during a hurricane and reeking havoc in the Caribbean, so they try and control them by killing them with spearguns, but these voracious feeders breed quickly and have no enemies in Panamanian waters so are gobbling everything in site). I would change into my wetsuit in the morning and simply walk a few steps to the Starfleet dive shop next door for my dive. Sleep, eat, dive. Heaven.

Bocas is a great place to chill, island hop and check out the great food from the profusion of restaurants to satisfy any palette. It has an end of the world feel about it which is charming. And Tropical Suites is an excellent place to stay and unwind while in Bocas. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poleinahole1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    354
    124
    24
    8
    5
See reviews for
94
261
37
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2010

You won't find a better place...trust me! We checked out just about every hotel in town before deciding on Paradise Suites....what sold us was the staff and how big and clean the rooms were...not to mention the free Wi-Fi and free breakfast....ice cold rooms...onsite laundry (1 Bag for 5bucks) done the same day and folded and placed in your room. Incredible location on the water, walking distance to everything...you won't be dissapointed!!! The staff was amazing and willing to drop everything to accommadate....
Thank you Chip and Jamie for a great time!!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrTravelMan805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2010

When we arrive, the honor know my name and was so nice.
the attention & services, the room and the view of the town.. awesome!!!
the rooms have a nice bathroom, fresh, kitchen, plasma and big bed!.
the breakfast was in the restaurant in the next door, Lili´s Cafe and all coordinate with the hotel.
I feel so sad because i left, for sure go again, 100%.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melpan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2010

We made plans at the last minute to get out of the states to celebrate my 50th birthday someplace tropical and unique. I booked this hotel based primarily on reviews from this site and I was not disappointed!

We arrived in Bocas town early in the morning on our Air Panama TurboProp flight from Panama City and walked a few blocks to the hotel from the airport. We wanted to see if we could at least drop our bags off and then return several hours later to check-in. Instead we were greeted by the owner (a lovely Dutch woman) who wished me a happy birthday and graciously allowed us to check-in early, then personally escorted us to our suite. She took the time to show us how to use the remote control for the air conditioner (which worked great by the way) and to recommend a nearby restaurant for dinner (Lemongrass Cafe).

The room and overall property was very clean and well kept ( I had a hunch it would be when I discovered that the hotel was owned by a Dutch couple). The entire staff was very friendly and professional.

I've been around the world and have been to some pretty "dicey" places. Having never traveled to Bocas before and not really knowing what to expect, I wanted to stay somewhere that felt safe and secure (I was traveling with my girlfriend), and this property definitely fit the bill, with 24 hour front desk and security staff as well as a safe in the room.

This property is also in an excellent location. Smack dab in the middle of Bocas town and built on concrete pylons out over the very clear, fish filled water. You can walk straight out the front door of this hotel, hang a left and you are just a few steps away from a nice meal or a cold and refreshing drink at one of the local watering holes. If you decide to hang a right out of the hotel you are just a few steps away from the Pangas (water taxis) that you can hire for a few dollars to take you to where ever it is that you want to go. There is also a nice dock in back of the hotel that you can lay on to catch a little sun, or if you like to play... a water slide that will shoot you straight into the sea.

One last thing... the owner was thoughtful enough to deliver a bottle of champaign and a happy birthday note to our room while we were out exploring the Island. We enjoyed the bubbly that night as we sat on our sea view balcony and watched the sun set over the water taxis buzzing around and ferrying other travelers to their destinations!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBonDrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2009

Perfect location. Nice spacious room. However the sofabed is not that comfortable for the 3rd person. The service is very friendly and attentive. If you're not travelling on budget, i would certainly go for it!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pleekong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2009

Tropical Suites is one of the cleanest hotels I have stayed in anywhere in the world. I was a "road warrior" for many years staying only in 5 star hotels. I'm allergic to mold and mildew so hotels in the tropics are often a challenge but not Tropical Suites. We arrived strangers and left friends. The location couldn't be more convenient. If you're interested in sightseeing the other islands, the staff will arrange convenient transportation for you at an affordable price. Liked the fact that they collect rainwater for their water needs. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank centuryclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2009

Tropical Suites is an excellent hotel because of its cleanliness, extremely friendly service, and convenient location in Bocas Town. We really liked that wireless internet is provided in every room for free and that breakfast is included at the restaurant next door, which is also very pleasant. If you're interested in sightseeing the other islands, the staff will arrange convenient transportation for you at an affordable price. Also, an environmentally friendly aspect is that they collect rainwater for their water needs. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaceksz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bocas Town
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gran Hotel Bahia
Gran Hotel Bahia
#5 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & S...
#1 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
4.7 mi away
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge
#5 of 21 in Isla Colon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
1.5 mi away
Playa Tortuga Hotel & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Suites Hotel

Property: Tropical Suites Hotel
Address: First Street, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bocas Town
#3 Family Hotel in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropical Suites Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical Suites is a modern oceanfront hotel located in the heart of Bocas del Toro. Resting on a tranquil Caribbean shoreline, the property is close to many over the water restaurants, shops and attractions. The hotel's comfortable and spacious suites feature a panoramic view of the Caribbean waters or​ ​the island's ​tropical ​landscape.​ Amenities include private balconies, air conditioning, 24 hour front desk and water access from​ ​the hotel's private dock​. Nearby attractions include beaches, snorkeling, dolphin watching, zip-lining, diving and surfing. Tours and activities may be arranged through the hotel's front reception. Guests may choose to include breakfast with their room rate. The property is a 15 minute walk or short taxi ride from the Bocas Town island airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Tropical Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Hotel Bocas Town
Tropical Suites Hotel Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing