We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent indeed”
Review of Bahia Del Sol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bahia Del Sol
Ranked #3 of 28 Bocas Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Retiro, Colombia
Level 6 Contributor
288 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Excellent indeed”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

While check-in is at 3 – we arrived on Wednesday around 11ish and were immediately greeted by Lee and shown around the property. Lee and her husband Jack have an assortment of rooms offering different views and options. Some have AC, some have TVs, some are large and some are small. We decided on number 5 which had Sky satellite TV and 2 bedrooms – we slept in the back bedroom overlooking the street without AC. Living in Northern Colombia (Santa Marta) we thought we could handle the heat – after around 7 or so at night there was a breeze and listening to the ocean below our room (the waves) made the night quite enjoyable.

Lee and Jack have been on the island for 8 years and are a vast resource of knowledge. If you need to know anything they are the people to ask. Jack made the breakfast – both days we had a selection of fresh fruits and had a breakfast sandwich this morning – yesterday we had French toast.

The views from the property are beautiful – the houses are built on stilts out and over the water. The back of the property is over water of maybe 2 meters deep and absolutely crystal clear. You can see all kinds of fish including rays from the back of the house it’s pier.

To be honest, I had no idea when we arrived it was a B&B. We never stayed at a B&B before and it was a pleasant surprise.

The walk into town is around 2.5km and safe. We ate at various restaurants and checked out various bars some good and cheap and others were twice as much with frozen seafood from the Pricesmart (Costco).

The location while 2.5km from town might be negative but on the positive it’s very quiet and if you don’t want to walk at taxi is only 2 dollars.

Room Tip: Room 5 is nice and large..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HK2LS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bosstone, Owner at Bahia Del Sol, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
We are so happy your first B and B experience was with us and that you enjoyed your time at our property. It makes everything we do worthwhile when we read a review like this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    62
    19
    6
    7
See reviews for
24
165
30
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This is my wife and I 4th time staying here. Yes, 4th time! We spent 6 nights/7 days in the Starfish Cabin which is right over water. Its one of 2 direct ocean facing cabins. Got to see the sun set every single nite of our stay. The cabin has A/C but we never used it. Opened windows and enjoyed the sea breeze.

The owners, Lee and Jack, are very friendly and are "locked in" to Bocas and the Island Life so go to them for anything. If they suggest it or recommend it then listen to them. They never steered my wife and I wrong.
Jacks breakfast in the mornings were always delicious. Local fresh off-the-vine fruit!

When it comes to doing a tour of the islands or snorkling, etc I would recommend using Cristobal. He is awesome. He is very accomodating and flexible. He picks you up and drops you off right at the Main House so no need to go into to town to get a boat.
You can't beat that!

My wife and I will be returning for a 5th time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WpnX0351 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bosstone, Owner at Bahia Del Sol, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
We LOVE our repeat customers. Thanks so much for coming back to see us over and over again. We can not wait to have you back for your 5th stay with us and are really honored that you choose Bahia Del Sol each time you come to Bocas Del Toro.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

For me, this B&B is an outpost of old-school hospitality nestled in stunning Panama. I would recommend it as a great place to stay to my friends and family.

The B&B is located in Saigon Bay, about 1.5 miles from the tiny Airport terminal. Although not intended to be a luxury property, the property is beautifully maintained and my room was very comfortable with air conditioning. There are a number of rooms of difference sizes and separate bungalows for families or larger groups.

The owners - Jack and Lee - have great knowledge of the islands and will be able to recommend the best tours to help guests make the most of their stay. They also have a dog and a cat who are both very friendly! The breakfast is great - with most people seated at the kitchen counter, which is a great way to socialise with other guests.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bosstone, Owner at Bahia Del Sol, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for the nice words about our properties and the time you spent with us. We work hard to maintain our properties and treat all of our customers like family so when we read a review like yours it puts a huge smile on our faces. Thanks for making our day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We spent 3 nights in this hotel and we had a really nice stay. We spent the first night in the main house, our room was just above the kitchen so it was a bit noisy during the morning. The two other nights we were in the other house (casa rosada), it was a really nice room, quiet and with an amazing view. We recommend you those ones!
The owners are really kind, you can ask them everything, they will help you to organize a boat tour where the boat comes to pick you up at the hotel.

Moreover, the owner cooks a good breakfast!!

If you don't speak english, don't worry it is the right place to learn (as they don't speak other languages) ;)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaux C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Stayed for three days in this amazing spot. My hosts Jack and Lee were friendly,helpful and professional. My room was clean and spacious. The shower and hot water were copious and the breakfast served by Jack each day was delicious and healthy.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bosstone, Owner at Bahia Del Sol, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for the kind words. We enjoyed having you as much as you enjoyed staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

My husband and I stayed 3 nights at Bahia Del Sol and we were extremely satisfied. The B&B is located on Saigon Bay in a house on stilts overlooking the beautiful Saigon bay. Our room was located on the second floor of the main house. It was clean and provided us all necessities to feel comfortable. The hosts were extremely friendly and paid very good attention to all their guests. They provided great suggestions for restaurants, activities in the area. I strongly recommend that you follow their advises as you will not be disappointed. We especially enjoyed our day out with Chris that took us for a magnificent snorkeling trip. On the top, every morning a delicious and creative breakfast was prepared to all the guests.
The only "dark" side: the B&B is located about 15 minutes walk from the center. For some people, it might be a problem. For us, IT WAS NOT as we enjoyed the nice walks and we felt always very safe.
To conclude, we loved the place! It was safe, the atmosphere was great, the recommendations were super helpful and we had a chance to meet great people.
A big thumb up!

Room Tip: Don't miss the snorkeling trip with Chris! The owners have 2 pets - dog and a cat ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mylene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Cloud, Minnesota, United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Congenial hosts and lovely common/breakfast area helped foster easy and fun relationships with fellow travelers. Be sure to book your snorkeling trip through the hosts as you get picked up right at their dock and their guide is awesome. Laid back and friendly vibe. We would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wade N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bosstone, Owner at Bahia Del Sol, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
We are happy you enjoyed your time with us and that you would stay again. Repeat customers are the best testimonials that we have and are the reason we work so hard to make every guest experience the best possible. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bocas Town
0.9 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
535 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
416 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Gran Hotel Bahia
Gran Hotel Bahia
#5 of 13 in Bocas Town
134 reviews
3.8 mi away
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge
#4 of 20 in Isla Colon
306 reviews
0.9 mi away
Surfari B&B
Surfari B&B
#2 of 28 in Bocas Town
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia Del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Del Sol

Property: Bahia Del Sol
Address: Saigon Bay, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bahia Del Sol 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Bahia Del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Del Sol Hotel Bocas Town
Bahia Del Sol Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing