We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay in Bocas del Toro” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bahia Del Sol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bahia Del Sol
Ranked #3 of 30 Bocas Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Bocas del Toro”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

We spent one fantastic night at Bahia del Sol (in the master room of Casa Rosada, which is an adjacent building to Bahia del Sol). Jack and Lee were really helpful in every regard with our last minute booking. The room was spotless, with a hammock, deck chairs and a stunning view. Jack's breakfast was great. Lee helped to organise a great day trip out to see the sights of Bocas del Toro. We also enjoyed the fact that the hotel is a bit out of town (only a 15 minute walk, so not too far). It gave us a chance to see the real neighbourhood of Bocas town. We hope to return one day for a second visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    62
    19
    6
    7
See reviews for
24
165
30
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Sure,when you first get a cab from the airport you see some delapidated areas but the people are extremely friendly and you quickly see the beauty especially if you go on one of the tours that Jack can organise.They are great value and you are out all day seeing many beautiful sites.On our tour we saw dolphins, went to Red frog beach (and saw a couple of the little beauties too) saw many starfish and went snorkelling in two fantastic locations and the amount of fish we saw was incredible. Jack and Lee are charming and extremely helpful hosts and Jacks breakfasts are a real treat. If we are ever in this part of the world again we would definitely stay at Bahia Del Sol.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andyandjean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

My wife and I spent only 2 nights at Jack and Lee's B&B. We wish we had stayed there longer. The place gives you a feeling of home with great home-made breakfast and a caring atmosphere.

Jack and Lee sort of adopt every person that walks in through the door (and their staff members).

Other than that, the room was big and comfortable (we were in the one with a balcony to the back yard) and everything is clean.
The room did not have AC but the fans and natural breeze did the trick.

Saigon bay is a small bay in the edge of Bocas town which means it takes about 10-15 minutes to walk to the center of town, but it doesn't matter since you will get in to a carribean mood so you won't mind walking (taxis are also a possibility, making the trip only 3-5 minutes long)

Room Tip: try to book the room with a view to the bay - it's worth paying the extra buck
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hausman-il
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

My husband and I when to Bahia Del Sol & Koko Resort. It's our home away from home. As soon as you pass the door, Lee welcome you with a big smile bring you to your room or Cabin . Jack & Lee make sure everybody is comfortable and recommand you the best place to eat or the best activities to do. They take care us as familly or old friend will do. At our first visit we spend with friends we rent the master suite, huge room with a big comfortable bed, great jacuzzi and amazing view over the bay. The other time my husbad and I rent a cabin (koko resort), I would like to live in one this cabin ! Just great. Jack breakfast are very good is blueberry pancake are the best ! Always with plenty of fruits. Jack set up tour for us, call taxi, he will do everything possible to make your vacation inforgettable. If one day we have a B&B we would like to do the same as Jack & Lee, they are amazing hosts. Thank you, we will be back !

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Perlitita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

I am not sure where to start regarding what a wonderful experience this was. First off, read the information on their web site. If you want a swanky, all inclusive feel do not go. If you want a real slice of island life this is a must. The rooms are nice, nothing fancy but we did not go to Bahia del Sol to stay in our room. Each day started with a wonderful breakfast; as Jack and Lee serve, you sit around the counter and plan your day. And each day Jack had more in store for us. The best part is that he has vetted all the people and tours he sets you up with. He makes it easy and seamless. He calls the cab or the boat or whatever you need. A good example of what good people they are is this: Our last day we went to Star Fish Beach. We were flying out at 5:00 and left our luggage at Bahia del Sol. While snorkeling at the beach my husband lost all of our cash. Yes, you heard me correctly. When we returned to pick up our luggage I told Jack. Our plan was to stop at the ATM to get money to pay the cab driver who waited for us. Jack told me not to worry, if the ATM was out of money, he told us to tell Ivan, the cab driver, that Jack would cover it. Have you ever had that type of service at a hotel? They made it so comfortable that by the time we left I felt like we were leaving friends. I am homesick already.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights in January 2013. Our experience was soured by the owners who, we can safely say, are the least friendly hotel owners we have ever met who went out of their way to make us feel uncomfortable and unwelcome. Jack repeatedly made snide comments about vegetarianism (I am one) and took this as a personal insult. His wife, whose name we forget, was just cranky and moody. The room was not cleaned once in 3 days and the bed was too small and uncomfortable.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Zedward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bosstone, Owner at Bahia Del Sol, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
How sad you think we are miserable. Most guests love us and love Jacks humor and the experience we offer here. Lee Jacks wife is a wonderful person as well who lives to help out her guests. We clean the rooms daily but because of water shortage on the island sometimes do not wash sheets daily unless requested. Its a conservation issue. Sorry Jacks joke offended you its all in good fun here at Bahia Del Sol.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013 via mobile

My husband and I had a wonderful experience staying at Bahia del Sol in the Bahia Sol Master. With a completely unabstructed view of Saigon Bay, this room is a great place to relax after a long day on the island. Lee and Jack are wonderful hosts!! Lee was really helpful in helping us make plans as soon as we arrived so we didn't have to waste time. And DO NOT MISS Jack's breakfast in the morning. They are a great time to get to know your hosts as well as chatting it up with the other's staying at the BnB. It's a decent walk (maybe a mile?) to the main part of town, but Lee or Jack can call a cab for about $1 per person to get you there. If you like to walk its really a lovely stroll and you really get a sense of the great community they have on the island. The people are extremely friendly and don't be surprised is a local one bike swings by to ask if you need help finding your way.

Will we stay here again if we come back?! Without a doubt!!

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jesslyons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bocas Town
0.9 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Gran Hotel Bahia
Gran Hotel Bahia
#5 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.0 mi away
Koko Resort
Koko Resort
#4 of 22 in Isla Colon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.1 mi away
Panama's Paradise Saigoncito
Panama's Paradise Saigoncito
#2 of 41 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia Del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Del Sol

Property: Bahia Del Sol
Address: Saigon Bay, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bahia Del Sol 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Bahia Del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Del Sol Hotel Bocas Town
Bahia Del Sol Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing