We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location a must stop while visiting Bocas!”
Review of Eclypse de Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Eclypse de Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 January 2014

The bungalows are located on the water. So at night you hear the water and feel the cool breeze from the sea. Very private and comfortable! There is a nature trail were you can hike around. We borrowed the kayaks and paddled around. The dinner and breakfast were very good and we highly recommend the food. The staff is very friendly and service is very good. A perfect spot for a family vacation or those looking for some romantic time as well.

Room Tip: stay on bungalow on the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carmen I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (357)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 357 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2014

If you are looking to get away from it all this is it. We spent four wonderful nights and days there as a family of four in one of the six over-water bungalows. There is really no reason to go anywhere other than your deck. We love sleeping with the windows open and the warm, gentle breeze washing over us. The owners and staff of this small hotel, in what my 12 year old son calls an "epic location," are amazingly friendly and helpful. The food at the restaurant is excellent. Breakfast is brought to your bungalow if you want. The coconut bread is a treat.

It is just a 5 to 10 minute ride on a water taxi from Bocas Town (which in our opinion is not much to see) to the hotel, but miles away from the worries of everyday life.

Room Tip: The higher # your bungalow the further you are out into the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We had a really great two nights at Eclypse de Mar - the owner and staff are amazing, their food was great and the room was phenomenal. We only stayed at Eclypse, but during our time in Bocas I felt like we were at the best hotel in the area. It was also really easy to get a water taxi to come to the hotel and take you there. Overall, a fantastic place. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mbevdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

The hotel is situated in a very good spot in the bay opposite the pueblo if Isla Bastimentos (which is colourful and very creole but may not be to everybody's tast) and a five minute boat ride from Boca's. The cabanas have a very high standard, all amenities, excellent restaurant and extremely friendly and efficient staff. The exquisite bedroom opens up to the sea and you can sleep with a sea breeze caressing your face, mattresses could be better though. All in all a very nice experience, which I can highly recommend.

Room Tip: Cabana 1 is closest to main building and restaurant. Maybe you would like to be further away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank supersane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Beautiful bungalows and amazing hosts!
We stayed in the honeymoon bungalow as my boyfriend had emailed to say he was going to propose. It was perfect and the owner was lovely! All the staff are friendly and helpful! The only problem was we only had 2 nights here! We will definitely be going back, maybe for our honeymoon! There was no problem with loud music and the fact that people are complaining about taxi boats makes no sense to me, you are staying in a water bungalow! What do you expect!
Please don't be put off by the few bad reviews! There are plenty of good ones!

We loved it!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danham2957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We spent 5 nights at Eclypse de Mar last August and it was amazing. We stayed in Two different rooms during our stay, both of which were fantastic (the original room we wanted was booked for the first 2 days but the first room was also amazing). The hotel is close enough to Bastimentos town and Bocas to make it easy to get around by water taxi (not to mention easy to get anywhere else on Bastimentos) but remote enough to be relaxing and feel like you have your own slice of Panama. They provide Kayaks and Snorkels and have a Finca behind hotel where you can do Jungle walks to view the caiman and famous red frogs. A delicious breakfast was brought to your room every morning and the staff helped coordinate activities particularly tailoring their suggestions to your interests and needs. I couldn't have asked for a better experience and would gladly go back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kevinabailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Eclypse de Mar was the best of Bocas del Toro!
Where to start?
Breakfast is delicious, with a really good coffee and the best Bocas’ coconut bread with homemade jam, and fresh fruit.
The bungalows are beautiful! and very comfortable. They have a private terrace from which you can enjoy the best sunsets and from which you can swim and do some snorkeling. The best thing is that as they are over the water, so no bugs!
Another activity we really enjoyed was taking a kayak and going to a nearby reef, very close to the lodge (swimming distance too), one of the best snorkeling spots we’ve visited.
We have also enjoyed a lot of amazing walks in the Lodge’s Natural Reserve. There are paths and corridors where you can see lots of tropical birds, butterflies, red frogs and if you are lucky, a few caimans. We got a lot of beautiful photos!
The food is delicious. We enjoyed some great local and international meals, and of course the unforgettable garlic lobster!
The hosts are amazing people. Thank you guys for everything, we are definitely coming back!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PitiyoTatita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Bastimentos
2.4 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
437 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
403 reviews
1.4 mi away
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & S...
#1 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Azul Paradise
Azul Paradise
#5 of 20 in Isla Bastimentos
178 reviews
1.9 mi away
Palmar Beach Lodge
Palmar Beach Lodge
#2 of 20 in Isla Bastimentos
471 reviews
6.6 mi away
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge
#4 of 20 in Isla Colon
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eclypse de Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eclypse de Mar

Address: Isla Bastimentos, Isla Bastimentos, Panama
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Bastimentos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Isla Bastimentos
Price Range: £86 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Eclypse de Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Eclypse de Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eclypse De Mar Hotel Isla Bastimentos
Eclypse De Mar Panama/Isla Bastimentos, Bocas Del Toro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing