We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“helped make the most of Bocas”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Olas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Olas
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Bocas Town
Looe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“helped make the most of Bocas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

Thanks to Ben, the very helpful and enthusiastic receptionist who knows everything, we are having a great time. My other half is doing the Free Diving course i.e. diving to 12 - 20 metres with just a mask. I did the sailing and boat trips, looking at dolphins, beaches and snorkelling. See Bocassailing.com. Mid range price hotel with great atmosphere and decor and waterfront seating. Right now at breakfast looking at the boats at anchor in the bay. Perfect place to avoid the run up to Christmas. In our late 50s - its never to late to have fun.

Room Tip: We have a balcony which is really useful for drying things. We got their last room and our balcony d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandM50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    112
    49
    37
    45
See reviews for
29
146
33
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

We've had 3 different rooms, all of them were dirty (dust and hair on the floor...). They say they give you a breakfast "on the house" but it's a trap : you'll only get a little coffee, the cheapest orange juice (with water and sugar in it) and the smallest industrial muffin you'll ever see ! And if you want to add anything else to this "meal" then the price for any food really is 2 times more expensive than for a whole breakfast in town ! Besides, 2 of the 3 rooms we've had didn't have hot water at all. Finally, the most important thing, the rooms are all veeeeerry noisy. There are 2 generators in the street (or I don't know what it was) that make an awful noise all night long, and the AC system are really old and so loud, it's like sleeping with a washing machine in your bed ! Even if you turn off yours, the walls are paper thin so you'll have to suffer the noise from your neighbors'AC anyway !

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Doagui2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bocas Town hotels

Chappaqua, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

We had a great stay but our room was on the side by the generator which was the only problem with the stay. Good location
And good service. Have the shakshooka breakfast and good coffee
Avoid the main streets and staton the water side when possibe

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Farimah4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

The Hotel Las Olas offers simple, but decent accommodation (private baths and a/c).
Staff was generally helpful and friendly (especially the talkative Ben).
The included breakfast was a serious joke!! Coffee, juice and ONE tiny muffin, although the Hotel offers delicious breakfast choices at a hefty surcharge.
The location is at the very end of the main street and the neighbourhood seems pretty run-down and generally quite dirty.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

We only stayed one night at this hotel luckly because we couldn't sleep at all since we could hear every single noise from the rooms close to us, at one point we had to get up in the middle of the night and go outside for a while because the neighbors were watching a terror movie and we couldn't go back to sleep. Plus the custumer service is bad, food is bad and expensive.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ceci c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

Lovely clean hotel..the staff are amazing they could not help us enough!My friends bags got lost and the owner dropped her to the airport everyday to see if the airline had found them.Great tours organised by the hotel..very close to the town.Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank briec57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben S, Manager at Hotel Olas, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
I love you girls, was fantastic meeting such an happy girls like you.
waiting to see you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

My friend and I really enjoyed our stay here. The manager is really nice and helpful. Their rates are super reasonable considering what other options are available for hotels in Bocas. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashleye123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben S, Manager at Hotel Olas, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Thank you guys! those good-times happens when both sides likes each other!!! see you next time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bocas Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gran Hotel Bahia
Gran Hotel Bahia
#5 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bocas Paradise Hotel
Bocas Paradise Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bocas Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.3 mi away
Posada Isla Chica
Posada Isla Chica
#6 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Olas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Olas

Property: Hotel Olas
Address: Calle 6, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Olas 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Hotel on the water with great ocean view. Quiet location, 2 minute walk from main street ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Olas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olas Hotel Bocas Town
Hotel Olas Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing