We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very cool little spot on the quiet side of Bocas Town”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bocas Town
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Lula's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 30 Bocas Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very cool little spot on the quiet side of Bocas Town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

I made a last minute booking during the Panamanian "festive season", so hotels were very difficult to obtain after New Year's celebrations. The receptionist / owner (Jana) over the phone was able to accommodate me for the one night that I needed, so with little option, that's what I did. Turns out, it worked out great!

My sister and I arrived a bit early so our room was not yet ready. We received a warm greeting and they stored our luggage while we went to the beach. When we returned, our private room was ready. The room is very basic consisting of a double bed and a single bed. The window A/C unit cooled the room quite rapidly. The shower had good pressure and hot water. The free WiFi was great with a strong signal. There was no TV in the room, which for one night was OK.

The front balcony and common area in the back where the "kitchen" was located was very clean.

We had an early morning flight, so we didn't get a chance to enjoy the nice homemade breakfast we smelled on our way out.

The airport is only 3 blocks away, but they called a taxi for us which cost USD$2.

Bocas Town is VERY laid back attracting predominantly a bohemian, hippie, surfer, diver, backpacker crowd.

Overall a very nice experience!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank texasjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    50
    15
    3
    3
See reviews for
30
123
23
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

I stayed in the hostel part of Lula's and I couldn't have asked for anything more:

I stayed in the private room. The AC was cold, the room looked out over the water, it was right by the kitchen, and we could jump in the water whenever we wanted. The common areas were clean. And the locker system they have is the best I've seen.

We met some cool people in the hostel and enjoyed sharing multiple meals with them. The hostel at Lula's attracted a classier type person than a "party hostel." We mainly encountered other young professionals who wanted cheap accommodations but valued their rest.

The location of Lula's contributed to its greatness. The hostel is located ON the water with hammocks to rest in. It is also a few blocks from the main drag, which meant that it was quiet at night yet easy and safe to get to if you wanted to go out and party.

The owners were super-friendly (they were from GA like me!) and have some cool plans for expansion on the water front in the future. If you're looking for a place to stay, don't pass on this one.

Room Tip: The private room in the hostel looked out over the water and had a cold AC unit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huaraz, Peru
Level Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

My wife and I stayed at Lula's from December 19-23 and we enjoyed it. This was our second trip to the Bocas del Toro area (we stayed at Bocas bound hostal in October of this year). Our experience with Lula's was great. We arrived a little later on Thursday evening and were received with warm smiles.

THE ROOM
We stayed in room 3. It was nice. The bed and pillows were comfortable. There was a small safe in the armoire. The bathroom was nice, definitely had hot water, and plenty of it. The wall was a little close to toilet, so if you are a bigger guy, don't expect a lot of room in there. The air condition worked great. To the point we were a little cold each night.

BREAKFAST
Amazing breakfast. Each night we filled out a checklist of what we wanted for breakfast. While it was the same option each day, we had 4 breakfasts their and never got tired of it. The options were abundant enough, that it never really felt like you were eating the same stuff. ( Choices: 4 or less pancakes or eggs; fruit cup of either banana, watermelon, pineapple, papaya or a combination; toast; choice of yucca, potatoes or one other option I can't remember; and of course coffee, or hot tea's) The owner also had great homemade jams and syrups. Great breakfast!

Internet
If you wanna check emails, facebook and other sites, your fine. However, don't expect to stream netflix at night. We were able to stream one netflix movie in the middle of the day on one of our lazy, do-nothing, days. I figured there was no one else using the internet at the time.

Location:
Lula's is off of the main drag, which we like a lot. Bocas can be a pretty boisterous place at night, and we enjoyed the peace and quiet of being off the main drag. There is some construction going on around Lula's, so don't expect to be sleeping in late each morning. It is about a 5-10 minute walk to get anywhere on the main street.

Other features:
There is a small kitchenette on the back porch. It has a refigerator (filled with coke, sunkist, water, and a few other options... for $1 a piece). There is a microwave, sink, knives, plates, spoons and forks. There is also a clothesline on the back porch.

They have a huge book selection in the breakfast area. So don't bother bringing anything to read and just pick something there.

Room Tip: TIPS: ~Try and stay in room 2,4, or 6... that way you don't have the sun coming through your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph4488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

Bocas Town is geared toward backpackers. And while we were in fact back-packing, we weren't looking for "the cheapest rooms in town,"- there are plenty of those if you are. Our priorities were that a room be clean, comfortable, have hot water, and that the building be well-sealed to keep as many insects and lizards out as possible - that said, we did still have a budget. Brian and his staff, especially Myrna, have done a wonderful job making Lula's a welcoming stay for those who are looking for a bit more privacy and comfort, while still making it affordable. There is a lovely breakfast made to order in the morning, a really nice upstairs deck with a hammock (perfect for reading on a rainy afternoon), free wi-fi, it's quiet and secure. It's also close enough to the town's center to be convenient walking distance, however far enough away to be quiet and away from the parties. Bocas is a wonderful spot and those a bit older and not looking to party all night will be able to fully enjoy it if their home-base is at Lula's.

Room Tip: All rooms were great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kassie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonosi, Panama
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Lula's is very homey and accommodating to its guests. There is WiFi in the rooms. Breakfast is made to order every morning by the talented staff who operate out of a home-like kitchen and just bring the food right out to the dinning room table. There is hot coffee and tea each morning until 10am. It's not the best coffee, a little weak, but the juice is good. The rooms are on the top story where there is a very nice private porch with plenty of reading material. There is a great library downstairs. The back porch has a cooler with cold beer and drinks. Laundry cost us just $7 for a giant black garbage bag. We had the first room on the right and unfortunately our window looked out on the porch, so when other guests arrived we had very little privacy. The AC took about 3 hours to cool the room down, but once it was working it was very cold. There was hot water in the shower. The hotel is located several blocks from the busy part of town, so it's nice and quiet. But it can be dangerous to walk around Bocas at night, especially if you're coming back late from the bars (several of my friends have been targets to muggers in Bocas Town for that exact reason within the past year). We moved to a closer hotel to avoid walking back late at night, but it is a beautiful place with a very caring staff.

Room Tip: The first room on the right shares a window with the front porch and isn't very private once oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsten M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

We really enjoyed staying at Lula's. The owner went out of his way to help us arrange activities, and gave excellent advice. We spent more time at Lula's than we wanted - due to rain, and found the balcony a comfortable place to wait out the weather. The provided breakfast was good and the location within walking distance of shops and even the airport.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianSix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo Beach, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

I spent 2 nights here when I first arrived in Bocas. The owners made me feel right at home and offered any help I might need. The rooms are a good size and the a/c keeps them nice and cool. Nice balcony with a hammock to relax in the afternoon. Breakfasts and coffee are a nice way to start the day. This is a great choice if you're looking for a quiet, relaxing place in Bocas.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trjnsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bocas Town
0.4 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & S...
#1 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.6 mi away
Panama's Paradise Saigoncito
Panama's Paradise Saigoncito
#2 of 41 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
4.4 mi away
Palmar Beach Lodge
Palmar Beach Lodge
#2 of 19 in Isla Bastimentos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lula's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lula's Bed and Breakfast

Property: Hotel Lula's Bed and Breakfast
Address: Avenida Norte | Calle 6, Bocas Town, Isla Colon 30116, Panama
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lula's Bed and Breakfast is a beautiful and charming place to stay offering exceptional value, comfort and location. The historic home is open and airy, the perfect spot to relax after a day of exploring the area's natural wonders. We are certain you will enjoy your stay with us! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Lula`s Bocas Town
Hotel Lula`s b&b
Hotel Lula's Bed And Breakfast Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing