We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The pictures tell it all!”
Review of Bahia Del Sol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bahia Del Sol
Ranked #3 of 28 Bocas Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“The pictures tell it all!”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

When you first arrive you might feel that you've come to the wrong place; it seems further out of town than you'd imagined, and your first taxi ride might be the most expensive ($6) that you will take during your stay. Other people may be picked up en route, and when you see the house from the street you might not be immediately charmed. But step inside and, if you are like me, you will immediately wish you owned it. Very soon you will slip into island time. The journey into town seems to get shorter, whether you go on foot or by taxi. And the taxis definitely get cheaper - only $1! The restaurants that Lee recommends may be open or closed, because their owners have come to Bocas to escape the constraints of city life so they open when they WANT to open. This means that the food is great, and the service is personal and friendly. Go with Lee's recommendations. We very much enjoyed both restaurants she pointed us towards, and our day trip to the Zapatilla islands was unforgettable. How often in your life will you be picked up by a boat which pulls up into the middle of your deck?? If I could have this house, I would. I loved it. Even though we were there in the rainy season (April), and it certainly DID rain, there was something very special about the place. And there are no mosquitoes in Saigon Bay! Have I convinced you? Jack, I'm sorry we didn't get to meet you, but maybe another time...

Room Tip: We stayed in the annex, on the second floor, with a view over Saigon Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank speedbirdSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    62
    19
    6
    7
See reviews for
24
165
30
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

I stayed at Bahia del Sol late June 2013 and had a great time. While it is about a 15-20 minute walk to the downtown area, the fact that there are cheap cabs and safe streets did not inhibit our trips to downtown Bocas. Jack and Lee were wonderful hosts. I felt right at home when I walked in and they made sure we had a very delicious breakfast each morning. The rooms, while private, had a great open and homey feel to it. The island touches to the home made sure you were relaxed and the views of the bay were amazing. If I were to return to Bocas, I would absolutely stay at Bahia del Sol again.

Thanks for the great experience in Bocas town!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurenK165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlyle, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We loved the hotel! It was beautiful... More beautiful than pictures can express! We stayed in the Master Suite and I recommend that to EVERYONE! Best room ever! Jack and Lee are terrific hosts and we would definitely go back!

Room Tip: Get the Master Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carrie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We spent one fantastic night at Bahia del Sol (in the master room of Casa Rosada, which is an adjacent building to Bahia del Sol). Jack and Lee were really helpful in every regard with our last minute booking. The room was spotless, with a hammock, deck chairs and a stunning view. Jack's breakfast was great. Lee helped to organise a great day trip out to see the sights of Bocas del Toro. We also enjoyed the fact that the hotel is a bit out of town (only a 15 minute walk, so not too far). It gave us a chance to see the real neighbourhood of Bocas town. We hope to return one day for a second visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Sure,when you first get a cab from the airport you see some delapidated areas but the people are extremely friendly and you quickly see the beauty especially if you go on one of the tours that Jack can organise.They are great value and you are out all day seeing many beautiful sites.On our tour we saw dolphins, went to Red frog beach (and saw a couple of the little beauties too) saw many starfish and went snorkelling in two fantastic locations and the amount of fish we saw was incredible. Jack and Lee are charming and extremely helpful hosts and Jacks breakfasts are a real treat. If we are ever in this part of the world again we would definitely stay at Bahia Del Sol.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andyandjean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

My wife and I spent only 2 nights at Jack and Lee's B&B. We wish we had stayed there longer. The place gives you a feeling of home with great home-made breakfast and a caring atmosphere.

Jack and Lee sort of adopt every person that walks in through the door (and their staff members).

Other than that, the room was big and comfortable (we were in the one with a balcony to the back yard) and everything is clean.
The room did not have AC but the fans and natural breeze did the trick.

Saigon bay is a small bay in the edge of Bocas town which means it takes about 10-15 minutes to walk to the center of town, but it doesn't matter since you will get in to a carribean mood so you won't mind walking (taxis are also a possibility, making the trip only 3-5 minutes long)

Room Tip: try to book the room with a view to the bay - it's worth paying the extra buck
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hausman-il
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 March 2013

My husband and I when to Bahia Del Sol & Koko Resort. It's our home away from home. As soon as you pass the door, Lee welcome you with a big smile bring you to your room or Cabin . Jack & Lee make sure everybody is comfortable and recommand you the best place to eat or the best activities to do. They take care us as familly or old friend will do. At our first visit we spend with friends we rent the master suite, huge room with a big comfortable bed, great jacuzzi and amazing view over the bay. The other time my husbad and I rent a cabin (koko resort), I would like to live in one this cabin ! Just great. Jack breakfast are very good is blueberry pancake are the best ! Always with plenty of fruits. Jack set up tour for us, call taxi, he will do everything possible to make your vacation inforgettable. If one day we have a B&B we would like to do the same as Jack & Lee, they are amazing hosts. Thank you, we will be back !

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Perlitita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bocas Town
0.9 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
535 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
416 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Gran Hotel Bahia
Gran Hotel Bahia
#5 of 13 in Bocas Town
134 reviews
3.8 mi away
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge
#4 of 20 in Isla Colon
306 reviews
0.9 mi away
Surfari B&B
Surfari B&B
#2 of 28 in Bocas Town
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia Del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Del Sol

Property: Bahia Del Sol
Address: Saigon Bay, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bahia Del Sol 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Bahia Del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Del Sol Hotel Bocas Town
Bahia Del Sol Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing