We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT place to stay in Bocas”
Review of Hotel Olas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Olas
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Bocas Town
Connecticut
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“PERFECT place to stay in Bocas”
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Stayed at Hotel Olas for a total of 3 nights during my 2-week trip to Panama with a friend. The property is clean and beautiful, right on the water and made us feel at home. The manager, Noam, could not have been more accommodating and helpful and we appreciated his efforts to make our visit to Bocas so enjoyable. When we went from Bocas Town to Isla Carenero to stay elsewhere for a night, we missed Olas so much that we decided to go back. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. Would definitely recommend Hotel Olas for all travelers in Bocas del Toro.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shepador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    113
    50
    37
    45
See reviews for
30
147
33
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

I liked this place because of the clean and beautiful rooms. There is a big restaurant direct to the beach and it is calm and relaxed. I paid 50 $ which should include breakfast - a very small muffin and a little bit cafe... The staff always looked angry and unmotivated....

all in all it is not a good place to stay to many little problems...

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timey_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wissen, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

I stayed in Hotel Olas four nights (28.11. - 02.12.2012) and I enjoyed it a lot! After 2 weeks travelling through Ecuador it was the perfect place to relax by enjoying sea and nature! Nice and clean rooms, helpful and patience stuff and management - Thanks! To be back on the Bocas OLAS would be my first choice!

Room Tip: the rooms in the upper floor to the east are more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johannes S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
223 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

The best thing about the hotel is that it is located away from the noisy area of town. If its a nice day the sunset over the back area that is the bar/dock is also quite nice. If its cloudy and grey you wonder what you let yourself in for.
Don't expect any help whatsoever from the reception staff. Our room was upstairs on the first floor and overlooked some lovely rusted iron rooves next door. You could peer out the corner of the window and survey the rubbish floating in the bay. The room is very basic. Ours had a big patch of mould directly above the bed. Ask reception to help - forget it. Nowhere to hang things up and not even a glass in the room to use to drink anything or brush your teeth. If you want anything to eat try the restaurants in the main area, only a few minutes walk or buy something at the many supermarkets.
The only helpful people were the water taxi drivers - polite and efficient for our trip out to Red Frog Beach

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiggerPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bocas Town hotels

Falher, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

I got off the taxi boat at 6 am only to find the town deserted other than a few dogs and buzzard birds going through garbage. The whole length of the town is only about 10 blocks so the walk from the water taxi to the hotel only took me about 5 min. Location is o.k. as it is a few blocks away from the bars but there is the island electric generator only 1/2 a block away ( i got used to the steady humming and was able to sleep ) The rooms were very clean and my bed sheets were changed regularly. As for the service i was quite pleased. The manager, Nahm? would arrange for a small boat to pick me up to go snorkeling and was more that willing to answer all my questions. Yes, you have to ask reception for your drinks but i have no problem with that when i'm paying $ 1.50 for a beer :-) They don't have a restaurant but i'm one who doesn't eat where i sleep. Many places to eat within a 2 min walk. I did find the "cash only" policy a little bit of a hassle as i had to send money western union for my reservation, but again cash is king and i knew this wasn't going to be a 5 star resort. overall i give this hotel and staff 2 thumbs up

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guybeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
banff
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Been to boca a couple times now we always stay here its not a bad deal when 2 of us share a 2 bedroom. $20 each. Same price as hostle and they have the best pancake breakfast although its sometimes hard to wake up before 11"00sm to have free breakfast the owner was open to price reduction if your staying a few nights

Room Tip: Talk to owner about cheaper rates if your staying more than 2 nights
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wolffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dachau, Deutschland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

we spend three nights at hotel olas, as someone recommended it to us on our trip to bocas. the hotel is nice and is located away from all the loud and noisy tourist bars and clubs. but for 40$ per night i expect much more than just acceptable rooms. you feel more like disturbing the stuff from their all day conversations with their friends and family at the reception. the "breakfast" consists of coffee, what you just get after a 20 min waiting-time and some kind of cheap cupcake. they say it also includes juice - we never saw that. even after three nights the lady at the reception was still looking at us like she never saw us before when we asked for our room key. (the hotel wasnt full at all, there were five other persons staying, so staff should normally be able to remember your face. and don´t ever, ever except somebody smiling at you) you need towels for the shower? ask at the reception! you need fresh toilet paper? ask at the reception (they dont refill it on their selfes)! you want a beer? dont expect anybody serving you at the bar. ask at the reception! you want to book a flight? ask at the reception and be refused. theres a computer where you can book it on your own. you need a taxi? don´t you dare to ask at the reception. you want to eat something except dry cupcakes? look for a good restaurant or buy cereals for 5$(!) at the bar. but make sure you order at the reception! you had your laundry washed at the hotel? (for twice the price you pay two streets away) sure, you need to ask at the reception. even after three days, nobody seems to care to give it back to you on their own. and don´t forget to tell them your roomnumber, as they somehow can´t remeber it.
there is a shy, small guy sneeking around the hotel, looks european. maybe he´s the owner, maybe a staff-member. you wont find out.

if you´re looking for a nice hotel, go there. but dont expect anything else. i would give the staff 0 points for service. but sadly thats not possible here. the most friendly person was the charlady, she was always smiling and greeting you. she behaved like all the other panamanians we met on our tour all over panama. all the people we met in this country are great, except for hotel olas.

Room Tip: if you can´t manage to stay at another hotel, take rooms at the first or second floor, as we heard t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wulfcast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bocas Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
529 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
414 reviews
0.3 mi away
Posada Isla Chica
Posada Isla Chica
#6 of 13 in Bocas Town
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
388 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gran Hotel Bahia
Gran Hotel Bahia
#5 of 13 in Bocas Town
134 reviews
0.4 mi away
Swan's Cay Hotel
Swan's Cay Hotel
#8 of 13 in Bocas Town
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Olas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Olas

Property: Hotel Olas
Address: Calle 6, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Olas 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Hotel on the water with great ocean view. Quiet location, 2 minute walk from main street ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Olas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olas Hotel Bocas Town
Hotel Olas Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing