We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Eclypse de Mar
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Caribbean View(Isla Bastimentos)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Buccaneer Resort(Carenero Island)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Hotel Oasis(Carenero Island)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Posada Isla Chica(Bocas Town)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotelito Del Mar(Bocas Town)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Bocas del Toro(Bocas Town)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (368)
Filter reviews
368 results
Traveller rating
261
65
17
14
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
261
65
17
14
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate decknature reservefeed the fishwater taxiour honeymoonbeautiful reservehear the musicbastimentos townromantic getawayeco hotelcoffee tablesitting roomdouble doorsfish foodbreakfast deliveredkayaks and snorkeling equipmenttwo twin beds
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
97 - 102 of 368 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We had a really great two nights at Eclypse de Mar - the owner and staff are amazing, their food was great and the room was phenomenal. We only stayed at Eclypse, but during our time in Bocas I felt like we were at the best hotel in the area. It was also really easy to get a water taxi to come to the hotel and take you there. Overall, a fantastic place. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mbevdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

The hotel is situated in a very good spot in the bay opposite the pueblo if Isla Bastimentos (which is colourful and very creole but may not be to everybody's tast) and a five minute boat ride from Boca's. The cabanas have a very high standard, all amenities, excellent restaurant and extremely friendly and efficient staff. The exquisite bedroom opens up to the sea and you can sleep with a sea breeze caressing your face, mattresses could be better though. All in all a very nice experience, which I can highly recommend.

Room Tip: Cabana 1 is closest to main building and restaurant. Maybe you would like to be further away.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank supersane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Beautiful bungalows and amazing hosts!
We stayed in the honeymoon bungalow as my boyfriend had emailed to say he was going to propose. It was perfect and the owner was lovely! All the staff are friendly and helpful! The only problem was we only had 2 nights here! We will definitely be going back, maybe for our honeymoon! There was no problem with loud music and the fact that people are complaining about taxi boats makes no sense to me, you are staying in a water bungalow! What do you expect!
Please don't be put off by the few bad reviews! There are plenty of good ones!

We loved it!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danham2957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We spent 5 nights at Eclypse de Mar last August and it was amazing. We stayed in Two different rooms during our stay, both of which were fantastic (the original room we wanted was booked for the first 2 days but the first room was also amazing). The hotel is close enough to Bastimentos town and Bocas to make it easy to get around by water taxi (not to mention easy to get anywhere else on Bastimentos) but remote enough to be relaxing and feel like you have your own slice of Panama. They provide Kayaks and Snorkels and have a Finca behind hotel where you can do Jungle walks to view the caiman and famous red frogs. A delicious breakfast was brought to your room every morning and the staff helped coordinate activities particularly tailoring their suggestions to your interests and needs. I couldn't have asked for a better experience and would gladly go back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kevinabailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Eclypse de Mar was the best of Bocas del Toro!
Where to start?
Breakfast is delicious, with a really good coffee and the best Bocas’ coconut bread with homemade jam, and fresh fruit.
The bungalows are beautiful! and very comfortable. They have a private terrace from which you can enjoy the best sunsets and from which you can swim and do some snorkeling. The best thing is that as they are over the water, so no bugs!
Another activity we really enjoyed was taking a kayak and going to a nearby reef, very close to the lodge (swimming distance too), one of the best snorkeling spots we’ve visited.
We have also enjoyed a lot of amazing walks in the Lodge’s Natural Reserve. There are paths and corridors where you can see lots of tropical birds, butterflies, red frogs and if you are lucky, a few caimans. We got a lot of beautiful photos!
The food is delicious. We enjoyed some great local and international meals, and of course the unforgettable garlic lobster!
The hosts are amazing people. Thank you guys for everything, we are definitely coming back!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PitiyoTatita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews