We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“...An amazing place in Bocas...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tropical Suites Hotel
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Bocas Town
Certificate of Excellence
Tel aviv
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“...An amazing place in Bocas...”
Reviewed 21 September 2010

Upon our arrival, we met an amazing and caring staff ...
and also the owner Chip and his wife ...
The hotel is located in the center .. 2 minutes from the dock of the ferry, supermarkets, bars and all the action.
The room is spacious and containing a Jacuzzi and a bathroom,
a kitchen with all necessary tools for preparing food (anyone interested) and the view is spectacular. In our opinion, the most luxurious hotel on the main island of Colon.
Highly recommended for couples who want to indulge in one hand and have personal attention on the other.
We shall return....

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Platzmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    366
    131
    25
    8
    5
See reviews for
98
273
37
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2010

What an amazing place! We went to Bocas and staying in a $20 a night room in the centre of town but it was really noisy and after a month backpacking we felt like treating ourselves - a massive room with a view over the ocean, king sized bed and a jacuzzi bath. The owners and staff were lovely and really helpful - can´t recommend it enough and we wouldn´t have left if we´d had the choice!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lissa40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2010

My husband and I just got married down in Bocas del Toro and my family stayed at Tropical Suites. I had a chance to go inside the hotel and see the rooms and I found it to be a great place! The hotel is located very central to everything in town which makes it easy to take day trips and go out to eat and to bars at night. The rooms are amazing, very clean, huge comfortable beds, as well as big balconies overlooking the water. The management is incredibly helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKErbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Tahoe (California), California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2010

I just arrived home from 3 nights in Bocas and can’t stop thinking about my beautiful balcony view at Tropical Suites. It was my first time to Bocas, a very belated anniversary celebration, and I knew that I wanted to be at a waterfront hotel that would be a step up/luxurious option for me and my husband. In other words, if I am going to be at the beach all day long and traveling through the country of Panama, I’d like my accommodations to be nice :) Tropical Suites really met and/or exceeded my expectations in almost every category. The hotel location is perfect, right in town but the building is over the Ocean. We booked the Romance Package and were really happy with our experience.

Service - The staff is extremely friendly and seem to just do little things that really can make your stay wonderful. They knew our names (never really experienced that before) and helped with arranging all of our activities during the day. As we arrived from Boquete by air, they picked us up at the airport (free of charge) and shuttled us to the hotel. The owners were waiting to meet us and take us to our room. From catering our requests for food delivery to arranging airlines tickets we were really pleased with the personalized attention!
Rooms - I really liked the style of the condo/suites. We stayed on the second floor in the corner suite. The small kitchen area was nice to have, although we didn't use it as much as we could have (mainly to store drinks and snacks). We were mesmerized by the view of the beach from our room and our balcony. The room was really nice and the beds and sheets were sooo comfortable - It made it easy to sleep late! The light switches in the room were somewhat inconvenient (behind the bed), but that is a small detail and the hotel overall has all the conveniences you would want and a very high standard of cleanliness.

Food – The hotel itself does not have a restaurant on the property (though from what I understand they may have one next year?). However, breakfast is served next door at Lilli’s Restaurant. The breakfast menu is large and the food is really good, especially if you like hot sauce (ask for killing man sauce). Fresh tropical fruit and homemade bread and freshly squeezed OJ is served with every offering.

Yes, you can pay less in Bocas, but if you have a chance to treat yourself, I would highly recommend Tropical Suites.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SavannahMechelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanton, California
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2010

My friends and i had a great time at this hotel. The staff is second to none. they bent over backwards for us. The rooms are the best in town when it comes to bang for your buck. Ya you can save 10 dollars down the way, but why, after you stay here you will never leave. i promise!!!!

Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank PC550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2010

We went to Bocas for our honeymoon and we stayed in a Seaview suite. Although the town is not much, Tropical Suites surprised us with its cleanliness and delicious breakfasts.
If you are looking for a nice and confortable place to rest after a day going from one beach to another, this is the place.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matias82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tybee Island, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2010

We spent a month at Tropical Suites, so I hardly know where to begin... First of all, we were greeted at the airport in Bocas, by the smiling face of Cesar from Tropical Suites, and brought directly to the hotel, which for first time visitors to Isla Colon, was wonderfully welcoming and reassuring. The hotel itself, without question, is the most substantial facility, and offers the best amenities in Bocas Town. Tropical Suites is built right over the Caribbean Sea, as are many of the local establishments, but this hotel has a "solidity" and quiet that is offered no where else in Bocas. Though the hotel is located in the central part of town, when you close the doors to the balcony for a good nights sleep, peace and quiet is what you get. Having said that quiet reigns in the hotel, you could not ask for a better location because everything you could want in town is within walking distance.
Since we were in the hotel for such an extended stay, we left feeling like close friends of the whole staff. This is a definite advantage to staying in a smaller hotel as opposed to a large resort. Jamie and Chip, the owners, are outgoing, friendly, and accommodating, as is their entire staff starting at the reception desk, and finishing with housekeeping. Also very helpful for those of us with only the most rudimentary grasp of the Spanish language, is that the hotel has a quite a number of people on the staff that are bilingual. Though Tropical Suites already has wonderfully large rooms with kitchenettes, and large bathrooms with Jacuzzi tubs, they have plans for many more upgrades that were just starting as we left. We saw the sample of the new handmade, custom beds that were to be installed in all of the suites, as well as new pillow top mattresses, linen, towels, native artwork, window coverings, and microwaves. We can hardly wait to go back and see the finished result!
The hotel made a great home base for us to go out exploring the rest of Isla Colon and all of the wonderful restaurants of Bocas. Besides the great breakfasts at Lili's right next door, that is included with your stay at the hotel, there is such a wide assortment of all types of cuisine both in Bocas and the surrounding islands. El Pecado and The Bamboo are just down the street, Gauri Gauri and Ninth Degree are a must as well, and Bibi's on Carenero for ceviche are just a few of our favorites
Island hopping and snorkeling are as close as the multitude of water taxis just a little down the street from the hotel. We enjoyed checking out all of the wonderful beaches both on Isla Colon and all of the many other islands, and walking and exploring the stores and shops in Bocas. Finally, sitting on our Balcony at Tropical Suites with something cold to drink and a good book, or my husband's favorite, just people watching from the balcony.
Four weeks initially seemed like such a long time to stay in one place, but we enjoyed ourselves so much that the time just flew by, and it was time to leave before we knew it. We so look forward to returning next year to such an island paradise!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tybeeite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bocas Town
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
416 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
389 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gran Hotel Bahia
Gran Hotel Bahia
#5 of 13 in Bocas Town
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Olas
Hotel Olas
#11 of 13 in Bocas Town
348 reviews
3.7 mi away
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & S...
#1 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
501 reviews
4.7 mi away
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge
#4 of 20 in Isla Colon
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Suites Hotel

Property: Tropical Suites Hotel
Address: First Street, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bocas Town
#3 Family Hotel in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropical Suites Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical Suites is a modern oceanfront hotel located in the heart of Bocas del Toro. Resting on a tranquil Caribbean shoreline, the property is close to many over the water restaurants, shops and attractions. The hotel's comfortable and spacious suites feature a panoramic view of the Caribbean waters or​ ​the island's ​tropical ​landscape.​ Amenities include private balconies, air conditioning, 24 hour front desk and water access from​ ​the hotel's private dock​. Nearby attractions include beaches, snorkeling, dolphin watching, zip-lining, diving and surfing. Tours and activities may be arranged through the hotel's front reception. Guests may choose to include breakfast with their room rate. The property is a 15 minute walk or short taxi ride from the Bocas Town island airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Tropical Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Hotel Bocas Town
Tropical Suites Hotel Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing